Chapter 3 – Part 3 – I really am just an ordinary mob character that you can find anywhere

hi, this part is out earlier than I expected due to me procrastinating about studying

check out the home page for a quick update on my current and future plans


***

Now then, it’s currently 7pm. Only me and Cosmos are in the student council room, there’s no one else here.

If it was a few days ago then this would be a delightful situation. However, right now this is anything but delightful.

Rather, Cosmos is standing in front of me, passionately writing in her notebook with a cheerful expression on her face.

「Aah, I’m so nervous! My heart’s beating so much just thinking about going home with Ooga-kun! Let’s see, first is the greeting.『Good work!』or『Hello!』or『Spring is so beautiful, this season, I hope you enjoy better health.1』… Which of these do you think are good?」

「… I think that it would be best if you don’t use the last one.」

「I-is that so? In order to show my respect I thought that something like that would be good but…」

That’s too respectful. And why would you use a seasonal greeting?

「Huh?」

Just then, my phone started vibrating. The person who was calling me was of course Sun-chan.

「Ah, you done with practice? …Yeah. …Okay. Then, see you at the school’s entrance.」

After that incoherent conversation ended, I stood up and called out to Cosmos.

「Well then, shall we go?」

「Ah, aah! Okay, but first Jouro-kun, is there anything about me that looks weird?」

Arranging her hair with both hands, Cosmos showed a worried smile. I can understand her nervousness.

This is a maiden in love. She had a completely different kind of smile when she went out with me…

「Nope, you look as beautiful as always.」

「I-is that so! Thanks!」

Even though I especially told her she was beautiful, she just lightly turned her head the other way.

If Sun-chan was the one to say that, then her face would become as red as a lobster for sure.

Well I am a mob character after all. Keh!2

***

When the two of us arrived at the school’s entrance, Sun-chan was already there.

Noticing me walking towards him, he waved to me with a smile on his face.

「Yo Jouro! What did ya need?」

「It’s not that big of a deal but, ah before that.」

I bent my small body to the side a bit, revealing a timid Cosmos all huddled up to Sun-chan.

「Today, president Cosmos will be coming with us.」

Hey! Hurry up and greet him already. Then, she closed her notebook.

「Today is such a beautiful spring day, I hope that you enjoy more and more growth and development!」

Like I said, why a seasonal greeting!? I told you not to say something like that!

You don’t have to bow so deeply like that, just bow normally!

「Ah!」

A rustling sound could be heard at the school gates.

Because Cosmos bowed with so much force, her notebook fell to the ground.

Well, it’s cause she was so nervous her hands were shaking. That’s what it felt like.

For some reason there’s a lot of outrageous things… but, it’s my job to turn a crisis like this into a chance.

「Sorry Sun-chan, can you pick up president Cosmos’ notebook for her?」

「Something like that is an easy task! Hup! Here you are, president Akino!」

「S-sorry about that! …Thanks…」

Let me explain! My statement aimed to do two things!

One,『Create a chance for Sun-chan and Cosmos』.

Two,『I didn’t have to pick it up』.

Because of this, a cozy atmosphere between Sun-chan and Cosmos will be made, and also, since I didn’t take the initiative to help Cosmos, it should make Sun-chan imagine that I don’t have any special feelings for Cosmos. Probably!

It was a perfect follow-up but, Cosmos’ face turned red and huddled up. This is a problem.

「Uuuu… I’ve troubled Ooga-kun…」

While holding her notebook tightly with both hands, Cosmos said something with a voice so small I couldn’t hear what she was saying.

Hmm… Well, not surprisingly, Himawari is overwhelmingly more favourable than Cosmos right now.

Even under regular circumstances, there’s the impression that it’s a little difficult to interact with someone who is both a senpai and the student council president, and in addition to that, it seems like impatience. If Himawari right now has a 10/10 appeal, then Cosmos has around a 3/10 appeal in comparison.

Jeez… At least think about how to be more charming and mix it in with your usual actions.

「Then Sun-chan, will you come together with us?」

「Yeah! Leave it to me!」

Well, the amount of points I earn today depends on you.

Do your best as much as you can. I’ll support you guys as long as it’s within my limits.

***

I followed the two of them and we ended up going to a fast-food joint.

We stopped at a burger shop with a M mark that is near the station a short walk away from school. The name starts with the letter M.

After thinking about the situation a little, I decided to take their orders while leaving the role of securing seats to the two of them.

Yup. Alone time for just the two of them successfully achieved. Skillfully done if I do say so myself. And then, I will return to them after.

「Two colas and one ice tea, all medium size please.」

「Certainly! That’s two colas and one ice tea, all medium size!」

After receiving the drinks from the employee who showed off their customer service smile with everything they had, I headed towards where the two of them were while carrying a tray.

At the same time, I purposefully slowed down my pace and peered at them…

Uwa! Those guys, they aren’t saying anything!

Sun-chan, suddenly in a situation where he’s alone with Cosmos, is nervously looking away from her. As for Cosmos, she’s writing something down in her notebook while her face is completely red.

…This ain’t good.

「Thanks for waiting you two.」

To the sound of my voice, the two of them looked at me at the same time with sparkles in their eyes.

What’s that? I’m a divine messenger? Nah, I’m just a human.

I put their respective drinks in front of them, and sat down next to Sun-chan.

I sat next to Sun-chan on purpose in order to prevent any weird misunderstandings about our relationship.

I’m so thoughtful right? This is how a mob character is after all. Saying that myself makes me kinda sad.

「There is a point to why we’re together, actually it has to do with president Cosmos.」

「「Eh?」」

Both of them let out an idiotic voice. Since earlier you guys have been a good match for each other.

Things might end up well if you guys go out with each other. Alright, start dating. Me and Himawari will be happy together.

「Hey Sun-chan, about president Cosmos, does she have the image of a tough person?」

「Uh, uhhh… Hmmm~… 」

Sun-chan crossed his arms and thought about it.

It’s likely that he does think so but, the person in question is troubled about what he should say.

Cosmos, staring at Sun-chan like that while swallowing your breath is pointless. Just accept reality.

「If it’s too hard to say then you don’t have to say it you know.」

「No, that would be shameful! I’ll say it! That’s right, president Akino does have that kind of image!」

Hearing his words clearly, Cosmos moved as if her heart was cut in half.

In my perspective, her movement was quite funny. She took a lot of damage from that didn’t she.

And then just like that, she began to jot something down in her notebook really vigorously.

Yup. This girl is quite a disappointing girl. She’s the type of girl who’s weak in performance.

「Right? It’s not just Sun-chan who thinks that, other students also… Particularly president Cosmos’ kouhais, many first and second years think the same.」

「Well, she’s also a senpai after all.」

「And so, we want to get rid of that image, and we want your help Sun-chan.」

「Eh? It’s not really related to me though?」

Well you see, she likes you.

And so I said,

「Hey now, Sun-chan you’re able to be friendly with anyone aren’t you? And besides, you’re the perfect kouhai to be friendly with. That’s why, if the other students see you and president Cosmos being friendly to each other, they will start to lose that image of her. Also, Cosmos currently has some strict points about her you see, so I want you guys to spend time fixing those.」

「You think so? There’s probably other guys more suited for this than me though.」

「That’s not true. Since you’re the kind of person who’s good at making things fun. President Cosmos will surely have fun I think. That’s why I think you’re the best choice for this.」

「Oh, somehow Jouro praising me with a straight face is kinda embarrassing.」

I understand that it’s hopeless, no matter how much I praise you there won’t be any progress.

Not good, calm down. Don’t lose to these negative emotions.

I am a mob character… I am a mob character… Okay. Successfully calmed down.

「Anyways, if you don’t mind Sun-chan, then I want you to walk home together with president Cosmos after club for awhile but, what do you say?」

How was that killer pass! Wonderful wasn’t it?

I sent such a splendid pass. What happens after depends on Cosmos.

「I’m okay with it but, uh, is president Akino okay with it? Going together with a kinda sweaty smelling guy like me.」

「T-that’s nya~t the case!」

Hmm. This lady became a cat. This girl…

Furthermore, the person in question didn’t even realize and continued to talk just like that.

「I, I, want to, do some, thing, about, my im, a~a~age. I really nya~nt, to become friends, with more junya~rs, and also Ooga, I nya~nt to, be friends with you!」3

You’re pausing in weird places you know. Those commas, make your sentences sound broken.

By the way, you sounded like a goat during one part.

But, that last bit was nice. While saying his name4 with a red face, she looked at him right in the eye.

It’s perfect isn’t it. Why didn’t you do that to me too?

Because she doesn’t love me! Oh my goodness!

「Ah… Okay! I understand president Akino.」

「Hahaha, you guys, if you’re going to become friends then you’re gonna have to stop with the formalities when you talk to each other. Sun-chan call her Cosmos. President Cosmos, what do you think about calling him Sun-chan?」

I, am a genius aren’t I? I am a god already right? Nope, I’m just a human.

「Oh! That’s true! Alright then, please take care of me, Cosmos-san!」

「Aah, please take care of me too… Sun-chan.」

Finally being calmed down, Cosmos showed a soft smile.

Yup. Nice smile. She’s finally started to act normal.

「T-this is kinda embarrassing ain’t it…」

Seeing Cosmos’ shining face, Sun-chan bashfully scratched his head with his right hand.

Hmm I see. Cosmos and Himawari are both women that you would be conscious of. That’s a given isn’t it.

Cosmos is beautiful after all.

After that, the three of us just talked about small things like what to do from now on, just some small talk.

Like that, their ‘first contact’ was a success, and the curtain closed on the first of my chaotic days.

Aah, just thinking about doing this everyday is honestly tiring…

***


Chapter 3 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 3 – Part 4

TL notes

  1. This is a kind of seasonal greeting, like the kind of thing you would put on a letter. I probably butchered it though
  2. Sound effect, uh, kinda like him being unhappy with the situation?? Kinda like tsk
  3. how tf do I translate people talking like a cat?? If anyone has any suggestions drop a comment
  4. she said it without an suffix like -kun

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

9 Comments

  1. Dude ,i really really love your job. Almost nobody translates this. I would like support you somehow , but meanwhile , take my thankful.

    Like

    1. Uh, I don’t know where you heard that from, but I can’t tell you if it’s true or not since I haven’t read much of the story beyond vol 1. I doubt that that happens, but again, I don’t know.

      Like

  2. Glad that you work hard on this. I am really excited about this show, so I did some research to find newer translated chapters. In the end I landed here seeing your translation work. Thank you for your effort, was fun reading this Chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started