Chapter 3 – Part 2 – I really am just an ordinary mob character that you can find anywhere

***

…So tired. I separated with Himawari a bit before we reached the school but I’m still tired.

Why is it only me who she takes running with her and why can I not resist?

Well whatever. Anyways let’s enter the classroom.

Oh? Look at Himawari, already talking to Sun-chan I see.

Then, I’ll just let the two of them enjoy their own world and read the atmosphere like a mob character.

I didn’t want to disturb them, so I quietly went to my own seat.

While I’m at it, let’s think up some more strategies for them.

「Ooi Jouro!」

Is what I was thinking but Sun-chan came over to me. Looks like I won’t be having any time to think of strategies.

「What’s up Sun-chan?」

「I’m just wonderin if something happened between you and Himawari? You guys came at different times today.」

「Nope, nothing happened though?」

Naturally I pretended that I didn’t know anything here.

Of course I would. Sun-chan absolutely cannot find out about this situation.

However, talking about this is a bit bothersome.

I sent Himawari some signals using my eyes in order to get her to come over here.

When she saw me, she nodded her head.

…eh? Himawari spread her arms out as she came, as if she wanted to embrace Sun-chan’s back.

I see. Even this air-headed bitch comes up with good strategies huh?

Alright come! Show me the destructive power of your B-cups.

「Jouro, Sun-chan! That’s not fair… you know! You two are happily talking together!」

Are you going to do it or what! Why did you pause at that one spot and lose your motivation!?

Furthermore, you have the nerve to make a pose like that. What do you plan on gathering with those outstretched arms?

「Oh! Then, do you also want to talk with us Himawari?」

「Yeah! Let’s talk, let’s talk!」

Don’t bounce up and down with that delighted face! First, reflect on your failure!

Right now you’re gonna lose your only chance!

…Jeez, she probably won’t. I guess she should practice with me so that she won’t fail next time.

It’s regrettable I know, but it’s an emergency so we don’t have a choice. You’re going to have to practice hugging using my back.

You absolutely have to!

「Oh yeah! Sun-chan, I watched a movie yesterday!」

「Ooh, did you now?」

Oh. You actually chose a good topic to talk about.

If it’s that then, you can say「Next time lets go see a movie together」very naturally and invite him.

「Yeah! Yesterday, Jo-…」

Are you an idiot?!

What the hell are you thinking, exposing that you went with me yesterday!? We already agreed to not reveal it right!?

If you said what you were about to say, then the usual pattern would happen again, so think about your actions!

Jeez, I immediately opened my eyes really wide and Himawari stopped saying her bombshell of a sentence but, what will she do now?

Since she stopped talking so suddenly, Sun-chan knit his eyebrows.

「Jo? What’s the matter Himawari?」

I am completely unrelated to this.

「Jo, jo… Jojoen Skywalker’s acting was so good!」

What the hell is with that actor’s name that sounds like the combination of a yakiniku1 shop name and something from Star Wars?!

After saying『Jo』you could have said『ーrge Clooney2』or『ーhnny Depp3』or『ーhnny Ridden4』or other various names. Why did you come up with an original name?

「Ooh~ Jojoen Skywalker huh? I’ve never heard of that actor before.」

Well, that’s cause he’s not a real person. He’s someone made up by Himawari.

…Huh? For some reason, Himawari is staring at me with teary eyes. This is definitely eye contact.

Err… what does she want?

『Do something』

What a really unreasonable request. Give me some instructions that are a little more specific jeez.

I have to somehow casually come up with a topic that will surpass Jojoen Skywalker.

But, I more or less have to cooperate with her. If I don’t, then Himawari’s impression of me will fall and I won’t be able to execute my remora strategy and get a girl easily.5

Then I guess I gotta show it, the power of a mob character.

「Hey Himawari, you went to go see that movie by yourself right?」

「Y-yup! T-that’s right!」

Let’s explain from there! There’s two points to my statement.

One,『Himawari went to go see the movie by herself』.

Two,『I didn’t know about that until she told Sun-chan』.

Because of this, Sun-chan will guess that Himawari doesn’t have anyone special… in other words a boyfriend, and also that I did not know about this before him. Probably!

It was a perfect follow-up but, Himawari’s gaze was wandering around in confusion and I couldn’t help but be worried.

「I see… Hey Sun-chan, have you gone to see any movies recently?」

「Nah, I’ve been busy with club so I haven’t really gone.」

「Then, next time would you go with Himawari? Yesterday, Himawari wanted to see a movie so she went alone but, honestly she doesn’t have anyone to go see movies she likes with you see. You know, someone to talk about what they thought of the movie with.」

「Well, that’s true! Wait, is it okay if you aren’t coming Jouro?」

「Well you see, me and Himawari like different types of movies I think so that’s why you can go without me.」

How was that? I’m a genius right? I blew Jojoen Skywalker right off the table, and created a chance for Himawari. Now, choose your fate Himawari!

「I also bant to goh witd Sun-chan!」6 

Okay! My support was broken into small pieces!

What the hell is this, in what region do they speak that dialect?

「I-is that so? Hehe… Somehow I’m kinda happy」

Oi. Seriously? A miracle has occurred. Sun-chan’s cheeks became a little red from that.

I guess Himawari’s fumbling wasn’t surprising to Sun-chan.

「I’m also happy that you would come with me Sun-chan.」

Yup. Himawari put away her special Himawari dialect and responded very nicely.

This is good. Use that innocence and attack Sun-chan repeatedly.

Afterwards leave it to me. I will take care of Cosmos happily.

…But, while it is regrettable, that was all the progress she made. After that the three of us just spent the time having a casual conversation.

Well whatever. Like this, we can show Sun-chan that we’re not fighting by talking with each other like normal.

We achieved our initial goal enough so far.

And we got some good information too. Sun-chan can get shy from Himawari’s words.

Basically, he is conscious of the fact that she’s a girl.

***

…Tch, school’s already over huh?

I don’t wanna go but, I don’t have a reason not to go…

After homeroom quietly ended, I walked to the student council room with a quick pace.

My class’ teacher is lazy in a good way. Homeroom ends quickly.

Other classes take a lot longer to finish their homerooms, so I’ll use that time before the student council meeting starts to talk about plans with Cosmos.

By the way, Cosmos is always the first person in the student council room.

I don’t know what kind of trick she’s using but, she’s always first.

After knocking on the door, I opened it after hearing a voice say「Enter」.

See, she’s here.

She closed her notebook and sweetly smiled at me…

You! Trying to trick me with those eyes of yours! Ignorance is a sin!

「Hey Jouro-kun.」

「Hello president Cosmos.」

「Oh that’s right. Thank you for Saturday. I am really happy you know?」

「No no, I should be thanking you.」

This is a goddess’ smile isn’t it? I can really understand well.

But that that only worked up until Saturday. Right now it has no effect on me. It’s like using an electric type attack on a ground type.

「Right now, do you have time president Cosmos?」

「Yup. I do. There’s some time before the meeting starts so if it’s just for a bit then it’s fine.」

Alright. Then let’s get straight to the point.

「Okay then, it’s about what we talked about on Saturday but」

The instant I said that, Cosmos’ body froze up.

Wow amazing. Even though I usually think that she definitely won’t lose her composure, all it took was a few words from me.

She’s definitely a maiden in love. I definitely want someone to look at me with a gaze like that.

「W-what is it? Is it okay to talk about it here?」

With her notebook slightly open, Cosmos made a ready pose. She looks really motivated.

That’s good motivation. To respond to that motivation, I will support you will all my power.

And then, in the case that you get rejected, I’ll be… kekeke…

Whoops, not good not good. First I need to prioritize my own self protection.

「Well no one is coming so it’s fine isn’t it?」

「Th-that’s right! There’s no way anyone will come until it’s time to start.」

Exactly.

Since I wanted to look at Cosmos for even a second longer and maybe score some points with her, I always came earlier than I needed to, but the other members don’t work as hard in that area.

Even the faster members don’t come until there’s 5 minutes until the meeting starts. In other words, there’s plenty of time.

Well, they are mob characters who can read the atmosphere.

…Anyways, I’ve also already settled down into my usual position.

「However before that, there’s something I have to tell you.」

「Huh?」

「The truth is, Himawari had the same request as you did.」

「What did you say?」

The moment I told her that, her eyes became really sharp and it felt like her gaze was stabbing me.

Uwa scary! She’s actually scary!

There seems to be a black aura flowing out from behind her back. Alright, let’s name this form Dark Cosmos.

I instinctively took a step back but, this is not the time to be scared. My position is superior.

Cosmos is different from Himawari, if I don’t use some force then I will be basically unable to progress things further.

「I went out with Himawari on Sunday, and that’s when she asked me.」

「That little girl… I knew that was the case!」

Uwa, this girl also guess right on the mark.

Women are scary. Also she called her a「little girl7」… Her impression changed.

「The other day, when we went to go investigate the tennis club it was obvious from how she was hostile towards me. Particularly because of her attitude after I mentioned going to see the baseball club. She was sulking so openly, and even hit you with a ball didn’t she? Aah, since she did that kind of pointless act, in the meeting afterwards I cut the budget of the tennis club.」

「I-is that so…」

What is up with this person, was she always so scary? I don’t want to become her enemy.

「Anyways, I plan on cooperating with both of you.」

「T-that’s! I thought for sure that you would be my ally?」

Don’t do that. With an irritated expression like that, I won’t think of you as being gentle anymore.

「Of course I’ll be your ally. However I will also be Himawari’s ally. So I will support the both of you equally. It’s cause I’ve got my own situation you see, Himawari is my childhood friend. I don’t want any hard feelings regardless of who Sun-chan decides to go out with. If you don’t like it then I won’t help you.」

「Uuu!」

「Of course, I’ve already talked about this with Himawari. She agreed to it but, what will you do president Cosmos?」

「If you say that…」

Glancing at her, Cosmos appeared to be thinking about it but, she has no choice.

If she rejects my help here then I will be completely on Himawari’s side.

Surely Cosmos wouldn’t do something so foolish right? But it doesn’t really matter to me if she rejects my help or not.

「Muu… I understand. Then, please help me out.」

See what did I say. Just as I thought.

「Alright then, let’s talk about what you should do now.」

「You already thought about it?」

「Of course.」

「Thanks! That’s reassuring!」

Don’t grab my hand every time. Even if you hold my hand, I don’t think anything of it you know.

I’ll show you proof so you can’t let go until 30 minutes have passed!

Hold it more tightly and firmly, strong enough so that you’ll never let go!

「Fuu… Okay, what should I do?」

She immediately let go of my hand! I… As expected, I am a mob character after all…

「First, let’s start by changing up your impression president Cosmos.」

「My impression?」

「Yes. For this topic, the most important thing is『Making them want to know more about you』. As far as president Cosmos is concerned, this is something you haven’t really done. At most, you and Sun-chan only sometimes encounter each other through the student council and his club. I’m just gonna say it clearly, Sun-chan doesn’t think of you as a『girl』but rather as『president』instead. Do you understand what I’m saying?」

「Aah, it’s difficult to say specifically what you said but, the point is is that I only have the impression of a serious senpai right?」

「That’s exactly it. That’s why let’s first change his impression of you. In order for him to recognize you, president Cosmos, as a『girl』. That is all.」

「Aah wow. You’re amazing…」

「After school, walk home together with Sun-chan. You might not like it, but I will also be there with you guys. Because I’ve already told him that I wanted to head home together today.」

「W-we’re starting from there!? No no, if anything having you there will be helpful! If it was just the two of us, I would be so nervous and not be able to say anything! Aah! Even now I can’t think of anything to talk about…」

Heeeyyy~. I’m not done talking yet you know~. Ah you’ve suddenly started writing in your notebook.

「Well pretty much, the point is to just be careful, oh and also after the student council is done for the day please don’t leave the student council room.」

「Uhh, first what are his hobbies… Huh? Is me leaving the room problematic?」

「Yes. Our student council activities end around 6 PM. The baseball club stops practice at 7 PM. But, in the meantime the tennis club will finish their practice.」

After saying only that, Cosmos’ eyebrows twitched. It’s easy to guess why.

「That’s right. If you stay here at school and wait around outside even though the student council’s activities are over, Himawari will immediately get suspicious if she sees you. And then she will decide to wait for Sun-chan as well. If she doesn’t see you, then she will head home together with her club members like usual.」

「But, is this okay? Didn’t you say you were also going to be her ally?」

「I will help both of you. Himawari is different from you president Cosmos because we are together in the same class. After school, I will help you. Other times, I will be helping Himawari. During lunch break, I won’t help either of you. Please let me know if there is some kind of situation you want to create in advance. If you do, I will cooperate. I won’t do anything if you do not come up with something.」

「I understand!」

Well, I won’t really do much.

Either way, I don’t really want to waste all of my mornings, lunches, and afternoons for the sake of someone else’s love affair.

I just want to at least spend my lunch time peacefully by myself. That’s all I want.

…Anyways I’m tired. Repeating the same talk twice is such a pain.

Speaking of that, Himawari and Cosmos reacted very similarly to each other. Is their way of thinking unexpectedly similar or something?

If that’s the case, then I can only see myself being worried after this…

***


Chapter 3 – Part 1 | Index | Chapter 3 – Part 3

TL notes

  1. you probably know already but if you don’t: yakiniku and the shop (company) mentioned
  2. george clooney – american actor
  3. johnny depp – american actor
  4. johnny ridden – character from Gundam universe
  5. original literally translated into something like “her impression of me will fall and I will miss a meal and not be able to do my remora strategy”, where “miss a meal” here kinda means like, Jouro will miss out on something he thinks is important to his life if he doesn’t help her, or so I think.
  6. she fumbled her words, I don’t know how to show fumbling in English LOL
  7. She called her 小娘 – which means little girl/young lady and according to jisho can be used in a derogatory way

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

19 Comments

    1. Thanks for reading. I plan to, but it’ll probably take me awhile since this is just something to do in my free time. The anime will probably finish airing before I finish vol1 lol

      Like

  1. thing is, i just started to read your job today, and is the first Light Novel that i’m reading, yes i’m serious, i just got in love with Panji on the manga, and i really enjoyed the anime start, so i had a really hard time to find someone doing this, and i already share your work with some people so they can start read it too, also i’m really in love with this story, so if you can keep up the work i would love it, even more because my birthday is 13th october . 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and happy early birthday.

      I do plan on at least finishing the first volume, but I am really busy for the next week or so, so the rest of chapter 3 probably won’t come out for awhile. (It’s only ~15% done right now I think)

      Also lol, the anime is already ahead of where I am in terms of the general plot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, i’m on cap 17 of the manga, i believe is something about the third Light novel, or something around that, i wish i could help, but i don’t understand a thing from japanese… if was something from english to pt-br would be a diferent story :\… good luck with your personal things mate, if you think you gonna be able to do it with all the light novel, that is lovely, if only chapter 1, well, still great 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Se puder quando terminar tudo, colocar em pdf e disponibilizar para baixar tb, pois se alguem tem kindle como eu consegue ler nele

    Like

    1. Sorry, I don’t understand Portugese(?) so this reply is based on google translate 😅

      Sure, I’ll consider putting everything in a pdf file after the volume is done, however it will probably take awhile for me to finish volume 1, since I’m busy with school until spring so releases will not be frequent (i.e. probably not once a week).

      Like

  3. Cómo se pronuncia
    thanks for the chapter, gg you don’t know if the rest of the existing chapters are licensed? I would love to see how the story is happening with panji gg

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading. As far as I know, this novel is not licensed by an official translation group, unless Yen Press or something decides to pick it up soon because of the anime.

      As long as the novel isn’t licensed (or no one else wants to take over) then I’ll probably continue to (badly) translate the rest of the volumes. But first, gotta get vol1 done haha.

      Like

  4. I really love your job dude. I would like you could finish the first volume. My question is…will you still translating the rest of the volumes?

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading.

      I do have the rest of the volumes up till 11, so I could translate them as well. For now I’ll say probably. Maybe I’ll do some ore suki while I translate other novels as well, just so that I don’t get burnt out.

      Like

      1. Oh , it’s the same with me ,but i don’t have the enought knowledge of japanese to translate it. Have you ever thought in create a patreon o something like that? I mean ,with that ,you could recieve more motivation to do it.

        Like

      2. Hahaha, I don’t think my translation quality is good enough to warrant something like a Patreon, yet anyways.

        I’ll think about it though, when I have more free time to spend on translating.

        Like

  5. thanks for translating this , we really appreciate how much effort you put in this project

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started