Chapter 3 – Part 4 – I really am just an ordinary mob character that you can find anywhere

dont you guys just love procrastinating?


***

 ――The next day.

Aah~ So~ tired. It’s finally lunch time~!

Man since when have I been looking forward to lunch time like this?

Maybe I used to be like this during elementary school, when my favourite meal was being served.

Last night, I was responding to Cosmos’ extremely polite thanks, and this morning I talked with Himawari about the plan from now on.

For the time being, my grip on both of them is OK. …For now.

Himawari… What you did in the morning, I’ll leave it aside for now.

During lunch break, I want to be free from your guys’ troubles.

By the way, those two have told each other about their feelings, but not about what I am doing.

After all that would reveal everything right? There’s no way they would do that.

Well at any rate it’s lunch time.

If I don’t go somewhere else soon, Sun-chan will come.

If Sun-chan comes then Himawari will come.

If Himawari comes then Cosmos will be mad.

In order to not cause that horrible chain of events, I must retreat from the classroom.

However, where should I go?

The cafeteria? Nah, that place is too noisy.

It’s difficult to be alone there. Hearing all the surrounding voices gives me a sharp headache after all.

Therefore, it’s rejected.

How about the rooftop? Nope, that place is the holy land for couples.

Even now I bet there’s a lot of couples going “kya kyaa~ and ufufu” and enjoying their lunch there.

I don’t have the confidence that I can suppress myself if I see that kind of sight.

My negative feelings will run wild, and I have confidence that I will rampage like some purple-coloured, general purpose android called Aon during a decisive battle.1

Therefore, it’s rejected.

Is there anywhere… Aah there is. There’s only one place that I know of…

I re~ally don’t want to go to that place, but compared to the other two options, it’s more quiet than anywhere.

Except there is the demerit of it having a small demon..

But there aren’t any other places I can go to, so I trudgingly headed towards that place.

While walking, I prayed to the heavens with all my might, saying「I hope she isn’t there!」.

***

「Ara, this is rare isn’t it.」

After I opened the door, her voice came from behind me.

After feeling relieved since she wasn’t at the reception desk, I suddenly hated reality.

It’s the demon king with braids, Pansy. Somehow, it seems that my prayers were completely ineffective.

「Why are you here during lunch break?」

I still don’t want to be unnecessarily involved with her. Let’s hurry and escape to the reading area.

…huh? What’s that? There’s an awfully large cardboard box with the am○zon mark on it.

Furthermore it’s been unsealed and is empty.

…Well whatever. Honestly speaking it doesn’t really matter.

Slouching my back, I ignored Pansy who wanted to talk and trudgingly headed towards the reading space.

Footsteps could be heard from behind me. Pansy was following me, but I purposefully didn’t say anything.

After arriving at the reading space, I wearily rested my body on the desk.

「Seriously what’s the matter Jouro-kun? Even though your face usually looks like a slightly spoiled orange peel, today your face looks like a really rotten orange peel.」

Whether or not she noticed my strange state, Pansy took the opportunity to peer into my face while verbally abusing me.

「Sorry. Should I leave you alone for awhile?」

Don’t ask me about every little thing. I don’t have the time to talk with you.

「Ara, then perhaps I should treat you as if you don’t exist as well?」

「It doesn’t matter to me.」

「I understand.」

Listening to just those words, Pansy stood up and left the reading space.

Well isn’t she awfully cooperative today… Then, just for a bit, let’s have a nap shall we?

If its…【plop】gonna be…【plop】quiet then…【slam!】.

「Ugh, heavy! What the hell are you doing!?」

This bastard, when did she come back!? Her presence was literally non-existent!

Also the origin of this “plop, plop, slam” noise is the sound of books being placed down.

While I was trying to take a nap, Pansy was putting books on me one by one.

「I’m using the desk to sort these books. There’s a lot of them so it’s a big problem. Don’t worry I’m just talking to myself.」

This girl, how the hell did she bring such a large amount of books in such a short amount of time?

「Jeez… Don’t do anything weird okay… ack- heavy! I said that’s heavy!」

When I sat down again and tried to nap, I was assaulted by books being pressed on me for a second time. She has no mercy.

「That’s strange. Even though there’s definitely no one here, I can hear a voice. Am I hearing things?」

「Uh… Excuse me, you should think of me as a living thing while you’re not ignoring me don’t you think?」

「No way.」

「Why are you not leaving me alone I wonder?」

「You’re the one who said it was okay to treat you as if you’re not there right? What a silly goose.」

Pansyyyyyyy!

「Uhh~ Sanshokuin-san.」

「Sumireko is fine.」

Don’t stare at me while you adjust your glasses.

Remember what else you said when you agreed to my demand earlier.

「No, Sanshokuin-san.」

「…What a meanie.」

「You see, right now, I’m very tired. Thats why I’d like some alone time to relax but…」

「Its because you were helping your childhood friend in the morning and the student council president after school with their love lives right? I guess you would be tired after that.」

「…eh?」

What did she just say just now?

「I understand. I won’t tell your secret to Ooga-kun, but try to do your best okay.」

Saying that, Pansy stood up, turned around, and started to walk away.

「Waaaait a minuteeee!?」

Letting out a loud voice, I followed behind Pansy in panic and firmly grabbed her shoulder with all my strength.

I really think that it’s great that no one else was in the library. I let out such a loud voice after all.

Pansy turned towards me and stared at me with her usual blank expression on her face.

「How do, you know about that?」

「Know about what?」

「That’s, uhm… What you were saying earlier…」

「I don’t like people who don’t speak clearly.」

She had a somewhat sulky expression while saying that. I’m the one who wants to get angry though.

「I don’t care if you hate me but this is completely out of the question.」

「That’s cruel. I can’t be a wife now.」

「Is that all you know?」

「What do you mean I wonder?」

She adjusted her glasses a second time. My fear started to rise.

「No uh, how do you know about the matter with Himawari and Cosmos…」

「Aah that. If I’m not mistaken, Akino-senpai consulted you on Saturday, and Hinata-san consulted you right?」

「Even those details?」

「It’s easy talk you know.」

「y-yeah…」

Feeling fear from hearing Pansy’s indifferent voice, I turned my gaze away immediately.

And then, I was able to see Pansy’s reflection in the window, she was looking down while tightly gripping on the hem of her skirt. Is she… nervous?

「I, am stalking you!」

……what?

The moment I heard that,「I, am stalking you!」echoed in my head.

She surely said that line while being nervous but… That’s not it right?

Why is Pansy stalking me? I don’t understand the meaning of it…

No but, I did understand one dangerous thing. This is a swamp. Moreover it’s a bottomless swamp.

It’s a dangerous swamp where once you fall in, you’re whole body will be surrounded while you try to get out and you’ll die from suffocation.

Alright, let’s run. Let’s run ASAP. It’s problematic if I hear more than this.

「I-is that so! You’re stalking me! There’s no helping it! Then, that’s that!」

I lifted up my hand, turned around, and immediately started to speed-walk away.

I should run. I should run. I should run.

「If you run away, then I’ll have to tell everyone about this right?」

I shouldn’t run. I shouldn’t run. I shouldn’t run.

When I glanced behind me, there was one apostle beckoning me.

Someone… Give me sincerity.

「Little doggie, come over here.」

I can really understand the feelings of a criminal sentenced to death being brought to death row.

I wonder how painful not retaliating against this hopelessness will feel…

I headed back towards where Pansy was with my shoulders hanging down dejectedly.

Why is it always her… Always…

「Jouro-kun.」

When the death god called my name, she quickly took some distance and sat down on a certain thing.

「…eh?」

The moment I looked closely, I froze up.

This is a library. This isn’t outside. This is a place where people come to read or borrow books. Nothing more, nothing less.

Then why is there… a bench here?

「I bought it online. The reviews said it was very comfortable and people commented that they love it. Also it was 648〇yen2.」

That kind of thing, I didn’t ask about it at all?

「Uhm… First off, could you sit next to me?」

Or rather, this situation… n-no way…!

This is bad. If this is the case then the thing she’s definitely going to say is――

「If you don’t sit down, I might say various things.」

「Yes. Understood.」

There’s no use in arguing about it, it’s surely that. Following Pansy’s instructions I sat down with a grim resolve.

With minimal resistance, I sat down on Pansy’s left side.

But, even though I did what she wanted, Pansy did not continue talking.

There’s no doubt! It’s that! It’s happening again!

Pansy’s gaze was swimming around suspiciously, and she was playing with her hair kind of happily.

It’s only scary and not cute at all.

「Uhm… Fuu…3

Don’t exhale sweetly like that. It’s disgusting.

「To tell you the truth, I have a person that I like.」

Yes, yes. I know, I know. It’s Sun-chan, it’s Sun-chan.

I know you know? You were stalking me and know an awful lot about me but it’s Sun-chan isn’t it? I understand. I get it already so relax and say it.

「When I think of that person, my chest feels painful, and everyday when I meet them I am really happy. That’s why, I think it’s selfish but, I make up excuses for us to meet…」

Wow~. Is that so~. I, am so surprised~.

Now that you mention it, she would be peeking into our classroom every once in a while. Probably looking at Sun-chan in secret right? When I walk out into the hallway, she comes to talk to me because she likes Sun-chan right?

Jeez this girl, she’s so bold~. Really, what a bold girl~.

「I…」

And then, Pansy’s face started to draw in closer. Slowly, but surely.

This is definitely the expression of a maiden in love. What a terrifying face. More terrifying than Acala.4

And then, when she was close enough for us to feel each other’s breaths, Pansy opened her eyes.

Sun-chan! Come hereeee!

「I like you Jouro!」

…You were suppose to say Sun-chan there! Why is that the only difference! Why did you do a completely standard event like this? You’re different from Himawari! You didn’t say Sun-chan but it felt like Sun-chan was going to be said!

「With that――」

「Okay! It’s okay for you to not tell everyone!」

Because I didn’t want to hear anything more, I somehow interrupted Pansy’s words with a shout.

That’s enough! Because my stomach is full! Seriously, please give me a break!

Displeasure oozed onto Pansy’s face in response to my lamenting face.

「That way of talking… I hate it.」

Huh? What is she saying?

「I like the real you.」

Pansy glances at me with a smile, swinging her braids.

The real me? The real me is that huh?

Not my fake persona but this me right here. But should I really let out my bastard persona out right now and ruin the good mood?

「That’s right.」

Oi, don’t just naturally read my inner thoughts.

「Uh, uhm, Sanshokuin-san.」

「If you keep speaking like that, then I might expose everything?」

「Ugu!」5

Pansy raises the ends of her lips slightly with mischievous eyes.

This is regrettable. Even though it would be lovely if a beautiful girl was doing it. No, I honestly didn’t even notice――

「I want to talk to Hyde.」

While saying that, Pansy showed me a book called『Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde』.6

This girl… She seriously figured me out…

Or rather, saying that she likes me, I regrettably think that she’s insane. (Well I thought that since awhile ago but).

This is bad… I’m completely at a loss.

She knows about both my current situation and my real personality. I can’t go against whatever she demands of me.

No, let’s oppose her if it comes down to my life.

Alright, that’s enough. I’ve decided.

「…What’s your objective?」

After I switched to my original way of speaking, Pansy’s face was overflowing with brightness and she showed off a big smile.

「Gross! Oww!」

At the same time I said that, she stomped on my foot with incredible speed.

「I think being too honest is not good.」

I think that using violence is not good.

「My objective right?」

「Oww… That’s right. Let me just say this, I don’t plan on ever going out with you.」

「Me too.」

「Hah? You said you like me didn’t you?」

「That’s right.」

Pansy affirmed my questions with an awfully clear tone.

「If that’s the case, then don’t you want to go out with me, kiss me, and do… other things?」

「You get a point for not saying sex.」

「Hey, do you know the word “Oblaat”? Even though this is harsh of me to say, you don’t know the meaning of it right?」

「That’s not the case. But, I just wanted to let you know.」

「What are you gonna do after informing me?」

「…Ha!」

「Are you not thinking!?」

Pansy turned away from me after I hit the bull’s-eye.

What’s been up with this girl since earlier!? Was she always this thoughtless!?

「I thought about what to do after.」

「So quick!」

Pansy pointed towards the ceiling with her index finger. I could see that her cheeks were slightly dyed a vermilion colour.

「It’s a really wonderful thing.」

「If I don’t like it can I say that I don’t like it?」

「It doesn’t matter.」

「ehh…」

「Jouro-kun, you’re together with Hinata-san in the morning and Akino-senpai after school right? Then, come here during lunch and chat together with me.」

Pansy slightly twisted her body and pointed towards the reading space.

「No way.」

「That’s not an answer.」

「You said that I could say I don’t like it right?」

「I didn’t give you permission.」

「Y-you!」

「I think there’s some pros in this for you. If it’s here then you can spend your time peacefully, and you won’t hear anyone else. Just from that alone, it’s lovely isn’t it?」

Certainly, as far as this place is concerned, it’s exactly as Pansy says. Honestly speaking, no one comes here during lunch time. Also, there’s one more secret advantage.

「Besides, it’s a good place to hide isn’t it?」

Exactly. There’s a lot of places to hide in this library. Under the tables, between the bookshelves, etc. If some troublesome people come here I can immediately hide.

「Well, that’s true but, you being here is a huge minus.」

「You hate me don’t you.」

「Yeah. Quite a lot.」

「I like people who don’t lie.」

「I also share the same opinion.」

「We share mutual love right?」

「Isn’t that thinking too positive!?」

「Am I wrong?」

Pansy stared at me in puzzlement and tilted her neck, cause my frustration to become stronger.

「Completely wrong! Let me just say this, I say I want to kiss you or anything with that kind of emotion, because I’m not a chad!」

「Same here… It’s mutual love.」

「Don’t say it again!」

「Lunch time is about to end. See you tomorrow.」

「Ah, hey!」

Pansy got up from the bench and grabbed her things.

And then, while she was in the middle of heading towards the library entrance, she suddenly stopped walking.

「…Even though things ended up like this, it was super embarrassing.」

After saying those final words, Pansy hurriedly left the library.

Haa… Why did this happen? Why… More than anything, why was it you?

Cosmos is hopeless. Himawari is also hopeless.

In my own way, I’ve endured various things. I’ve been doing my best trying to be liked by everyone.

Even though I tried so hard…

Are you the only one who loves me?…


Chapter 3 – Part 3 | Index | Chapter 4 – Part 1

TL notes

  1. I have no idea what Aon references, and also may have translated it wrong RAW: アオーン
  2. not a zero, its a blank character
  3. she exhaled, in case you don’t remember this ‘fuu’
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acala
  5. I don’t know how to translate this sound. RAW: うぐ!
  6. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strange_Case_of_Dr_Jekyll_and_Mr_Hyde
  7. RAW: オブラート (Oblaat) Putting this into google gives me something about the thin, edible layer of starch used to wrap some candies and pharmaceuticals, which I’m not sure if it’s what is meant here or not.

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

12 Comments

  1. I can’t seem to comment on chapter 4 part 1 for some reason so I’ll say it here. For the second footnote, I’m pretty sure it’s a full metal alchemist reference since, in that, they put their hands together and then start transmuting, and you need materials equivalent to what you’re trying to do with alchemy for it to work. But in any case, thanks for the new part

    Like

    1. Hmm I see. I haven’t watched/read full metal yet (blasphemy I know) so if it actually is a FMA reference then that would make sense. Thanks for reading.

      Like

    1. Hahaha that’s what everyone tells me. Trust me it’s been on my watchlist for awhile but I haven’t had the time/motivation to get through that list

      Like

  2. I am a youtuber called KIWI and I was planning to make a translation of this novel but into Spanish. would you like to work with us? we would pay you

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started