Chapter 4 – Part 1 – The demise I wanted


ahhhh im so ded right now


After today’s various business (mainly related to Cosmos and Himawari) finished, I was thinking alone in my room.

In my simple and plain room, there’s nothing that you would say stands out.

Besides the bare minimum amount of furniture and my computer, I just have a little bit of manga.

Well, putting that aside, let me briefly explain the situation.

I’ll start by going over everything that’s happened so far.

First off, I began to help Himawari and Cosmos with their love lives. Both of them are in love with the same guy, Sun-chan, who is my best friend and also the baseball club’s ace. I’m helping them in order to fulfill their desire of going out with him, and while I’m at it, create a nice relationship with the one that’s not chosen since there’s two of them hehehe.

This is already good enough. Though there are a few irritating things that I also have to accept in the story.

The problem is the second point. Pansy confessed to me.

In addition to that, she also knows about my secret personality, and the fact that I’m helping the other two with their love lives. What an extremely troublesome existence.

But, she hasn’t done anything cruel so far which is surprising.

The only thing that she’s asked, is for me to spend time with her during lunch break.

What’s her objective? Did she think she’ll appear in less scenes if things kept going the way they were and decided to take action?

If that’s the case, I’ll somehow make more time for scenes in the library so I wish you would give me a break.

As a result of all this, my days are like this,

In the morning… Himawari.

During lunch…. Pansy (cursed).

In the evening… Cosmos.

With a schedule that looks like something from a galge’s1 harem route, that’s how I spend my days.

Let me summarize this situation in a simple manner.

『Himawari & Cosmos → (likes) → Sun-chan』and 『Pansy → (likes) → Me』

…Well. It’s true I had a feeling that’s how things were.

After all, even though there are 3 flowers in the spotlight, I don’t think that none of them wouldn’t come to be involved with me.

But, she went ahead and said it didn’t she.

It would’ve been good if she said “I also like Ooga-kun” and formed a 3-way battle plot development.

『Himawari, Cosmos, & Pansy → (likes) → Sun-chan』and『Me』should be how it goes right?

More than anything, only one of them (disappointing) likes me…

Now then, that’s all for my explanation. I need to start thinking about the next thing, what I’m going to be doing from now on.

Let’s not think about the matter with Pansy. Just thinking about it will make my mind easily collapse.

And so, we have the matter with Himawari and Cosmos.

As for those two, I will have to properly support them so that everything ends up decently.

Based on yesterday and the day before, I could understand that very well.

The day before yesterday, I provided them my support and both of them managed to make a nice atmosphere with Sun-chan, but yesterday I decided to try a wait-and-see approach and see how things go without me (of course, I told both of them in advance) and didn’t say anything.

And so, how’d it go? It was awful. It was seriously awful.

People entangled in love affairs going that far and becoming horrible is even kinda appalling.

While catching glimpses of the dark sides of these girls, I was disillusioned. (Because I’m the one that held ideals in regards to those two, this is a real pain isn’t it).

From here I’ll talk about what happened yesterday morning as well as what happened after school.

What happened during lunch was told during an earlier chapter right? That should be enough so seriously, please give me a break!

…Well then, first is Himawari’s story.

***

By the time I entered the classroom, Himawari and Sun-chan were already talking to each other.

Himawari’s objective today is,『Skin-ship with Sun-chan』.

Because yesterday was such a big failure, I told her she has to accomplish this for sure today.

While I was encouraging her by saying “You can do it with me, so you can also do it with Sun-chan”, she responded with “That’s right! It’s better if I think of it like hugging a stick! As expected of you Jouro!”

It seems like I’m just like a stick to Himawari. So today I’m just gonna act like a stick.

If anything happens I definitely won’t help out. My heart is firmly decided on this.

「Hahaha! You’re also funny today too Himawari!」

「Eheheー! Thanks!」

Sun-chan and Himawari are getting excited over some topic.

When that conversation settled down, Himawari was just a step away from Sun-chan.

Oh, she finally decided to carry out her plan of having body contact hasn’t she.

Himawari gradually spread her arms out, swallowing her saliva with a gulping noise.

「Oh, what’s wrong Himawari?」

「…!」

No, it’s bad if you are surprised like that you know? If the person you’re talking to suddenly starts to spread their arms of course you’d say that right?

Ah, here it is. She noticed that she had to do something.

*Slap!* With a pose that looks like something from a training drill, she joined both of her hands together above her head.

And, what are you gonna do from there? You don’t have any materials for an equal exchange right?2

「O, o… One gnocchi​3!」

Himawari-chan, if you continue like that you’ll stretch upwards you know~? Eventually you’ll become a drill and pierce the heavens you know~?

「Uhh, Himawari… Is that a bamboo shoot? What’s the matter all of a sudden?」

Sun-chan is troubled you know~? That’s right~. Of course he would be~.

「Um… uh… uhm you see, I, love bamboo shoots! Would you like to go together to get some?」

Staying in her drill pose, Himawari was wiggling her body around as she said that. It seems like it’s hard to have a heavenly breakthrough.4

「S-sure…」

I’m amazed. I’m completely amazed. With Himawari that is.

I was amazed since I saw Sun-chan make a weirded out face for the first time ever.

「Ah, ahh…」

Himawari looked over at me, and used her teary eyes to appeal to me. Give me a break, go back to being a drill.

『I request assistance』

Of course you would. But, today I already told you earlier right?

『I worked hard on my own』

Okay. That’s it. I am a stick.

「T-that’s right. I don’t really get it but, you want to go eat bamboo shoots right? If that’s the case, I have time before club so we can go then!」

Hearing that, Himawari’s eyes narrowed. They are remarkably sharp aren’t they.

「Why, is after club no good?」

Her ability to infer things is terrifying. She was able to sniff out Cosmos’ plan in the blink of an eye.

From a glance, it looks like the attitude of a mother, who doesn’t understand the reason, scolding her kid but, this is different.

Black Himawari has descended.

The same Himawari that appeared when I told her that Cosmos also likes Sun-chan.

The tone of her voice clearly gets lower and it’s scarier than anything.

Oi oi, I know the situation so I’m okay but, it’s bad if you show that attitude to Sun-chan you know.

Look see, hasn’t he become scared of you? Look he’s starting to sweat a lot isn’t he?

「N-no… You see, after club I’ll be spending some time talking with Cosmos-san so that’s why!」

「What’s, with that?」

Uwaa! She tilted and bent her neck to the side! Her eyes are open and steady, she’s not blinking.

It’s that. This is very yandere5. There’s no doubt about it.

Seeing it in front of my eyes, it’s actually a really frightening behaviour huh?

By the way, she bent and turned her heads toward to look in my direction.

We only shared eye contact and didn’t say anything, but I could immediately understand.

『What’s this about?』

But, I can’t be a little scaredy cat here. I should definitely tell Himawari about it.

I’ll also help out Cosmos later too.

『It’s what you think』

While trying to calm myself down after getting scared, I told her with the best of my ability. Through eye contact.

「I am also going.」

「Huuh?」

「That’s, I am also going!」

「Oi oi, what’s up with you all of a sudden Himawari?」

Well, if Himawari found out then this is how things would end up. That’s the reason why I didn’t say anything earlier.

Sun-chan also flinched at her declaration. Himawari is a tough enemy when she’s in her spoiled kid mode.

By the way, as for me, whenever Himawari demanded something like this I was never once able to refuse her.

「I’m coming along! I’m also coming along! Why do you want to be with that bitch anyways!」

「That… bitch?」

Hearing that, the colour of Sun-chan’s eyes changed.

Himawari you idiot, this is another failure. Jeez, don’t you know not to say something like that?

As I expected, Sun-chan quickly took some distance from Himawari.

「I’m sorry Himawari but, you can’t come with us.」

「!」

Well, of course that would happen. Speaking bad about others around Sun-chan is a taboo.

「You see, I still don’t know Cosmos’ side of the story and I might not know your side of the story, but since you’re calling her that (bitch), I’m guessing you guys don’t really get along? Why should I bring along someone who doesn’t get along?」

「Uuu!」

「And so I refuse. We can go get bamboo shoots some other time.」

Saying that, Sun-chan turned his back towards Himawari and waved his hand while he left that area and started talking to his other friends.

Ah, but they will go out to get bamboo shoots huh?

I was sure that he would be angry for a little while and not listen to what she says but, it seems like everything is fine.

However, this is the worst outcome isn’t it. Sun-chan’s favourability with Himawari has fallen by 5 points.

After that Himawari looked at me with teary eyes and asked me『what should I do?』 through eye contact, but I turned away to dodge the question. After all, I don’t even know what would be good to do after that.

…Anyways moving on, next is Cosmos-san’s story.

***

After school, at the front gates.

Cosmos and I waited in the student council room until Sun-chan called.

That’s what we did when we went to that burger shop together.

Until the time Sun-chan comes, Cosmos reread her favourite pink notebook countless times, as if she was an actor memorizing their lines through repetitive reading and saying them out loud.

The reason for that is Cosmos’ objective for today,『Speak with Sun-chan naturally』.

Yesterday she was at her wit’s end so, I pointed out that she should fix that first.

While I was trying to give her advice, I told her “I think that you can talk more naturally if you imagine you’re talking to me”, to try to make her feel better, and she naturally responded with “I see! If I try imagining I’m talking to a stick, then I can talk more naturally!”

In the eyes of Cosmos as well, I am just like a stick. My flames of anger are getting fired up.

If anything happens I definitely won’t help you out. That’s what my heart has decided.

「Thanks for waiting!」

Oh, compared to the seasonal greeting last time, this is way better. You can actually do it huh?

「Cosmos-san, I’m a year younger than you so please stop with the politeness.6

「I-I see, then I won’t be pfholite as chuu wish!」

Carelessness should be avoided. She didn’t say a seasonal greeting but, Cosmos ended up talking in her special Cosmos-dialect.

「Hahaha, Cosmos-san is funny.」

Well in reality, she’s probably just nervous still.

「Speaking of which, Cosmos-san, I have something I’d like to ask you.」

「W-what’s up? A-ask me anything! I’m prepared for anything!」

「Prepared? Uhh, I was going to ask about your hobbies?」

「M-me!? T-that’s…」

Trying to be as natural as possible, but ending up extremely unnatural, Cosmos continued on, mumbling her words.

「That’s… I didn’t prepare for that!」

Just do it! You can answer something like that can’t you!? If you can’t then I’d be worried!

And so, the troubled girl expressed herself through eye contact. Let’s see, what do we have here?

『What should I respond with?』

You want to ask me for help with that huh? Are you a spoiled child or something?

『An answer that he will like please』

Do you best, Cosmos. This stick is busy burning in the fires of anger.

「…U-uhm, I like cooking I guess! I-it may not look like it, but that’s one of my strong points!」

No, no matter how I look at you that’s an obvious point.

On the other hand, if you were actually bad at it then it would be a scam you know. Kinda gap moe7 though.

「Ehhhー. That’s cool! I would love to try your food if I ever get the chance!」

「R-really!? Then I’ll make something for next time!」

「Uwa! Seriously!? I’m so happyー!」

Oh, different from Himawari, she’s made a very nice development here. I guess this means Cosmos is in the lead?

「T-then! Is it okay if I make something whenever?」

I understand you’re excited but don’t take your notebook out.

「Anytime is fine. I’ll leave it up to you Cosmos-san.」

「U-understood! Then, I’ll make something for lunch tomorrow!」

Well that developed rapidly. Cosmos is gonna take a larger lead over Himawari at this rate.

Being considerably happy, Cosmos’ face loosened up.

Even though I’m angry, she’s still cute isn’t she?

「Roger that! Please and thank you!」

「Aah, leave it to me!」

「Ah, then, there’s one more request I have but…」

「A request? What is it?」

「Is it okay for me to invite a friend of mine for tomorrow? It’s just Himawari though.」

「Hima…wari?」

Uh oh! An unexpected reply came from Sun-chan!

At any rate, why did he bring up Himawari here? He should understand that Himawari and Cosmos don’t really like each other right? Why would he try to invite her?

「This morning, she said she wanted to eat some bamboo shoots. So I was thinking that I might as well invite her tomorrow to eat together with us!」

No way don’t tell me the effects of bamboo shoots are activating now. Seriously…? Here is a bamboo shoot.

You’ve activated my trap card「Bamboo Shoot」.8

It’s effect is… No, thinking about that more is unnecessary.

「Also, I think this would be a good opportunity for the both of you to get along better!」

「N-no, me and Himawari have quite different physiques… Our heights are a little…」

Cosmos-cha~n. Unreasonable~. That’s unreasonable you know~. It’ll be painful~.

「No it’s different. It’s bamboo shoots.」

Sun-chan is ending it with a reversal~. So upright~.

「If the 3 of us eat together, then it’ll be more fun… What do you think?」

Aah, you’re trying to make the two of them get along huh? Sun-chan is unexpectedly effective.

But, for someone who knows the situation like me, this is definitely not good.

The main cause of their bad relationship is you after all (Not saying that Sun-chan is bad).

「That’s… I also wonder about that?」

It came out here too! Dark Cosmos! Black Himawari is also scary but, Dark Cosmos is scarier. Wait this pattern… I can somewhat picture what’s about to happen but…

And then, her neck bent and her eye contact came flying at me.

『What’s the meaning of this?』

She’s seriously scary…

But, I need to calm down. If it’s the same situation as Himawari then I naturally know what the result will be right?

『It’s as he said』

Ah, this is bad. The result is gonna be a bad one. Well, whatever. Fall down Cosmos.

「Uhm, is it not okay?」

「No, it’s fine. Good even. Himawari-san was it? You can invite that little girl9.」

「Little… girl?」

Look see, I knew it. This is a failure. Cosmos also failed today.

What’s with these guys? Are they actually good friends and meet up often or something?

It’s the natural result but, Sun-chan took a step away from Cosmos and looked at her with cold eyes.

「You know what, tomorrow’s lunch is fine.」

「Ah!」

Cosmos noticed her own blunder right? At least it seems like she did.

Sun-chan is a straightforward person so he’ll extremely dislike the type of person who bad mouths others.

「I, don’t know what’s going on between Cosmos-san and Himawari. But, I understand that you don’t have a good impression of Himawari. And so, I think that it won’t be fun if we ate together.」

「Ah… Uhm…」

Looking for a way to somehow restore Sun-chan’s mood, Cosmos moved around hastily.

However, she didn’t prepare for that did she? She couldn’t continue with her words at all.

「I’ll excuse myself here for today. I look forward to the next chance I can get for a lunch.」

He didn’t forget to ensure the lunch I see. Unexpectedly, Sun-chan is shrewd isn’t he.

However if that’s the case, it seems like that’s not the end of this relationship.

Just from that alone I guess you can say it’s fortunate right?

Well, he turned his back towards us and started heading home. Don’t mind it.

Cosmos remained there standing still, her hopeless eyes looking at Sun-chan’s back until she couldn’t see it anymore. That open mouthed expression is most appropriate.

Huh? Have I seen that face somewhere before…?

Ah, it’s that. A haniwa10. It looks like some regional character from somewhere, but with a very unfortunate face.

And then, after Sun-chan’s figure could not be seen anymore, she stared at me in her haniwa state and asked,

「Wh-what should I do?」

Talking to that face of yours, I also wondered “What should you do?”

So, you can ask me all sorts of things and I’ll listen to you.

***


Chapter 3 – Part 4 | Index | Chapter 4 – Part 2


TL notes

  1. gal game
  2. This is a literal TL, I am not sure if there is some other meaning to the phrase overall but :shrug: – RAW: 等価交換の材料、ないよね?
  3. Gnocchi – is a type of pasta, looks really good
  4. could be a reference to Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann but I never watched that show so :shrug:
  5. I’m sure y’all have an idea about what a yandere is but for those who don’t.
  6. He wants her to stop using keigo (敬語) which is like very formal, polite speech.
  7. gap moe – when someone does something that doesn’t fit their character and it makes them or likable or something like that
  8. I’m pretty sure this is a yugioh reference but I could be wrong – RAW: リバースカードオープン 「タケノコ」 発動しちゃったよ。
  9. she means it in a rude way
  10. Haniwa are old japanese terracotta clay figures that used to be buried with the dead long ago somewhere in Japan. Jouro is probably thinking of one that looks like this

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started