Prologue – I don’t want to meet you

「Today for sure… Today for sure…」

It’s currently lunch break. Holding a lunch box in my right hand, I cut a cross with my left hand to pray to God while looking at the three letters『Library1』 written on the door in front of me.

「Hey, that person over there, I’m pretty sure that’s a second year’s… people have been saying to absolutely not get involved with them.」

「Hurry let’s go! If you look at that person, your lunch will become unappetizing!」

From some first year high school girls who happened to pass by, harsh words were poured out on me.

Within the school, only people who earn the title of『Loner2』experience special privileges. Today is going well.3

However, I’m already used to this. I don’t care each time it happens.

「Okay! Do I want to go!?」4

Motivation charging complete! Pretending I couldn’t hear the words of the underclassmen, I opened the door in high spirits.

Bam! With a powerful step I entered the library.

No matter what hardships are waiting ahead beyond this point, I can’t run away.

Doing as I pleased, I directed my gaze towards the reception desk with all my power.

「Eh? Not there… That’s weird. If it’s like always then…」

「Hello.」

「—!」

With a voice coming from behind, my assumptions were outside the range of the current situation and all of my hair immediately stood up.5

Calm down, me! If I get flustered here, it will be exactly as this girl expected!

「Did I surprise you?」

「… fuu6. I expected this would happen you know.」

With composure, trying to be calm and collected until the end, I brushed my hair as I said that.7

My legs are trembling like a freshly born fawn, but well, let ’s overlook that.

「If you look that much… It’s embarrassing.」

Turning around to face her, I sent a very disgusted gaze which might’ve backfired.8

The positive girl interprets my gaze conveniently, her cheeks are dyed a vermilion colour, and with the paperback book held in both her handsーー Ryunosuke Akutagawa ‘s『 Rashōmon9』ーー she covers her face.

In addition, it seems that they have misunderstood expectations, lowering the book a little, showing upturned eyes.

To show both a shy appeal and a library committee member appeal simultaneously, that takes high class skill.

「Haa~」

Seeing that, I let out a deep sigh.

That ’s right, if you’re a cute girl doing this, it’s irresistible.

However, if it’s this girl, she wasn’t cute enough that I was surprised.

An emotionless, plain face with a negligible chest. Plus braids and glasses. Just like a Shōwa-period girl.

It’s the Heisei-period. My heart is calm. I’m not as excited as I am about the survival rate of ocean sunfish children.

「You, there. Me, here.」

I point out where I should be (the reading area) and where the girl should go to (the reception desk) with my fingers. By the way, the reason why I am heading towards the reading space is simple.

I don’t know why, but in the school’s library’s reading area, food and drinks are permitted.

A wide and big desk is stationed in the area, and the sunlight shining through the window feels warm and pleasant. It’s my healing spot.

I sat there and while my heart’s wounds healed, I opened the lunch box I brought.

「Huh?」

When I looked sideways, it seems like the girl followed me, and sat next to me.

「Let’s talk together. I prepared delicious tea today.」

It appears that she wants to talk to me.

Showing off a bag containing fluttering tea leaves.

「 I’m very sorry, but I can’t accept. 」

Regardless of however heartless the other party is, I will never forget to be considerate since I am kind.

I politely refused the girl with a light bow.

If a person who knows the situation sees this, there’s no doubt that they would be moved to tears by my wonderful attitude.

「Is that so… I understand.」

The girl seemed to understand my words full and overflowing with affection, and like that the girl stood up and left. Yes yes. Whatever the circumstances, kindness is important.

A persistent woman who usually doesn’t give up until she’s dealt with, has withdrew quickly today.

Well then, let’s have lunch! To start, a bite of a wiener! Mmm, ju~icy~!

***

「Fuu~ … Done eating.」

After eating lunch, I leaned my upper body over the desk.

In any case, I’ll feel uncomfortable when I go back to the classroom. I want to slowly rest here.

A well-slept child is a well-kept child​. Taking a nap is essential for the growth of the mind and body.

Ah~ The sun is shining and it feels good. It’s really warming me up.

Poka Poka~ Poka Poka~ Poka Poka~10

「Owwww!」

Right at the moment I was about to go to sleep, I had an unusual pain on my back.

As I instinctively stood up, the girl from before dropped a lot of books on the area in front of me.

「Hey what are you doing!?」

「It’s because you were being mean you know.」

Hmph. Turning her head the other way, she makes a sulking noise.

「I don’t want to talk to you.」

「I want to talk to you.」

「I don’t want to hear your situation.」

「I haven’t heard your circumstances.」

By the time I realized she was determined to have a conversation, there were two mugs filled with tea in front of my eyes.

Carefully written on one is my name, and on the other is her name, and when I put the mugs together, a heart shape was made.

You… How annoying… In the end you never gave up, did you.

「… Wow. Talking is good you know, talking.」

「I’m happy to hear that. Then, let’s get ready, okay?」

I accepted that there was no way out of this talk and looked at the figure of her pushing down her skirt beautifully as she sat down.

Holding a mug, the mood got better as I drank the tea.

「So? What did you want to talk about?」

「……ー!」

Her movements while drinking tea are perfect. After that, her gaze moves from left to right.

「Oi you… Don’t tell me, you didn’t think of anything to talk about, did you?」

「I’m the type of person to move first.」

「You’re too aggressive! You are a library committee member, so think and act more like one!」

「This is one of the details about me.」

「I’m not happy at all though!」

「It’s alright because I’m happy.」

Her tone is indifferent, but she’s in a good mood.

After I put down my mug, the aggressive library committee member suddenly tries to move it closer to hers to complete the heart shape even though I dislike it.

「…… Anyways, ask something. Only then will I answer, you know.」

I took my mug right away to prevent the heart from being completed, and gulped down some tea.

Regrettably the tea was delicious.

「Hey, how are you recently?」

「Narrow the focus. That’s too vague a question.」

Then a small suspicious sepia-colored bottle appeared from the girl’s breast pocket.

「Hey, how about bacteria?11

「Ascension!12 Until when will you be ready!?」

「It’s because you didn’t answer, right? Even though you said you would answer… liar.」

「… Aah. Things have been as per usual. I can see the mood get ruined through everyone’s eyes.」

「It’s terrible isn’t it.」

「It’s your fault that this happened.」

「… It might be, but no one will ever know…」

A girl who shuns my words. Nevertheless, there’s some sympathy.

She can only do that much, because in contrast with me, they aren’t the ones reaping what they sow.

For example, even if she’s slightly depressed and her pupils are moist, I can’t forgive her.

「To begin with, if you’re truly reflecting, hurry up and please me.」

I brought attention to my expectations with a quick side-long glance.

It’s a good thing to guess. I think she will understand everything.

The proof is that the slightly sunken eyes just recovered their liveliness in the blink of an eye.

「I understand.」

「Seriously!」

Ooh! Try saying it!

「… It’s… a little embarrassing.」

Her cheeks are dyed with discolouration, and with her words the girl stands up.

While staring at me like that, she gradually raised her legs before my eyes and held out her indoor shoes wearing feet.

As expected, the skirt extends 20 cm below the knee. Her underwear and thighs are completely unable to be seen.

And, what is this girl doing?

「Now, lick it. Today you get your favourite food.」

「I won’t lick it you know? Your indoor shoes aren’t my favourite food you know?」

「N-no way! … Unbelievable…」

Looking at her questionable surprised facial expression, the cord holding together my patience snapped.

「You’re doing this on purpose aren’t you! This rotten, flat-chested girl with braids and glasses!」

「Ara? Even though I was only just imitating you and was unkind, you said some cruel stuff.」

「What you’re doing to me is way more cruel!」

…… I think it’s been conveyed enough so far, but I hate this girl.

A plain appearance with a smell of Shōwa. With a blank look, and an behaviour that leaves you unsure of what they’re thinking.

When she opens her mouth, with regards to me, there’s nothing but abuse.

She’s the worse girl. If possible, I don’t want to be involved with her. I don’t even want to come to the library.

However, because of certain undesirable circumstances I have to come to the library.

Talking in regards to the reason, there’s no doubt everyone will be surprised and understand.

Regarding this girl’s strongest and worst『malicious』actions towards me…


Index | Chapter 1 Part 1

TL notes

  1. Kanji: 図書室
  2. ボッチ / Bocchi
  3. I’m not confident in this sentence: 学内で『ボッチ』の称号を得た者だけが味わえる特権は、今日も絶好調だ。
  4. Wot: よし!行くとするか!
  5. This one too: 背後から声をかけられるという想定の範囲外の事態に、全身の毛が一気にスタンドアップ
  6. Breathing out sound. Gonna keep Japanese onomatopoeia in their original form unless I feel like a different sound is better
  7. 冷静に、あくまで余裕綽々に、髪をかきあげそう言ってやった
  8. bruH: クルリと背後を向いた俺からの、嫌悪感たっぷりの視線はまるで逆効果
  9. Kanji: 羅生門 — “gate in old Kyoto” from jisho.org
  10. Onomatopoeia for feeling warm. Original: ポカポカ……。ポカポカ……。ポカポカ……。lazy search
  11. Both the kanji for “recently” and “bacteria” have the same reading, a pun I guess
  12. I don’t know what this references

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

11 Comments

    1. Thanks for reading.

      I’ll make an pdf version of the whole volume once it’s done, unless people prefer each chapter to be in its own pdf.

      I don’t know much about epubs, but I’ll look into that later as well.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started