Chapter 2 – Part 2 – Passing the baton to you

TLN: hi, been a bit busy


***

「Jouro! Thanks for waiting!」

Before I knew it, it became Sunday.

I didn’t have a specific time to meet with Himawari-san, and since I told her to「Come when you feel like coming」, she came when she was ready.

At exactly 10AM, the sound of my doorbell resounded throughout my house, and in response to my mother saying「Aoi-chan is hereー」, I staggered out of my room and made my way to my front door.

At my front entrance, I put on my shoes and opened the door to see my childhood friend, Himawari-san, waiting with her usual innocent smiling face.

She was wearing a cute light blue, sleeveless t-shirt and a yellow skirt that suited her name1.

Because I thought she would definitely be wearing jeans for some reason, I was little impressed by the fact she wore a skirt.

I won’t be surprised. Or rather, I don’t have the energy to be surprised.

What about me? I’m wearing some worn out jeans and a plain, black long sleeved shirt. That’s it.

Honestly speaking, I don’t really remember what I did since what happened yesterday.

I only remember that I returned home in a dumbfounded state, and then ate dinner and went to sleep. That’s all.

When I checked my phone before going to sleep, I saw that there was a message from president Cosmos saying『Seriously thank you. You’re helping me out a lot』, and in response I replied『No no, I should also be thanking you』.

I remember about that much. I praise myself for being able to reply properly.

I’m singing my own praises2? Isn’t that natural? How shocked do you think I was?

「Jouro! Why’s you’re face so weird? Ahahaha!」

Himawari-san, who is right in front of me, is smiling without showing signs of noticing my despairing situation.

This idiot is only good in times like these. Really.

「Calling me an idiot is meann. Come on, I’m going! I’m gonna leave you behind!」

I wonder where we are hurriedly going to? Is it fine if I go anywhere after this?

「You see, today there’s a movie I want to watch! Since today is the first day it’s playing in theatres, I properly reserved seats!」

Himawari-san stuck out her chest proudly. Your chest is looking a little unreliable you know.

「Muuー! Don’t say that about my chest!」

By the way, I wonder how you have been calmly talking with my inner voice since earlier?

It’s that isn’t it? You’ve got superpowers or something right?

「Hahaha! Jouro you’re weird! There’s no way that’s true!」

You’re right, that can’t be true. I understand. Let’s go then.

Thus, I became an empty shell of myself and with my hand being pulled by Himawari-san, we headed towards the movie theatre.

***

「Haa! That was interesting, wasn’t it!」

Himawari-san, who looked like she was satisfied, is taking deep breaths. It seems like the movie was very interesting.

As for me, I don’t remember anything. I fell asleep around when a robbery was happening in the movie.

「That scene was so good! Taーdaa! If there is love, everything will be fine!」

Using both my body and her body, Himawari-san made a heart shape.

It seems like the movie was a romance.

「Also this scene too! The culprit was you3! This darkness of lies will be illuminated by this light of courage!」

I thought it was a romance, but it seems like it’s completely different.

In order to do some kind of dance, our bodies were glued together, and a pose was made.

「And lastly is this! Before love and courage, all the bad bacteria4 will be erased from this universe!」

I don’t know what the genre is anymore, but based on her face it seems like the scene has changed.

Because yesterday’s lunch didn’t cost anything, I didn’t frivolously use up my money like I planned.

My money remains as it was before. (Despair).

「Hey hey Jouro! Where should we eat for lunch?」

That’s a good question. Well let’s head towards the river and pluck some horsetails shall we?

If you fry horsetail with sesame oil, it smells really good and savoury.

「Ahahaha! It’s rare for you to say that kind of joke Jouro!」

Himawari-san, who replied to my lazy response with a smile, is really lively today.

I don’t want to retort your responses to my inner voice anymore.

In other words, that kind of thing.

「Hm then, let’s go search for a stylish cafe somewhere!」

Anywhere is fine with me. Ah, if possible can we go to a cheap place please?

It might be nice to go to some beef bowl shop. If we go to one of those, then ¥300 should be enough.

「Noーpe! Isn’t it rare for just the two of us to go out together? A more stylish place would be betterー!」

Stylish huh? I would have never imagined you saying that word you know.

「Buuー! I am a girl around that age after all!」

If you puff out your cheeks like that, then people will mistake you for an elementary school kid you know.

A girl as old as you should behave more beautifully.

That’s right. For example, try being more like president Cosmos…

Ah, this isn’t good. If I remember what happened then I’ll get dizzy. Let’s stop thinking about it.

「Anyways Jouro, are you okay? Since earlier all you’ve been doing is grumbling strangely about something. It’s really weird you know? Did something happen?」

Himawari-san looked at me with a seemingly worried face.

It seems like I was grumbling and my inner voice slightly leaked out, and as a result she noticed I acted weird when remembering yesterday.

Did something happen yesterday? Yeah something did. Since I don’t want to explain what happened, I won’t tell you.

「Eei!」

Suddenly, Himawari-san pinched both of my cheeks and then pulled on them with all her might.

That hurts. That hurts you know, Himawari-san.

「Hmm. That didn’t work either. This is troubling. Even though I want Jouro to cheer up…」

Seeing Himawari-san’s behaviour when she is sad healed me just a little bit.

Compared to president Cosmos who is the beautiful type, Himawari-san is the cute type.

Both extremes represent a faction that people belong in, and each person decides which one they’re in right?

「Hey Jouro, what will cheer you up?」

Anything is fine isn’t it? I don’t really know myself.

「Heーeh. Even the person himself doesn’t know. Mumumumumu!」

Himawari-san put a hand to her chin and tilted her head to the side.

It looks like she’s doing some warm up exercises.

「Alright! Himawari-chan powerー… Charge!」

While saying that, Himawari-san hugged me with all her strength.

Good grief, what even is Himawari-chan power?

Even if you hold me tight in that way, I won’t cheer up you know.

「Ah! Jouro’s not being polite anymore!5

…This girl is sensitive to strange things. If you really didn’t like me talking like that, then I would’ve stopped immediately since I don’t really care.

「Eheheheー I’m glad! Then, that means I was able to cheer you up a bit right!」

Her bashful, smiling face is bright and looks like it’s sparkling, and my heart is being filled with warmth as I look at it.

Suddenly, I gathered my scattered consciousness and stared at Himawari.

「W-what?」

In reaction to my serious gaze, she did a little surprised gesture as if she was an animal, and looking at that also healed me a bit.

That’s right… Try thinking about it. My childhood friend is this cute.

It’s true that the thing with president Cosmos kinda… no shocked me quite a bit, but right now I’m going out together with a cute girl like this. And she’s the one who invited me.

Even though that’s what is happening, I’m being rude by having this kind of attitude aren’t I?

「Yup, thanks. I feel better now, Himawari.」 

「Ahー! In that case Jouro, do you want me to charge up your Himawari-chan power again?」

「N-no, I don’t!」

「Ahahaha! Jouro, you’re face is completely red!」

Himawari looks at me and innocently laughs.

That smile of hers is washing away all of the dirty parts inside me, one by one.

That’s right. Since it’s finally Sunday afterall, let’s forget about yesterday and enjoy ourselves right now.

「Okay then Jouro, where should we have lunch?」

「Hmm yeah. Well…」

She put in a lot of effort to try to cheer me up. I should take her there as thanks.

Honestly I was thinking of going there with president Cosmos yesterday but, in the end we didn’t go.

「Let’s go to a cafe that’s just a little walk away from here.」

「Is it a stylish place?」

「Of course. It’s a good, stylish shop.」

「Waaー! I’m really looking forward to it!」

「Alright, shall we go?」

「Yeahー!」

Himawari raised her arms up high, what an energetic way to answer.

…I’m glad I said that. Especially when I looked at Himawari’s smile.

***

「Waaー! Amazing, amazing, amazing!」

As we entered the shop and sat down, Himawari excitedly talked.

We came to a quiet cafe built alongside the river.

I can say that this is a great place to go to. It’s a shop that has a good reputation for their delicious and good quality food, so much so that everyday there’s a lineup to get in.

Also, the atmosphere of the cafe is nice. Inside the wooden style shop, there are beautiful sofas and paintings decorating the wall here and there. People can come as a couple or with their family, it’s a place suited for a variety of situations.

How come we were able to get in even though it’s lunch time on a Sunday and I said there were line ups?

Occasionally you’ll get lucky like this and it won’t be as busy.

「But, isn’t this place expensive?」

Himawari said that timidly, as if she was trying to act quieter than usual.

「Don’t worry about it, since I’ll be paying.」

「Eh! Is that okay?」

「It’s fine. Thanks to you I cheered up, so as thanks I’ll treat you. Since it’s a special occasion you know.」

「Thanks Jouro! I love you!」

My heart involuntarily jumped suddenly hearing those words.

Don’t say that kind of thing thoughtlessly, jeez.

「Ah, sorry! Teehehehe.」

It seems like Himawari noticed her own slip of the tongue.

I adverted my gaze since it was a little awkward, and my cheeks became red.

What a cute girl.

「What would you like to order?」

「Uhh… I’ll get the lunch set. What about you Himawari?」

「I’ll also get that! One more lunch set please!」

「Certainly! Two lunch sets it is then. Please wait a little.」

After we finished ordering, the server went to go tell the kitchen our orders.

Then, it took about 5 minutes until our meal came out. Me and Himawari were surprised.

「Hey hey Jouro! This fried shrimp is really delicious! It’s nice and tender!」

「Yeah is it… Oi, don’t take mine.」

Himawari stole fried shrimp from my plate using her fork while I was talking.

When she had her mouth open and was about to eat, she stopped and smiled mischievously.

「It’s fineee, it’s fineee!」

「No way, because I was saving the thing I liked the most for last.」

「Muuー! Then let’s trade. I’ll give you what I like the most, broccoli, and then we’ll be even!」

「That’s what you hate isn’t it.」

「You’re wroooーong. I’m just playing a prank to have some fuuun.」

In the end, I ate the broccoli that was switched with my fried shrimp, and even though it was just a couple pieces, I felt like I lost.

…But what is this I wonder? I’m so calm right now.

Perhaps this is just how it is whenever I am with Himawari.

…I see. President Cosmos is really beautiful and is a grade higher than me, of course I’d be nervous.

But Himawari isn’t either of those.

She’s always cheerful and innocent. That’s why I can say what I want without worrying about anything.

「Hm? What’s the matter, Jouro?」

While happily stuffing her mouth with fried shrimp, Himawari tilted her neck and stared at me.

That kind of small gesture heals my heart.

「Eeh, it’s nothing. Thanks, Himawari.」

Since she’s an important childhood friend who cheered me up when I was depressed, I honestly thanked her.

「Eh? Jouro, did you like broccoli that much?」

「Hahaha, you’re wrong.」

As expected, Himawari doesn’t understand. But, that’s fine with me.

***

「Swingー!」

On the way home, Himawari, who was walking happily in front of me, headed towards the swings when we approached a park.

Jeez, she’s still such a kid.

By the way, this park is isn’t the park I went to with president Cosmos yesterday.

We went to a more spacious park yesterday, and it was better for flower viewing.

We’re currently in a small park that only has some swings and a slide.

Those swings were Himawari’s favourite when she was a kid.

Right now as well, it seems like she’s enjoying swinging while standing up.

「Waai! Ahahaha!」

「Oi, don’t be so excited and also I’ll be able to see them you know.」

「I can’t hear you~!」

You have to learn more about embarrassment.

That’s what I want to say but, I’m also a guy.

Every time she swings, my gaze is directed towards her fluttering skirt and I can’t say it.

I feel guilty so I’m sorry, but it can’t be helped.

「Eei!」

While standing on the swing, Himawari skillfully jumped and landed right in front of me.

For a moment, it seemed like I could see it and also like I couldn’t see it.

「Heheheー! How’s that!」

While making a peace sign with one hand, Himawari extended a fist out with her other hand in front of me while smiling.

This girl’s innocent aspect is really nice in my opinion.

I’m even caught in an delusion where she’s washing away my dirty parts and making me clean.

「If you think about it, we’re already in our second year of high school.」

「That’s right.」

Himawari talked with a voice rarely heard from her.

And at the same time, a breeze blew through the park causing Himawari’s skirt to flutter around.

Together with the glistening sunlight… She looked really pretty.

「Am I, cute?」

Suddenly turning around, she asked me that question. That caused a little bit of emotion to build up inside of me.

「Yeah.」

「Hehehe, of course right! I’ve been doing my best after all!」

「Doing your best?」

「Thats right. I’ve been keeping track of my calorie intake and have been putting a lot of effort into exercising! Well, my chest is still in the middle of growing but…」

「Ahahaha, it’s okay since everyone has difference breast sizes.」

「Uuー! I’m bothered about that so don’t laugh!」

Saying that, Himawari puffed out her cheeks and sat down on a bench.

「You don’t have to worry about it, you’re already cute enough you know.」

「Really?」

「Really.」

Even though it was just a word, I’m surprised that I was able to say she was cute so naturally.

But it’s the truth. Himawari acting like that is unusually… attractive.

「Then, do you understand the reason why a girl would try hard to become cute?」

「Uh not really? Maybe so that they don’t look weird to their surroundings?」

「Jeez! Jouro, you’re so dull. When a girl is working hard to become cute… that mean she’s in love!」

My heart started to beat really fast. While fidgeting around shyly with a smile, Himawari fired out those words and in that moment she immediately looked so cute, as if she was a fairy, that I wanted to hug her.

「Uh, uhm, Jouro!」

While I was standing there with a blank expression on my face, Himawari called out to me with a strong voice.

Her voice seemed to contain a little bit of nervousness, compared to her usual tone.

That might just be my imagination but looking at her face, it’s slightly dyed red so it can’t just be my imagination right?

「Y-you see… No, I don’t know if I should say it…」

「Whats the matter?」

Himawari is seriously panicking. Seeing her all flustered like this is really rare.

「A-actually, there’s something I wanted to tell you while we were out together today!」

「Something you want to say?」

「T-that’s right! I don’t want to trouble you though, and you might not like it but…」

Huh? Something that would trouble me? What could it be?

Acting all fidgety like that, I wonder what’s the matter?

「Ah, uhm… First off, can you sit next to me?」

「Yeah sure.」

Following Himawari’s instructions, I sat on the bench to the right of her.

But even though I did what she asked, Himawari did not continue talking.

Something is starting. I don’t know what but… wait eh? eh eh eh?

What’s with this situation… Yesterday’s situation too, they resemble each other so much don’t they?

When I looked to my side at Himawari, her eyes were swimming around and she was playing with the strands of her hair.

This seriously reminds me of something.

「Uhm…! Uu…」

She opens her mouth many times but still stays silent.

Ha ha ha. Little by little I’m starting to be able to read the flow of this situation. Hahaーn. I see, I see. That’s how it is huh?

「A-actually you see, I said this earlier but… Uh, I, have someone that I like…」

Since she said that I am convinced. There’s no doubt about it.

「That’s right, you did say that.」

I said that with a calm and collected voice. Just like that. Because, she’s not talking about me. She’s talking about Sun-chan.

「Whenever I think about that person, my chest hurts, and everyday whenever I meet them I become really happy. That’s why, even though I thought I was being selfish, I forcibly made a lot of times for us to talk to each other but…」

Why are you talking about this with me? I’ve decided. I’ll say no if she asks for my help.

I can’t hear my heartbeat at all. Since I understand what you’re trying to say. It’s Sun-chan right?

「I, I…」

Himawari’s face came closer, slowly but surely.

Her expression right now is one of a maiden in love. Though she’s not in love with me. She likes Sun-chan for sure.

And then, when Himawari was close enough for us to feel each other’s breaths, she closed her eyes.

Alーright. Okay, okay. Bring it on whenever! Oh, that was a nice saying.

「I’m in love with your best friend Sun-chan!」

 …It’s exactly as I thought!

Why is it like this!

From the flow earlier, it seemed like Sun-chan would be the subject but I still thought it wouldn’t be him. I seriously didn’t want it to be him!

Why did his name come out? Why is his name coming out?

Let’s do this over again! Once more starting from the swing scene, can we redo this?

「The time when this started was during the baseball club’s match at the regional finals!」

Of course. That’s what I thought.

「At that time, Sun-chan was cheering everyone up since they were feeling bitter after they lost that game. Even though Sun-chan should have been the most regretful when the other team suddenly turned the tables near the end of the game, he said,『Guys, don’t worry about it! It was my fault we lost!』and made himself the scapegoat for the team while he continued to smile in order to cheer up his teammates. Even now, if I close my eyes, I can still remember his figure when he said that.」

While staring at the ground, Himawari continued to talk fairly bashfully.

President Cosmos looked at the sky, Himawari looked at the ground.

By the way, with this kind of flow of events, won’t the sky and ground collide with each other?

「However, this is something only I know about! After the game, I got kinda worried and went to the baseball club’s waiting room through the stadium’s west entrance, and when I got there I saw Sun-chan come out of the waiting room and slam his head against the wall and cry!」

It was west this time!! There was more than one entrance!

「At that time, my heart was beating so fast! It wasn’t his fault. He pushed himself to the limit and tried his best, I really wanted to hug him tight! That’s when I realized. I… fell in love with Sun-chan.」

It’s okay already. I already settled my feelings about this. I won’t say anything.

「But, me and Sun-chan are already close friends aren’t we? When I go to school early in the morning, I try to talk to Sun-chan as much as I can, but take the other day for example, he always talks about you and me going out and other stuff like that…」

Himawari’s face became completely red and she’s talked with intense force.

What she likes about Sun-chan, what she thinks is cool about him, etc, etc…

Jeez, I should’ve just said it’s okay to not talk about it right?

「A-and so! I think this is pathetic but, I want you to help me out Jouro!」

Opening her eyes wide open, Himawari looked at me desperately.

Looking at her like that was enough for me to understand that she is serious about this.

Aahー… Huh? Perhaps this was Himawari’s real objective for going out with me today? Yup. It totally was.

Why did this situation repeat itself? Is it because the Earth is round?

「Is, is that a no?」

Himawari looked at me with wet, upturned eyes.

Looking at that kind of uneasy looking face hurt my heart.

「It’s fine, leave it to me!」

I hit my chest with my hand and strongly said those words.

「Th-thank you! Seriously thanks!」

You’re pretty happy aren’t you. Himawari repeatedly lowered her head towards me.

「T-then, I’ll see you tomorrow!」

Saying that, it seemed like Himawari reached her limit of shame and left.

She left the park in a light jog, leaving me to be the only one remaining.

In that moment, a gust of wind blew through the park.

…Oh. My. God.

At that time, I thought about what to do with all my might.

***

After separating from Himawari, I returned home.

Quietly and dispassionately, I walked up the stairs to head to my room as I thought about what to do, causing me to move like a robot.

And then, after entering my room I slammed my door shut.

The room was covered in silence. This is a space where I can reveal my true self. 静寂に包まれる室内。ここには僕しかいない、本当の意味で自分を出せる空間だ。

Suddenly, I noticed my graduation book which I wrote before on my bookshelf.

I stared at the pages as I flipped them.

『I will work hard to become someone who is popular with everyone!』

Aah, this is nostalgic. Around this time I started to think that I need to make sure no one hates me in order to be liked by everyone.

While being flooded by those nostalgic memories, I firmly gripped the graduation book.

And then, just like that I ripped it apart vertically.

Now, that’s enough of this『me』.

「Are you joking meeeeeeee?」

From now on, it’s『my6』turnnn!

What the hell is this? Why did things end up this way? I ain’t doing it!

I did my best, don’t you agree? My acting for the other『me』is pretty good isn’t it?

I went for a dull, thickheaded protagonist kind of feeling when modeling it.

I also worked hard to make sure my monologues felt reasonably good you know.

Ah! This is also a monologue! Well, right now I don’t really care!

Hurry and organize the situation, me!

Eehー… First is Cosmos.

Cosmos, Cosmos… has big breasts. I want to touch them.

Wrooーng! That’s not what I mean’t! That’s not what I should be thinking about!

Uuh… What did Cosmos say again?

If I remember correctly, something about liking Sun-chan… And also about wanting my cooperation or something.

…Goddamn! It’s not me!

It’s weird isn’t it! It’s definitely weird!

She went out together with me didn’t she! The two of us went out didn’t we!

She made some homemade food too! Jeez, I thought she liked me!

It’s a Jan Jan festival!7 For real!

Normally, do people bring homemade food for a dude you don’t like, huh? Do they hold their hand and stuff?

The answer is no! Absolutely a no!

…This isn’t good. That’s enough thinking about Cosmos, I’m starting to feel negative emotions

Next, let’s go to the next thing.

That’s right, Himawari! What did Himawari say again?

If I recall correctly, something about liking Sun-chan… And also something about wanting my help.

…Jesus! I was tricked by the same template!

Geez, think about our relationship more!

She’s my childhood friend. Chi・ld・Hood・Fri・end!

Someone with that kind of relationship should be in love with me! They have to be!

People often say that childhood friends are likely to go out with each other don’t they!?

Her personality too, I believed in her simple-minded way of thinking!

Why did she fall in love with my best friend? Why would you like my best friend?

Shit! Even though I thought I would be popular with the girls if I was the really thickheaded type!

Even though I thought I could live a good life if I wasn’t hated by anyone!

Damn it! Shit shit shit! Whatever that’s enough. That’s enough of that character!

Doing my best to be on good terms with everyone is pointless, I understand that perfectly!

If it’s like that then starting tomorrow I’ll show off my true self… no wait.

Think about it carefully, me. Try to really think about it.

This situation… There’s one dude and two girls.

In other words, one of them will be happy while the other will be depressed.

And so who will be immediately next to them? What am I trying to hide, it will be me!

Hehehe… That’s right. My chance isn’t gone yet.

Don’t give up. 「If you give up then it’s game over.」is what an angry and scary old man once said.

That’s the one phrase I have to follow from now on.

If that’s the case, then I’ll support them until one of them goes out with Sun-chan!

I won’t stop enduring this. It’s time to shift gears!

Starting today, I’ll be a mob character that supports those two.

Look, those exist don’t they? Romance manga set in schools where the the heroine falls in love with the mob character who appears before anyone realizes!

In other words, that’s what I’m aiming for! Mob characters are the best! Mob is my life!

It’s gonna take a lot more for me to give up. My life starts now! I’ll stop considering this and endure it!

…With that kind of minor life, will I really be okay I wonder?


Chapter 2 – Part 1 | Index | Chapter 3 – Part 1

TL notes

  1. Her nickname (himawari) means Sunflower, and sunflowers are yellow. unless im high
  2. To speak highly of oneself – https://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/singing+your+praises
  3. the ‘you’ used here is kisama (貴様) which is a rude way to address someone, kinda like saying ‘you bastard’
  4. Original: バイキン, not gonna lie I have no idea what the raws mean so ‘bad bacteria’ might not be correct but its the only thing that I found to match with the kata
  5. she means he’s not using keigo (敬語 – a type of speech that is usually meant for when you’re talking to people ‘above’ you, e.g. older people, your superiors, etc) anymore towards her (this is why Himawari was always referred to as Himawari-san before this point).
  6. He is now referring to himself using ‘Ore’ instead of ‘Boku’, which is a more rough way to refer to yourself.
  7. I have no idea wtf this is: ジャンジャン祭だよ – google-kun gives nothing :shrug:

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

5 Comments

  1. Hello.
    In first place, thank you very much for translating this series. I started to think that this was cursed or something like that.
    It’s not an exaggeration to say that we depend completely on you. Literally nobody has been doing a good work with this.
    We count on you 😉

    Like

    1. Haha, thanks. My translations are of really bad quality though so sorry for that. I really wanted to translate more before the anime started airing, but unfortunately real life is keeping me real busy right now. At this rate I probably won’t finish the first volume until wayyy later in 2020… Releases might have a lot of down time between them, but I won’t drop this unless someone else picks it up.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started