Epilogue – Part 2


Aah~ finals are over and so is my winter semester. I’d like to say my translation speed will increase, but I’d have to see because there’s a bunch of real life stuff I want to get around to doing now that I don’t have to worry about school (besides laying in bed all day). Also, I hope everyone is doing well. I personally am fine, but man do I want to hit the gym. I’ll do anything. Please.


一一July, one year ago.

 

「So hot!!!!!」

I fully let out my displeasure about the scorching heat coming from the blazing sun up above.

It’s hot. It’s too hot.

Well, I get that it’s summer right now and all but even then, this is just too hot isn’t it….?

I want to go home….. I want to relax in my air-con scented room.

「Ahh… The smell of this sauce is so strong.」

The smell of the sauce from the container of kushikatsu reached all the way past the mucus in my nostrils.

It’s unbearable to smell this when you’re hungry, but during a hot day like today, it’s unbearable to smell this for a different reason.

Regardless of the price, I may have bought way too much.

「There we go….. I wonder if Sun-chan is doing okay.」

I remembered the face of my best friend while adjusting my balance in order to hold the kushikatsu with both of my hands so that it doesn’t fall.

Today was the day of the finals for the district tournament.

If we won here, we would’ve went to the Kōshien, but our school was defeated.

Sun-chan, the baseball club’s ace, was probably really frustrated.

Although he was smiling in front of everyone, that was just a front to hide away his real feelings. He was definitely depressed.

Because there’s no doubt that Sun-chan wanted to go to the Kōshien more than anyone else.

「Well, if Sun-chan eats this then he’ll probably cheer up a little bit. He loves kushikatsu after all.」

That’s why I’m waiting for him here.

Well, if I had to explain why….. it’s because we’re best friends.

「…….Hey.」

「Whoa! What……. Whoaaaa!!!」

「Getting surprised twice, you’re an interesting person.」

The cause of my first scream was due to a voice suddenly coming from behind me, but the second scream was because of something different.

It’s because, this person, is the beautiful lady from the baseball stadium! During the match, I was so captivated by her while I was walking by that I didn’t notice a foul ball flying straight towards me and got hit by it!

I was surprised to hear the voice of such a beautiful woman!

Wait, I messed up!

If I was able to greet such a beauty without losing my focus, then I could have shown my usual smiling personality…….

Even if there’s no one else around, I can’t be careless.

Let’s try my best to not act with only my inner thoughts from here on out. Let’s also use “I” too.1

Okay. If it’s me then I can definitely do this.

「Ah-…… *Cough*! W-what do you wa…. did you need from me?」

After I started off with a cough, I tried to awkwardly gloss over it and ended up almost repeating the same rude behaviour as before…..

「It’s okay, you don’t have to be polite. I’m not using formal speech you know?」

That is true, but isn’t it weird to use casual speech with someone you’ve just met?

Especially with a beautiful lady like this. I want to leave as good of an impression as possible.

Well, I’m still thinking about why she would even talk to me in the first place.

「I-is that….. so?」

「Yes. If anything, I’d be happy if you didn’t use formal speech.」

「I get it. Then, you should also talk casually.」

「You switched really quickly….. amazing.」

Shit. I got so worked up because of my tension just now and immediately switched to using casual speech. Another blunder.

Her words were plain, but she said them with an astonished tone.

Well, I quickly gave up. Let’s try to think about this calmly.

An unknown lady called out to me. There’s four possible situations I can think of that would lead to this.

First, she could be trying to persuade me into doing something shady.

If I follow up by saying “uhehehe, alright beautiful girl~”, I might end up having to fearfully sell suspicious goods, or invite people into some weird religious cult.

But, the chances of that are slim. Rather than a high school student, they would aim for an adult with some more money for that kind of stuff. I don’t have any money, only kushikatsu.

Therefore, rejected.

Next is the second possibility. She wants to know the time or ask for directions.

She may have gotten lost or just wanted to know the time, and decided to just ask me because I was close by.

But, that also doesn’t make sense huh. Well of course it wouldn’t, because this lady was in the baseball stadium watching the game.

In other words, she would have had to know the way here in order to get here. And also, There’s a public clock post nearby.

She didn’t have to come ask me.

Thus, that’s rejected.

And so the third possibility. This girl really likes kushikatsu.

Thinking about it with common sense, this is the most unlikely reason.

No matter how much she loves kushikatsu, there’s no way she would take some from a dude holding a bunch in his arms.

It can be said that this possibility is already a mistake in and of itself.

As such, rejected.

Now the fourth and final possibility. This girl is interested in me.

At a baseball stadium, a girl calls out to a absent-mindedly standing guy. A playgirl, as they are called.

The possibility of this isn’t zero. How someone evaluates my appearance is different for each and every person.

In the case that maybe my appearance suits this girl’s ideals, this possibility…… could be it!

Come on now, remember! Even back in middle school, there was one girl who liked my appearance wasn’t there?!

Therefore, accepted!

Alright. Let’s advance the conversation in that direction.

「Then, I asked this before but, did you need something from me?」

I asked that with the most composed voice I could make.

「I got interested in you so I came to talk. Am I perhaps troubling you?」

It was seriously the fourth option!! Even though that was basically a joke, it turned out to be true!

It’s hereeeee!!! Wooooo! I haven’t been leading a troubling life but, it’s here! This for sure is going into the top 3 best moments of my life!

「N-no, you’re not troubling me at all!」

C-calm down me! This girl is interested in me. There’s no doubt about it! ……..Definitely.

However! This is just all hypothetical! I can’t allow myself to make any mistakes in order to ensure she doesn’t say something like “Wha~t this is a let down, I change my mind” after coming this far. But, what can I do to make this a success?

「Hey, do are you also interested in me too perhaps?」

「Yeah. I’m very interested in you.」

「Those are some pleasing words.」

「Then we’re the same in that regard. I was also happy to hear what you said earlier.」

「Then, is it okay if I propose something?」

「Hmm? I don’t really mind.」

「I, am a little tired because of the heat from the sunlight. So, somewhere cool…..Hmm. For example, we could move to somewhere like a cafe or something, and enjoy our chat there…… Can’t we?」

Cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

When she tilted her neck while looking at me in the eyes…… It’s too cute!

However……

「Ah~ sorry. I can’t do that.」

My reply must’ve been unexpected, as the girl was left blinking her eyes.

「Can I ask why?」

This is bad. She has a slightly displeased voice now. Well, of course she would. やばい。 ちょっと不機嫌な声になってらっしゃる。 でも、 まあ、 そうだよな。

Even though the person she called out to said they were interested, they refused to go to a new place like a cafe. That doesn’t usually happen.

「I, I have to…… wait for someone here.」

「That someone, is it your girlfriend perhaps? 」

「If they were my girlfriend, then I’d be homosexual.」

「What a shocking reality.」

「That doesn’t mean I am!! I am completely straight!」

「I’m relieved.」

Why did she end up replying like that I wonder. I think her way of thinking is a little strange, but whatever.

I’ll overlook it because she’s cute. Cuteness and breasts are justice, as has been determined since before the start of the common era.

「Sorry. The guy I’m waiting for is the kind of guy who would keep to himself and not say anything when he’s depressed. That’s why I can’t leave him alone for even a little bit. Until he comes, I won’t move from this spot.」

Ahー…… It would’ve been good if we didn’t meet today. If only it was some other day…… Ah, that’s right.

「I see….. Then, another day would be fine right?」

「Yeah, of course. Oh that reminds me, tell me your name and contact info.」

That’s right. This is it. This is the best answer.

Unfortunately, until Sun-chan comes today, he will be given priority instead of this.

Since that’s the case, I’ll get her contact info and name so we can meet again. It’ll be good to aim for those!

「I can tell you, but there’s just one condition~.」

「Condition?」

「….Yes. Will you give me one of those?」

Saying that, the girl pointed towards the kushikatsu I was holding with both my hands.

「I want something to remember our conversation by. Just one will be fine right?」

「Ahー….. I’m sorry again but, I also can’t do that.」

「How come?」

D-damn it! Why am I destroying every flag that appears!?

For just one box of kushikatsu, I can get this lady’s contact info and learn her name you know?

No matter how you think about it, that’s a good deal!

…..But, I can’t give this kushikatsu! I definitely can’t give it!

I got these in order to cheer Sun-chan up a little bit, they aren’t for me!

「These aren’t for me. They’re for the guy I’m waiting for.」

「You bought them with your own money didn’t you?」

「Well….. that’s true but…….. Anyways, I can’t do that.」

「Even though you have that much?」

「Even if I have this much.」

「I see. That’s too bad….」

Uh oh…. This is very likely a mistake……

Aaa~ Making such a good girl depressed like this, I’m seriously an idiot…. ああ~。 こんないい女をシュンと落ち込ませるなんて、 俺はマジでバカだ……。

「But, there’s stuff to be happy about. I was able to learn a lot about you. でも、 嬉しくもあるわね。 貴方のこと、 色々知ることができたし 」

Then, her voice shot out. とここで、 女の声が弾んだ。

Huh? Don’t tell me, did my one chance come? Did my chance to get her contact info and name come? あれ? もしかしてワンチャン来た? 連絡先と名前ゲッツチャンス来た?

「So, let’s talk a lot the next time we meet okay? I have a lot of fun talking with you after all.」

Now then, here’s a question!

Q: What will we exchange in order for the two of us to meet again?

A: Of course, contact information and our names~!

「Yeah. Then, your conta一」

「When that time comes, will you be kind?」

Mmm…… She cut me off while I was talking.

But, she’s really cute so let’s forgive her. That angelic smile completely excuses all of her sins.

「If it’s within my capabilities, I’ll do my best.」

「If you break this promise, it will be very mean okay?」

「I won’t break it. I’m the type of guy who does what they decide to do.」

O-kay! I chose my words perfectly! Now then, come! Your contact info and name!

「I’m relieved~. Alright then, I’ll be on my way now.」

「Eh?」

Wha…. you….. what are you saying!?

What do you mean when you say we will meet again, if we don’t even have each other’s contact info or names!? If we’re to meet again, then we need to know each other’s info right!?

What the hell? Is it just destiny that the two of us met but didn’t do anything!?

There’s no way that’s all right!? This isn’t the plot of some drama! This is reality!

「O-oi! Then, your contact info and name…….」

I managed to speak out but, this dramatic girl immediately faced her back towards me and started walking.

I wanted to follow her, but because the kushikatsu I was holding could fall down, I didn’t move..

Aahー…… What a thing to happen…… In the end, I guess I failed…..

As I dropped my shoulders down, the girl turned her head around and showed just a smile.

Yup. She’s really cute.

 

「Remember this okay? I, am a person who gets lonely easily, and am someone who wants to be spoiled a lot~」

 

Those were her last words. After that, she once again turned her back towards me, and left.

Haah……… Even though things would’ve been good without the dramatic thoughts.

In the end, I continued to wait for Sun-chan under the scorching sun that shone brilliantly without getting that girl’s contact information or name.

 

…..And, I wonder when Sun-chan will come?


Epilogue – Part 1 | Index | Afterword


TL notes

  1. There are many ways to say “I” in japanese. In this sentence, Jouro says he’s going to use “Boku” instead of “Ore”, which is more polite/less rough sounding.

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started