Chapter 1 – Part 3 – You’re coming to meet me


New update. But here’s a TLDR: I’m working on some manga! Check out the Manga tab. Also, I’ll have less time to translate since I need to start making money so expect an even slower release rate. Would be different if I made money from this but you guys reading what I post is enough for me.


***

It’s already been 5 minutes since my house, which should be a peaceful place, turned into hell.

I invited Pansy into my room while being completely fed up with her……. How did things end up like this?

「Pardon my intrusion~」

As soon as she entered, Pansy looked all around my room with a seemingly great interest.

Rare for someone like her who usually moves around calmly, she was eagerly and swiftly moving around.

In that time, I closed the door.

I had the consideration to prevent any noise from leaking as much as possible, but it was not because I was feeling guilty of anything at all.

You, I didn’t think you’d have the nerve to use my mom to…..」

Plumping myself down onto my bed, the first thing that came out of my mouth was a complaint.

Going as far as using a sweet and innocent housewife, this stalker who came to my room needs to be punished.

「That’s a misunderstanding. Laurier-san invited me over today, so I came to hang out.」

「There’s no way that’s true. Don’t just come up with a convenient story.」

「You seriously won’t believe me huh? There’s no helping it then. Just for this, I’ll show you the messages Laurier-san sent me earlier this afternoon.」

With an exasperated tone, Pansy took out her phone from inside her bag and handed it to me.

It’s the first time I’ve seen something like this tatami-patterned1 phone case, but well whatever. So, what do these messages say?

『Su~mireko-nya~n! If it’s alright with you, would you like to come over to my house today to hang meow~t?』

There’s no way! No nya~y nya~y nya~y nya~~y!2

「I did give up during lunch time when you told me to.」

Right there she had a smug grin on her face, but I didn’t get the meanya~ing of it at all.

「Then, how did you become good friends with my mom?」

「When I was reading a book at a bookstore on the way home from school, a voice called out to me saying “That Okada-kun is such a cool guy isn’t he!” It turns out that the book that I was reading was the original work for a live-action movie that starred Laurier-san’s favourite idol as the main lead. Look, it came out recently didn’t it?」

「That protagonist who was part of the air force during the war huh? If I remember correctly the title was…..」

「”The Eternal Jyaro”.」3

That name, sounds like the name of an ad review organization that will operate forever doesn’t it?

「Since then we’ve met a few times, to talk about stars like Ninomiya-kun in “Botchan4“, or Touma-kun in “No Longer Human5“, and so on…. We got excited about various novels with live-action adaptations. I was very surprised, I didn’t think she would be your mom. This must be a miracle too right?」

It may have been a miracle that these two shared the books and idols they liked in common, but it has brought a cruel fate upon me.

「With that, do you understand?」

「…..Yeah. Extremely reluctantly though.」

「Then that’s good. Now then it’s about time…… for me to get started.」

As the conversation settled down, Pansy suddenly crouched down and began to peek under my bed.

「Oi, what the hell are you doing?」

「I’m thinking of enjoying some treasure hunting~」

「Stop that immediately.」

This damn demon lord. It seems like she wants to search for my collection, but that’s not good.

Although I say that, it’s not in that place. My collection is….. whoa not good.

Since this girl is an ESPer, she might be able to read my thoughts. Let’s not think about it.

「It’s not here huh. Then maybe the bookshelf? You might have switched out the covers for some from other books……」

Too bad. They aren’t there either. But, I have no reason to approve of your actions.

And so I headed towards my bookshelf and grabbed Pansy’s arm.

「Hey stop it. Don’t do anymore unnecessary movements.」

「If you don’t let go of me, you’ll regret it you know?」

「Stop joking. You’re the one in this situation.」

「You’re wrong. I’m telling you this because I’m thinking for your sake. Hurry, the limit is close.」

「I don’t understand what you’re saying. Those are my words.」

「Not good Jouro-kun. Stop. Let go…. Seriously…. The limit is……」

「Be quiet. Just listen to what I say without all of this grumbling——」

「Amatsuyu, Sumireko-chan, I’ve brought some madeleine cakes and black tea~!」

LIMIT BREAKKKKKK! I’ll let you go as you say!

「…..Huh? Ara? Ararararara~」

This is that isn’t it. A mother misunderstanding the struggle of her own son trying to semi-forcibly get the girl he hates to do something that looks suspicious.

What should I do about this?

「Oh dear~! Am I disturbing you guys~? Fufufufu I’m sorry~」

「It’s fine. Nothing has happened yet.」

「Mom, next time, before you enter my room, could you knock?」

「U~nderstood~! Then, I’ll just put the madeleine cakes and black tea here okay?」

Barging into my room, my mom placed the portions of madeleine cakes and black tea for two people on the desk.

After putting them down, she glanced at Pansy and said a few words.

「Sumireko-chan, Amatsuyu’s lewd books and DVDs are at the bottom of his desk’s drawer, if you lift up the ball pen refills, you’ll find it~」

「Mom! That’s enough, hurry up and go back to the living room!」

「Amatsuyu is so~ sca~ry! Alright then Sumireko-chan, I leave the rest to you!」

「Yes, thank you very much.

Waving her hand, my mom closed the door with a click.

Why? Moms are fundamentally an existence that would help out their sons aren’t they?

「Now then…..」

But, I don’t even have the time for those complaints.

In front of my eyes, Pansy was already somehow taken out the ball pen refills and were holding them.

「Pansy, wait.」

「What is it?」

With an awfully delighted face, Pansy turned her head over her shoulder.

Why is it that when I’m inconvenienced or troubled, she has this much of a lively face?

「Sit here.」

「Alright~」

Patting the spot on my bed right next to her, in order to suggest that I sit down there. I don’t know what kind of positive misunderstanding she has but, I violently walked over and did as she instructed.

「Phew… I got a little excited and now I’m tired.」

Because she naturally placed her head on my shoulder, I immediately got up from the bed.

「Don’t move from there. The moment you make any unnecessary movement, I won’t go easy on you.」

Standing up, I glared down at Pansy sitting on the bed.

Just try to do something even a little needless. I’ll immediately… No wait a sec.

If I hurt Pansy here, won’t he come out?

The one existence that Pansy, a loner within the school, can call a friend— A giraffe stag-beetle….

「Is Stinger-kun… in your bag?」

「He went to go lick the sap from his favourite sawtooth oak tree, “Rectified Spirit”.」

I’m safe! It seems like that sawtooth oak tree has a high alcohol concentration, so please lick that for awhile.

「Hey Jouro-kun. You see, today I dressed slightly smartly, but do you know where?」

While happily swinging her legs, Pansy was trying to appeal to me. It seriously doesn’t matter.

「Your socks are white.」

「That’s half of it. What’s the other one?」

「Your skirt is 2cm shorter than usual.」

「Ha……. Incorrect. As always, you eyes are like rotten eggs. It’s 2.5cm shorter than usual.」

「For something like that, there’s no way someone with rotten eyes like me would grasp that.」

The difference between 18cm below the waist and 17.5cm below the waist is practically non-existent.

「There’s one more thing that’s specially chosen, do you know what I mean?」

「I don’t really get it. Just remove those glasses, untie those braids, and take off that cloth immediately.」

「……Do you really want to see that appearance of mine that much?」

Why would you say that with such a lonely tone. You’re really too hard to understand.

「Of course I do. I properly kept the promise of going to the library everyday, so hurry up and show me.」

If I were to speak honestly, my frustration has accumulated to the point where I’m already thinking that there is no meaning in going to the library. No matter how much I demand it, this glasses wearing girl with braids will be in the library year in and year out.

In addition to that, she speaks ill of me everyday, so my daily life has gotten worse.

「There are some circumstances.」

What’s with her? Compared to usual, she said that in an awfully depressing tone.

「Circumstances?」

「There’s a demon aiming for me. In order to hide from that demon, I’ve been concealing my body like this. It would be nice if there was someone to protect me……」

Isn’t this strange? It’s only the 2nd volume you know? It’s too early for something like “Battle Arc in Another World”.

Even the editor in charge didn’t talk about that at all.

「Don’t say things that make no sense.」

「I think that you could understand me if you tried hard Jouro-kun.」

「You’ll have to pay for that hard work in advance. You said that you’d show me if we were in my room didn’t you?」

「Sure.」

「There you go again. Not showing me again in the end. Jeez, you’re seriously… wait, what did you say just now?」

「I said sure. You want to see that appearance of mine don’t you?」

Eh? Seriously? She’s seriously going to show me? Wait!

…….C-calm down me!

Pansy never tells me any lies, but she does skillfully manipulate her words to trick me!

「By “that appearance”, you mean when you take off the cloth and your glasses, and untie your hair right?」

「That’s right. I always keep my promises~. So, would you go over there and turn around please? Changing while you’re watching, is embarrassing you know.」

「O-oh sure……」

I turned around with great haste, and headed towards a corner of my room while super excited.

And then, I could hear the sound of clothes rustling from behind!

Ooohhhhh! She’s actually changing! It’s been awhile since…. wait, hold up.

Thinking about it calmly, I remembered the event that just occurred.

Earlier, when I grabbed Pansy’s hand, a heroine came from downstairs.

And, right now I’m standing in front of the door that’s at this corner of my room.

This is, in other words, a pattern where my mom will cheerfully open the door all of a sudden, send me flying such that I end up covering Pansy, and then a misunderstanding will be born!

Straining my ears, I could hear the extremely dangerous sound of footsteps, so there’s no mistaking it!

But, since I’ve noticed this flag early, my safety is guaranteed.

Why is that you ask, well it’s because there is a guardian deity, “Key”, protecting the privacy of my room!

「Close! Sesame!」7

Phew….. Now I can be relieved———-【clatter】

「Amatsuyuuu~? Do you have any laundry nya~?」

Don’t come to my window from the next door room’s veranda nya! She had the key to the window nya!8

Immediately, I turned my body around! Before any misunderstandings are born, I need to hurry up and explain nya!

「Mom, wait a sec! Let me explain the situation first…. Whoa nya」

「Why are you turning around I wonder? I told you not to look.」

…………….Right. That’s right. Right now, Pansy is changing.

If I turn around, of course she’d be changing. But you know, can I say one thing?

Why are you hiding the upper half of your body with your uniform, with the cloth off, while still having your glasses on and braids tied?

No matter how large your breasts are, with the braids and glasses, rather than having an effect at all, it’s a big negative you know?

「What are you making Sumireko-chan do!」

Unfortunate. She wasn’t stunned by the sight of this large-chested, glasses wearing girl with braids.

My mom quickly came in front of me at lightning speeds.

「Y-you’re misunderstanding! I didn’t do……」

「Jouro-kun. Is this why you called yourself a lucky pervert?」

I wish you said “unlucky pervert”. I’ll say it again, what’s with the braids and glasses?

It’s fine that you’re hiding your important parts with your uniform, could you not force the situation slowly like that? I guess you will huh……. This is real bad.

「Amatsuyu! I told you that you have to wait until you become 18 for things like this didn’t I!」

「For Jouro-kun who broke the promise, you should be punished.」

「I-I’m sorry! It’s my bad! I’ll apologize! So……」

My apology only reached the walls. In front of me, a housewife with a perm had her left hand raised, a large breasted beautiful girl had a book in her right hand. And then…..

「Ouchhh…….. Ugh!」

While my left cheek was was slapped, my right cheek was hit by “Records of Insect Fables”.

What an unusual new experience. Let’s write this down in “Paragraph 39, Chapter 5, Jouro’s gospel”.9

I thought about that while grovelling on the floor, and then my mom pulled on my collar.

「Sumireko-chan, put your clothes back on immediately! Amatsuyu, you’re coming with me!」

Like that, she dragged me out of my room. Wait mom! If I leave Pansy alone in my room like that……Aaaahhhhh! She took out the ball pen refills! Stopppp ittttt!

「Let go of me mom! At this rate my room will be….」

「No! No means no!」

Isn’t it fine~!

***


Chapter 1 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 1 – Part 4


TL notes

  1. Tatami, that traditional flooring you’ve probably seen in anime
  2. I really hate when there’s cat-like speak. I tried my best to capture the same feeling, but I just don’t know how to express it. If anyone has any suggestions on how to do this better, let me know. This cat speak continues on in future lines too, so I apologize in advance.
  3. A parody and reference to the japanese war/drama film, The Eternal Zero.
  4. A novel by Natsume Soseki
  5. A novel by Osamu Dazai, basically about a dude not capable of revealing his true self to others. Seems like an interesting read.
  6. spirit in this case referring to alcohol
  7. I’m assuming this means the opposite of “open sesame”. Well, there’s nothing else I can think it would mean lol.
  8. I give up, I’m just going to put nya at the end of the sentence instead of trying to integrate it in…..
  9. A gospel is like, usually a record of Jesus’ life, but there are other definitions too.

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

5 Comments

  1. Thank you very much for the translations. I really hope you can translate all of the volumes of this LN. I really love the story of this.
    I found this on reddit because I really want a continuation of this from the anime. I’ve also read spoilers on reddit and oh boy, I don’t know what to feel now. They say that the plot became complicated because of “this” and “that”. They said that if you have seen this on anime, just stay on the anime. Maybe that is true. Based on the spoilers, I just want the anime to build its own path. But I also want to respect the original material and read it although I know it will break my heart lol. But again thank you very much for your hardwork.
    I am very excited for the next translated chapters and volumes. Good luck and don’t forget to take a good rest. Always be safe. Stay at home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t worry I’ve been resting way too much recently. The 4th part of chapter 1 should be out some time today or tomorrow. It’s going to be a long, long road for translating this LN, especially since there are so many volumes haha. You stay safe as well, cheers.

      Like

      1. Thank you very much. Take your time buddy. I am already grateful that you’re giving some of your time translating this.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started