Chapter 3 – Part 1 – I really am just an ordinary mob character that you can find anywhere

My name is Amatsuyu Kisaragi. My nickname is Jouro.

If you take the “ragi”1 out from my name what’s left is Jouro. So people call me Jouro. It’s straightforward isn’t it?

In terms of appearance… a bit better than average. My grades… a little better than average. My physical ability… also a bit better than average.

A slightly attractive, second year highschool boy who doesn’t do anything.

During middle school, I was able to hang out with everyone well, regardless of their gender. I’m not singing my own praises… definitely not.

I don’t do any club activities but, since last October I’ve been the student council’s secretary.

I didn’t really want to become a secretary candidate, but this year’s student council president was hot and the vice president recommended me, and then begged me to run and somehow convinced me.

That guy said「Simple work suits you, and also there’s no one else I can count on!」, and kept asking until I said yes.

In this world, the unexpected can happen at any time.

…What’s that? This is different from how I introduced myself before?

The first time was a lie you know. A lie. Aah well, between the first time and this time, there’s a lot of things different.

That’s cause, I might have been hated if I started out like this right? Mainly… hated by you readers.

That’s scary… isn’t it?

And although I’ve revealed my true character through my inner thoughts, I won’t be showing it on the outside.

That persona is used for school and it was created with the image of a dull and innocent boy in mind.

If this character (My true self) was exposed at this point in time, everything would be ruined.

Therefore, I’ll continue to live my highschool life with my fake persona.

「Go~od morning Jouro!」

「Morning, Himawari.」

Damn that hurts. Don’t hit my back like that.

If you hit me like this, my back will have a red spot that can clearly be seen you know?

Think a little more about my feelings when I have to change for P.E. class like someone like Siegfried2 or something you idiot.

「Thanks for yesterday!」

「Ah, yeah.」

Honestly I was getting really angry on the inside, but I didn’t let it show on my face.

I still have a chance after all. For the sake of this remora3 strategy, I can’t let my favourability fall.

「Uh, uhm… Then about yesterday’s topic…」

Himawari was fidgeting and behaving like she was saying something difficult.

There’s no helping it. I can also earn points from this, so I’ll say something I guess.

「Just leave it to me. Since I’ll properly lend you a hand.」

「Really? That’s a relief since I don’t know what to do!」

Yeah yeah, I get it. I’ll properly help you out.

Well, there’s some merit in helping you out after all.

If I reliably cooperate with her, then in the situation that she gets rejected, there will be good feelings between us… kekeke…

But, before any cooperation, my own self-protection takes precedence.

「Ah, but before that…」

「Huh?」

「I was thinking about whether or not to say this but, president Cosmos also asked me to help her out.」

「Eeeeeeeeh!? What are you saying!?」

Those are the exact words I want to retort with.

My situation is something that deserves the line『Eeeeeeh!? What are you saying!?』way more.

Well honestly, I was also quite worried over whether or not to tell her the truth.

After this, I’ll also have to tell Cosmos the same thing.

This way, I can support both of them and I won’t be condemned by them at the same time unlike if I didn’t tell them and got exposed in the process.

I won’t do that kind of foolish thing.

Taking quick action will lead to victory4. I will tell her some information about the past few days.

「She consulted me and asked me the same thing you did on Saturday.」

「Uuuー… President Cosmos… I knew that’s how it was!」

You noticed huh! Not bad.

I was so sure and hopeful that Cosmos would fall for me that my ego grew.

And then, it inflated so much that it exploded just like that.

「When you guys came for an inspection the other day, she said you guys were going to the baseball club afterwards right! Even though it’s inefficient to go to see the baseball club practice from out tennis courts no matter how you look at it! Also since a long time ago I’ve thought that how that woman interacts with Sun-chan was suspicious!」

「I-is that so…」

So that’s why you hit me with that ball huh? Don’t use people as targets to vent your anger on.

Vent it on yourself. Right now I’ll forgive you so vent it on yourself.

Also while I’m at it, your voice is pretty scary you know? It feels like ‘Dark Himawari’ has appeared or something.

I’m kinda freaked out right now by how naturally she called Cosmos「that woman」5.

「Anyways, I’m going to be cooperating with both of you.」

「Eeeh! Aren’t you my ally Jouro?」

「Of course I am. But, I am also president Cosmos’ ally as well. So I will be supporting both of you equally. After all, from my position, president Cosmos asked me first. So this way, regardless of which one of you Sun-chan decides to go out with, there won’t be any hard feelings. If you don’t like it then I won’t help you.」

「Uuu!」

「And, I’ll be having this talk with president Cosmos today as well. It’s not fair that only you know about this situation right?」

「Huh no way!」

「Yesterday, I didn’t keep a secret from you right? Despite that, objecting like this is kinda unfair don’t you think?」

「Buuー!」

Puffing her cheeks out like a hamster, Himawari tried to openly appeal to me as if saying「I object」, but that kind of trick doesn’t work on me. I won’t be deceived by this.

In the first place, when you asked me to help you out you were already unfair enough.

Like this, even if you go to some unexplored region6, you’ll become friends with the Umba-Umba natives7.

「Anyways, from now on I’ll be talking about your strategy.」

「Oh! You already thought about what to do?」

If she had a tail attached to her, then I feel like it would have just sprung up after hanging down.

Aah, how cute (monotone).

For me to be a proper mob character, I considered what to do you know.

「Of course.」

「Waa! Thanks Jouro!」

Himawari was delighted with my words and hugged me.

A faint, sweet smell of soap reaches my nostrils, and my heart enjoys a pleasant feeling… there’s no way that would happen!

This air-headed type bitch! You think I’ll be deceived by your actions?

I’ve already been tricked twice!

So you’ll have to stay like this for a bit! If possible, hug me more tightly!

More tightly and firmly, strong enough so that we never separate!

「Okay… And so, what should I do?」

She immediately separated from me! I… Is this the limit of a mob character?

「First, let’s start by changing your impression.」

「My impression?」

「Yeah. In that aspect, I think the most important thing is『First, make them want to know you more』but, this isn’t a problem for you Himawari. You’ve known Sun-chan since middle school after all. But, that has it’s own demerits. Until now, as far as Sun-chan is concerned, your impression is that of『good friend』instead of『a girl』. Do you understand the meaning of what I just said?」

「Yeah… Sun-chan always plays with me, but it’s like when he hangs out with you Jouro.」

「That’s right. So first we need to change your impression, in order to get Sun-chan to recognize you as a girl.」

「Jouro… You’re amazing…」

「And so, this is the first strategy but, starting today you will stop going to the classroom together with me.」

「Eh, why?」

「Sun-chan thinks that we like each other, he often jokes about it right?」

「…yeah.」

Himawari becomes disheartened hearing my words. Well, I don’t really care.

It’s hard to think about the person you like, liking someone else isn’t it?

「I think that us entering the classroom is the cause of this. That’s why we’ll stop. But, we can still walk to and from school together. That’s what I was thinking of having us do.」

「I see! As expected of you Jouro!」

「Probably at the start, if we suddenly don’t come together then Sun-chan will have some suspicions but that’s fine. We just need to show that we aren’t going out and don’t think of each other as members of the opposite sex. However, in the classroom we can talk like usual, since people might misunderstand that we are fighting or something. That’s why today we won’t show a excessively good relationship between us. Also, we won’t enter the classroom together. We’ll split up a little before we reach the classroom. Do you understand?」

「Yup! I understand perfectly!」

I see, I see. It really helps that you understand.

And yet why can’t you understand my feelings?

Eh? It doesn’t really matter? I’m very irritated! So much so that I might self-destruct!

「Alright then, starting today let’s hurry up and go.」

「Okay! Then until we reach the school… Let’s Dash!」

Hearing my words, Himawari was strangely in high spirits and took my hand fiercely and started to run.

Since I already told you about the strategy, there’s no meaning in you and me being together like this right?

Don’t drag me into doing this every single time. Well… Not being late is good I guess…

***


Chapter 2 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 3 – Part 2

TL notes

  1. Just like in the first chapter, His name is: 如月雨露 (Kisaragi Amatsuyu), if you take the 月 (ragi) out, 如雨露 is read as Jyouro (じょうろ) which means watering can.
  2. RAW: ジークフリート – I don’t know what this is a reference to, I assume some anime since I’m doubtful that the author is actually referencing the mythical hero
  3. Remora are those little fish that stick on to the bottom of large marine animals with their suction cup things – so like in this situation Jouro is like a remora, where he can benefit from just riding this situation out or something like that?
  4. Or ‘The early bird gets the worm’ – 先手必勝
  5. based on the situation she means it rudely
  6. the words ‘unfair’ and ‘unexplored region’ have the same pronunciation in japanese. Probably a pun of some sorts, but I am not familiar with it.
  7. RAW: ウンバーウンバー現地人 – I don’t know what this references, specifically the katakana part

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

5 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started