Chapter 2 – Part 1 – Passing the baton to you

Alright, it’s finally Saturday!

The past few days have felt so long. It honestly felt like an eternity.

I made the promise with president Cosmos on Wednesday. I’ve been really looking forward to today for the past three days.

When people are looking forward to something, they’ll say that it feels like time passes so slow, but its true don’t you think?

Only 3 days have passed, but it felt like 30 years have passed. It felt that long to me.

I’ve only lived for 16 years, but it feels like I’ve mentally lived twice that many years.

Yeah, that’s not true. I’ve said too much.

I was so excited, I arrived at the meeting place an hour early.

We decided to meet in front of the police box near the station.

If president Cosmos came before me, and got involved with some dudes trying to pick her up, I’d call a police officer over in order to save her and show her I care.

Well, I’m the one who came early so that can’t happen now.

I want to see president Cosmos waiting in the distance but I shouldn’t make her wait just to satisfy my desires.

Therefore, that plan is rejected.

Now then, before president Cosmos comes I should check over my clothes1 again.

Hah, I’m perfect today.

I say perfect but since what I usually wear isn’t anything great, it’s not really a big deal.

But, I tried my best you know?

On the day we decided to go on the date, I googled things like「Good impressions to make when meeting up」,「Countermeasures for sweaty hands」, and「Timing for hand holding2」, and while I was at it, I bought a fashion magazine and read it.

And so, let me tell you about my appearance today! Eh? You don’t care? Hey come on, don’t say that.

Eehー first off, I’m wearing a white T-shirt with light brown chinos because it’s spring. Also, since president Cosmos is a serious person, “simple fashion is the way to go isn’t it”, is what I thought. With that, I’ve also got a black jacket on top, and just for today I bought some new white sneakers!

An outfit like this can suit anyone, so I can be relieved!

Or rather, in my case, an outfit that suits anyone doesn’t really help does it.

Haa… If only I was born to be a little bit more good-looking.

No! Now’s not the time to be depressed! Since I’m going out with president Cosmos today, if I have a sad expression like that, then there will be a weird misunderstanding! I have to properly keep my usual expression on!

Of course, I need to pay special attention to what I do while I wait. Playing with my phone is a no go.

President Cosmos is smart. If I’m playing with my phone, then she’ll realize I’ve been waiting for a while.

Ah. Why am I thinking about this when my phone is broken.

Alright, let’s look around restlessly to have the feeling of「I just got here, I wonder if the president has come yet?」

***

People have been looking at me as if I was a suspicious person for the past 30 minutes.

「Heyy, you got here early.」

Ohhoh!

Even if I don’t look over my shoulder, I know who it is just by that voice! I really know who!

Coming to the meeting place half an hour early, how wonderful!

Was she looking forward to meeting with me that much?

「N-no! Dai jwust got vhwere!」

Crap! I bit my tongue!!

「Fufufu, that’s a funny way of talking.」

President Cosmos, who is covering her mouth while giggling, is again, amazing.

How does this person follow along with what I’m saying so appropriately?

Calm down me. I really need to calm down. I look at president Cosmos to calm down.

Aah… What is this lovely outfit!

Cosmos is wearing a light pink dress, similar to her hair colour, along with a white cardigan.

Her thighs that can be seen… *cough cough*.

President Cosmos’ young lady-ish outfit perfectly suits her adult-like aura!

Beautiful! So beautiful! Is it okay for such a beautiful person to exist? Of course it is!

Holding a basket with both her hands, she’s got such a lovely appearance…!

「Uhm… Is there something weird about how I look?」

Oh, she’s acting shy! President Cosmos is feeling embarrassed!

Wait, not good not good! Unintentionally having a blank face like that is not good! I shouldn’t forget our objective.

Today’s objective is to get more intimate with president Cosmos… No that’s wrong! It’s to go buy a new phone.

「No, you look fine! U-uh, let’s get going!」

「Mmm, let’s go.」

Aah, there’s a lot of gazes. Everyone around us is looking at president Cosmos.

I can hear people say she’s seriously beautiful. Well, I also understand. That kind of feeling is easy to understand.

If I was also in charge of the mob characters around us, then that would be the case as well.

Well, today we are the lead actors. President Cosmos is the heroine, and I’m the protagonist.

Hooray!

While I was completely in high spirits, I went towards the cellphone store together with president Cosmos.

***

「Jouro-kun, the phones over here are good. Looking at the specifications and the prices, these are definitely worth their price.」

「Is that so?」

While opening her notebook in her right hand, president Cosmos said that.

「Yeah. Yesterday, I searched up about this on my own. I am fairly certain I’m right.」

「Eh? You went out of your way to learn about this?」

「Isn’t that a natural thing to do? Since I troubled you, I can’t just not do anything.」

What is this person? A goddess? Is she a goddess?

「Jouro-kun, if there’s anything in specific that you want, then I’ll find it. Can you think of anything?」

President Cosmos suddenly came over to check with me.

What kind of high-class shampoo is she using I wonder? It’s got a really good scent.

「N-no! That’s… Uh, president… Could you move back a little…」

「Aah, excuse me. I somehow got so into this that I became careless. I’ll pay more attention from now on.」

With a slightly shy looking smile, president Cosmos took some distance from me.

Jeez, her words are good, her behaviour is good, she’s too wonderful!

In the end, I purchased the smartphone that was highly recommended by president Cosmos.

And in addition to that, president Cosmos said『Okay, now let me tell you my contact information again』, and for the second time, I was given her phone number and email address.

A new piece of history to remain in Jouro’s history…『The first one to be registered onto my new phone was a girl』was born.

Welcome! My new smartphone! When I get back home, I’ll copy over some data on to you, okay!

「Along with that Jouro-kun, this is from me.」

「Eh?」

「Use it if you like it.」

Saying that, president Cosmos held out a smartphone case to me.

It seems like she stealthily bought it while I was talking to the person at the information desk.

「Is it okay to?」

「It’s okay!」

She said that with such a gentle smile and warm voice, that’s foul play!

To use this case, or to not use it… I am seriously troubled about that.

Should I keep it as an object to worship3 in my room or not is what I was thinking about, but because I’d feel guilty if I don’t use it, I immediately put it on my phone.

And now, from here on is the crucial moment. Just for today, I searched and searched for an appealing and stylish cafe with a good atmosphere!

Right now, I’m going to go there with president Cosmos.

「Jouro-kun, about lunch…」

「Yes! I seriously thought about what to do! There’s a stylish cafe just a little walk away from here!」

「Is that so? I, I see…」

Huh? President Cosmos is making a somewhat awkward face.

I didn’t say something unpleasant, did I?

「Well, you see…」

In a slightly reserved manner, president Cosmos held up the basket she was holding.

「This might have been inconsiderate of me, but actually, I made lunch for us…」

「Eeh! Did you really?!」

Home-made food? I can eat it? I can eat the home-made food that president Cosmos made herself?

I can’t believe I can eat such wonderful and sensational food!

I’m sorry but to tell you the truth, when I saw the basket I was really hoping for something like this.

And then, whether or not my wishes were heard by the gods, they were fulfilled.

「So if it sounds good to you, would you like to go eat lunch in a nearby park? If you don’t want to then it’s not a problem…」

「No I’d definitely love to! Or rather, I welcome it!」

「I’m relieved to hear that. Thank you, Jouro-kun.」

「N-no no! I should be the one saying thank you!」

「You think so? Then, let’s just say that we’re even.」

「Okay!」

Towards this goddess’ smile, I nodded my head vigorously.

We decided on a park and headed towards it! Here we goー!

***

「Shall we eat here?」

After we arrived at the park and secured a convenient spot, president Cosmos started to prepare and pulled out a lovely pink coloured sheet.

President Cosmos sat down on the sheet with her legs folded diagonally. I hurriedly sat down in front of her.

Uwaa… We somewhat really look like a couple.

Aah, even though there are children who came with their families being noisy, I totally don’t care. Whereas if things were like normal, I’d definitely be annoyed.

Is this the president Cosmos’ power?

「Well then, here.」

The beautiful movement of president Cosmos, who handed me a wet hand towel, is seriously irresistible!

If it were a dude then they’d just give it to me with one hand, but she gave it to me with both hands.

Jeez, how long will you keep doing this foul play! This foul play queen!

「Now, shall we eat?」

What president Cosmos made and brought were, sandwiches.

Inside the basket, there were a variety of types of sandwiches all neatly lined up together, and each and every one of them seemed to sparkle. The taste was of course, the best! Is what I want to say, but I was in such high spirits at the time that I didn’t remember the taste properly.

Aah, such happiness…

Is it okay to be happy like this? After this, something like a big unexpected twist happening is a little scary to think about isn’t it?

「Thank you for the meal! It was really delicious!」

「I’m happy to hear you say that. Thanks.」

President Cosmos sweetly smiled. Don’t! Don’t smile like that!

Even though my heart is already beating as fast as it can, that smile will make it beat even more!

「Th-then, I’ll tidy everything up!」

In order to suppress the reckless side of me, I rolled up the sheet that we both got off of.

「Okay, is this good enough?」

「Yup, that’s good.」

With a gentle smile, president Cosmos received the sheet from me, and once again, another emergency where my reckless side could come out appeared.

This isn’t good. Endure it, endure it… or rather, what are we gonna do after this?

I more or less thought of a plan but, the original intention to buy a new phone has been achieved so, it’s possible that our date ends here.

I have also received more than enough apologies from president Cosmos.

Even if it ends here I am satisfied.

Because it was really fun! I shouldn’t be greedy.

「U-uhm! Jouro-kun!」

「Yes?」

While I was immersing myself in happiness, president Cosmos’ voice called out to me.

Her voice sounded like it contained a little bit more tension than usual.

I thought that I was mistaken, but after looking at president Cosmos’ slightly vermilion dyed face, it doesn’t seem like it was just my imagination.

「T-that is… No, I don’t know if I can say it.」

「What’s the matter?」

President Cosmos sat down on a nearby bench, clenching the hem of her skirt.

「A-actually, I came with you today because there is something I wanted to talk about!」

「Something you want to talk about?」

「T-that’s right! But, it is something that might bother you or might not be something you want to talk about…」

Uhh. Something that would bother me? What could it be?

She’s fidgeting a lot, I wonder what’s wrong?

「Ah, umm… First off, will you sit next to me?」

「O-okay. I understand.」

Following president Cosmos’ instruction, I sat down to her right on the bench.

However, even though I did what she said, she didn’t continue to speak.

Something has started. I don’t know why but that’s what I thought. And, it’s not just my imagination.

President Cosmos, who is usually cool and composed, was playing with her hair while her eyes were swimming4.

So cute… wait no! She has something she wants to say to me.

I have to properly listen to her. I can be captivated by her afterwards.

「Uhm…! Uuu…!」

She opens her mouth several times but nothing comes out.

I thought that it would be good if she quickly said it, but I didn’t say anything.

After all, that president Cosmos became like this. It’s definitely something big.

As a man, I quietly wait for her to begin talking.

「A-actually you see… There’s… I have someone that I like…」

Dokkyun! The moment I heard those words, it felt like my heart jumped out and started to play a beat.

「O-okay!」

「When I think about that person, my chest feels painful and every day I become really happy when I meet them. So, I think I’m selfish, because I forcibly make up excuses to meet…」

Why are you talking about this with me?

My heartbeat is strongly resounding all the way up to my brain. It’s as if my whole body is being hit by tremors.

「I…」

And then, president Cosmos’ face drew closer. Slowly but surely.

That is definitely the face of a maiden in love. It’s as beautiful as a painting, entrancing me.

And now, coming close enough for us to feel each other’s deep breaths, president Cosmos closes her eyes.

Don’t tell me… could this by some chance be…!

「I like your best friend, Taiyou Ooga-kun!」

…What?

「It happened last year, when the baseball club went to go play in the regional tournament finals!」

Eh? Huh? La-last year’s regional tournament?

「At that time, Ooga-kun had a smile on his face to cheer up the other members who were bitter about the unfortunate loss. At the very end of the game, the other team had a sudden reversal, and even though as the pitcher he should’ve been the most regretful, he said『Guys, don’t worry about it! It’s because I played poorly after all!』and made himself a scapegoat for the team, continuing to smile and encourage his teammates. Even now, the impression of his figure is still etched into my eyes and heart.」

In order to remember the scene at that time, I looked up to the sky while president Cosmos continued to talk.

「However, this is something only I know! After that, I was a little worried so I headed to the player waiting room from the baseball stadium’s east entrance. And then, when I got there Ooga-kun walked out of the waiting room at the same time, and then hit his head on the wall and started crying!」

That’s right. Sun-chan is that kind of guy after all. He really, really hates to lose.

「At that time, my heart really hurt! He didn’t do anything wrong. He pushed himself to the limit and struggled a lot, I really wanted to just hug him tight. That’s when I noticed. That I… had fallen in love with him.」

Ah, it bloomed huh?

「But, we aren’t in the same grade so we basically have no chances to interact! That’s why, using the student council as a cover, I occasionally go to meet with him… But… There’s no way our relationship can progress with just that…」

President Cosmos opened up her notebook with a completely red face, and talked with tremendous force.

What she likes about Sun-chan, what she finds cool about him, etc, etc.

「A-and so because of that! This is a shameful thought but, I was hoping you could be a mediator for us!」

With her eyes wide open, president Cosmos desperately looks at me.

Just by looking at her, I could understand how serious she was about this.

Aah… Huh? Perhaps this was her true goal when she told me she wanted to go out with me today? Yup. It was.

My heart, which was beating intensely earlier, is now dispirited.

The big unexpected twist actually came.

「Is, is that a no?」

President Cosmos looked at me with wet, upturned eyes.

Looking at such an uneasy president Cosmos stung my heart.

「It’s fine, leave it to me!」

Hitting my chest with my hand, I strongly declared that.

「Thank you! Seriously thank you!」

She’s pretty happy isn’t she. President Cosmos started bowing to me, who is a year younger.

「T-then, I’ll see you on Monday!」

Then, president Cosmos reached her limits of shame.

She left the park jogging, leaving me to be the only one remaining.

At that moment, a harsh breeze pierced through the park.

…Oh. No.

At that time, I tried my best to think about what to do now.

***


Chapter 1 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 2 – Part 2

TL notes

  1. Raw: ファッションチェック (Lit. Fashion check), don’t know if fashion check is a real term or not, google gives nothing.
  2. how lewd
  3. He wanted to treat the case like a thing to worship, or in the raw terms a ご神体(go-shintai) – which is an object of worship that is believed to house a spirit of a deity, usually kept in shrines
  4. as in, she was looking around a lot

Published by Necron

hi

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started