Chapter 4 – Part 2 – The demise I wanted


its that time of year that everyone loves again- finals season~ hopefully I can finish chapter 4 before 2020 lol


***

That’s what happened in the morning and after school.

Do you get it? This is a hopeless situation. As soon as I don’t say anything, this is what happens.

In the first place, those two are way too impulsive. As soon as they hear the name of their rival, they make a blatantly disgusted face afterwards. I can only see an end where both of them get rejected.

No, wait a sec. Isn’t this my chance?

Couldn’t I pick up both of them? Could this be where a reversal happens and I get a harem ending!?1

And, while I was thinking about that, I got a message on my smartphone.

『That would never happen.』

Huh? It’s not from anyone on my contacts. Who is this guy?

Let’s see here… JoroisminebySumireko@doco… wait a sec, isn’t this Pansy…?

『Correct.』

「Aaaiiiee!」2

She’s really stalking me! My contact information was found out!

Furthermore, I was only thinking, but the message had very good timing! That’s really scary!

C-calm down me… Let’s not forget to fix my breathing right now. Hee-hee-hoo, Hee-hee-hoo… Alright.

I gently turned my phone off, plopped onto my bed and entrusted my body to my bed.

While looking at the view of nothingness that is my ceiling, I reflected on what happened today and tried to think a little about my feelings.

Initially, I planned on hooking up Sun-chan with one of them, and then there would be one left for me to date.

But, I understand myself very well, and I’m already almost losing my motivation for that plan.

Well you see, their faces are good. Honestly, their personalities are also not bad.

But unfortunately, they abuse their power too much.

I wonder if Sun-chan will face hardships going out with either of them or not?

Sun-chan is a good guy after all, I don’t really want him to face any hardships.

Hmm… No that’s enough, let’s stop thinking about it.

Those girls have a lot of good points about them after all, if they go out with Sun-chan they will properly be considerate. You can even take my word for it! That’s right! I’m helping those two!

I promised to after all, worrying about it any more would be tasteless.

***

「You see, I was thinking of inviting Sun-chan out on a date!」

「A date?」

「Thats right, a date!」

Very early in the morning on our way to school, I was speechless after hearing the first thing that came out of Himawari’s mouth.

This girl, what the heck is she saying?

Yesterday, didn’t you make Sun-chan angry with your improper words?

You should be thinking about how to recover from that first right?

「And so you see, I went thought up a plan!」

Oh, but this is rare. If you properly thought about it yourself then I guess I’ll hear you out.

「What is it?」

「Jyaa-Jyaa~n!」

Himawari made her own sound effects and pulled out two tickets from her bag.

「Those are… movie tickets right?」

「Yup!」

「You want to go with Sun-chan to the movies?」

「That’s exactly it! As expected of you Jouro! Immediately figuring it out like that!」

No if anything, I don’t know anyone who wouldn’t understand from the conversation we just had and seeing those tickets being shaken around.

What other answers could there have been? Her wanting to go together with me? No way.

「Then, you’re going to use those tickets to invite Sun-chan out right?」

「Well you see, I have a request for you Jouro!」

「A request?」

「Yup! In order for me and Sun-chan go to the movies together!」

「Uhh, what will I do…?」

「You will」

She deserves to be praised for preparing those movie tickets herself but, there’s no way she’s going to leave inviting him to me right?

Regardless of how I think about it, she’s definitely going to invite him.

「You’re going to try to invite him yourself?」

「Ehh~No way~!」

Ehh~Are you an idiot~?

「But you know…」

Himawari made a seemingly blatant face of dislike and wrapped her arm around my arm.

I could feel something soft touching my arm, but the person in question didn’t seem to notice.

Without any bashfulness and eyes like those of a spoiled child, she stared at my face.

「Hey Jouro~, pretty please~」

Bitch! Bitchier! Bitchiest!

To make me use the “3-Stage Bitch Conjugation”… This airhead, she doesn’t know her limit.

「Jouro, you’re definitely better! You two are very good friends after all!」

Oh, is that so? Yup, it’s true that me and Sun-chan are pretty good friends. That’s right. We’re really good friends!

Do you understand Himawari? Yes, it’s exactly like that!

Me and Sun-chan are close friends after all! If you say that then there’s no helping it!

Hearing this, I, who is Sun-chan’s close friend, will pitch in and help you!

「Then lets do this.」

Thus, I told her my plan.

First, Himawari will invite me to the movie in front of Sun-chan. At this time, we’ll talk as loud as we can so that our surroundings can hear us. In that situation, we should definitely get Sun-chan’s interest and he’ll come over.

All of that is Himawari’s job. From there on, it’s my job. When Sun-chan joins in on the conversation, I need to act like I already had plans on that day so that I can ask him to go in my stead.

Sun-chan is a good guy. With this, since it’s not something very big he’ll go I think.

Even I thought that we were doing something unusually cheeky but, I couldn’t think of any other plan, and since Himawari also happily said “That’s good. As expected of Jouro”, it’s good enough I think.

Now, let this plan immediately commence.

***

Entering the classroom and taking a look around, Sun-chan was already there.

Himawari more or less was still thinking about yesterday’s matter, so she wasn’t talking to Sun-chan.

The moment that I sat down in my seat, I signaled Himawari using my eyes.

And then, it seems like she properly noticed me. Himawari resolutely headed in my direction.

「Hey Jouroー let’s go see this movieー」

This is awful. Truly awful. Throughout the classroom you could hear her monotone voice reciting her line. She’s doesn’t have a shred of acting ability.

To begin with, the conversation started too suddenly. At the very least, say a greeting and then invite me.

「I told you already didn’t I? I’ve already got plans on Saturday.」

Wait something like this, it seems like even Sun-chan wouldn’t be affected by it…

「Oiii, you guys, what are you talking about?」

Ah, he came. That’s crazy. I know it was my own plan but, I definitely thought he wouldn’t come.

But well, we were prepared for if he came. Like this, we can proceed to continue with our plan.

「Ah Sun-chan listen to thisー Jouro isn’t coming with meー」

At least use some punctuation. Also, while I’m at it, you omitted the most important word “Movie” from your sentence.

「Uhh… What are she talking about?」

Sun-chan made a questioning expression and turned towards me and asked that.

Well of course he would. At times like these, rather than asking Himawari, I’m a more reliable person to ask.

I glanced at Himawari who made a pose behind Sun-chan as if she was saying “I leave the rest to you”. She even had a self-satisfied look on her face. I guess she wants to tell me to follow her up properly?

「Well you see, Himawari got her hands on two tickets for a movie and it looks like she wants to go on Saturday, but I’ve already got plans on that day you see…」

「Hmm~ if that’s the case then is it okay if I go?」

「「Really!?」」

Unintentionally, we said the same thing in unison.

What an unexpected development. I never thought that Sun-chan would invite himself.

「Y-yeah… Come on, we were talking about it the other day. If Himawari is okay with that of course.」

「Totally! I’m totally okay with that! If anything it’s welcomed!」

Nice job conversation from two days ago! This is a pleasant miscalculation.

「I-is that so! Then, this Saturday we’re going to the movies together Himawari!」

「Yup! Alright~! Sun-chan, you can’t be late okay!」

「Yeah! Leave it to me! I’m just gonna say it now Himawari, I’m the kind of man who’s absolutely never late.」

「Oohー that’s very reliable. I’ll believe in those words!」

「That’s good!」

Himawari’s excitement was at it’s peak.

No one thought that Sun-chan would unexpectedly invite himself like that right? I also thought that too.

However, it seems as though Sun-chan isn’t minding what happened yesterday.

Is he already not angry about it? Generally, even if someone doesn’t get mad they would still keep some distance for about a day or so but, well, to each their own I guess.

「Then, here! This is your ticket!」

Himawari cheerfully handed over the ticket she prepared.

「Heehh~ “Meat・Wars~ Awakening of the Beef~”, huh? It seems interesting!」

What a crazy movie title. What kind of movie choice is this. If it were me, I wouldn’t watch it.

「Ah! The lead role of this movie is played by Jojoen Skywalker!」

He’s actually real!? Jojoen Skywalkerrrr!

***

Now then, it’s time for today’s climax… It’s now lunch time.

Just as I promised yesterday, I headed towards the library.

I really, really, don’t want to go but if I don’t go, I don’t know what she will do.

The thing with Himawari and Cosmos is depressing but this is more depressing than that.

As I entered the library and continued to walk, Pansy stood up from the reception desk and followed me.

And then, as soon as I sat down in the in the inner reading space, Pansy sat down right next to me.

The reason why she is here in the reading space and not at the reception desk is simple. なぜ受付ではなく、 読書スぺースなのかという理由は簡単。

The reception desk is right next to the entrance. The reading space isn’t since it’s quite far in.

Therefore, if anyone came here by chance, at that time rather than being found we would be able to hide here.

「I’m happy you came.」

「………..」

While peering into my face, Pansy said that. Of course, I am ignoring her.

「Hello.」

「……….」

I like big-breasted, beautiful babes, not flat-chested girls. So of course, I’m ignoring her.

「I’ll be lonely if you don’t talk to me~」

「What do you want to talk about?」

I turned my eyes full of unpleasant feelings towards Pansy’s slightly depressed voice.

「Anything is fine~」

「There’s nothing to talk about.」

「That is troublesome~」

「It’s only troublesome for you.」

Then, Pansy started playing around with her braids while making a thinking gesture.

And it seems like she thought of something. Hitting her hands together with a slap, only her mouth moved.

「Then, I want you to tell me how you’re helping those two out~」

「What will you do after hearing that?」

「I might somehow get familiar with their power right?」

What’s with this girl? Making an awfully delightful face like that, is she actually trying to help me out?

…No, I can’t trust this girl that easily. I won’t forgive her for all the various times she’s wronged me.

But, because I’m scared of what will happen if I don’t say anything, let’s just be obedient and yield to her request.

「It’s not really anything big you know. Basically, I’m only trying to close the distance between those two and Sun-chan. Yesterday, those two made Sun-chan angry so I was thinking today would be spent on recovery but, it seems like Sun-chan is somehow not angry. That really put me at ease.」

That’s right. Based on what I saw this morning, Sun-chan isn’t minding what happened yesterday.

In order to more or less confirm this, I also asked him about what happened after school yesterday, and he said “Of course it’s fine” in a composed manner. It seems like he’s not mad with Cosmos either. As expected of my best friend, he’s a tolerant person.

「You’re a small bowl.」3

I won’t allude to this girl’s extrasensory abilities anymore.

If I minded every single little thing she says, then afterwards this talk would just be filled with retorts.

「Hey, I thought about it a little but…」

「What is it?」

「…You know what, nevermind it’s nothing~」

「Huh?」

I thought that Pansy was going to say something but, in the middle of talking she stopped and tilted her head to the side.

「What is it? If you have something you want to say then say it clearly.」

「By the way, there’s something that I’m concerned about.」

「Oi, don’t just suddenly change the subject. And? What is it? This time say it properly.」

「About Ooga-kun, does he have someone he likes I wonder?」

「…Ah!」

That’s right. That’s right! I forgot about that possibility!

If Sun-chan does have someone that he likes then that would be troubling. Suppose he did have someone he liked, then in the case of Himawari or Cosmos, it would be problematic. And also, if it turned out that he actually has a girlfriend or something then things would get even more problematic.

No but, the possibility of him having a girlfriend is low I think. If he did then he definitely wouldn’t hang out with Himawari or Cosmos like this. Sun-chan is that kind of guy.

「That’s… I don’t know.」

「You don’t know right?」

「Aah. Yeah I don’t.」

「Are you going to say thanks?」

「No, this is nothing.」

「I want you to say thanks though~」

Pansy looked at me sulkily. But, why that?

「That’s unreasonable you know?」

「People need to do some unreasonable things to grow you know~」

「When I’m talking with you like this I’m already doing something quite unreasonable.」

「Then, I will also do something unreasonable and tell Ooga-kun about your secret…」

「Thank you very much!!」

「That didn’t feel sincere~」

Right after those words of ill will from Pansy, the library was engulfed in silence for the second time.

Honestly I want to spend my time in silence like this but, there’s a demon with braids with “Kojien4” ready in her right hand here.

This time, I will somehow start the conversation and try to appeal to her.

「Uhm, yo Pansy」

「What is it?」

Turning at the sound of my words, Pansy’s eyes sparkled.

Very sparkly, very irritating.

「Do you enjoy talking with me?」

「Boring~」

Pansy’s usual uninterested voice reached my ears.

「Then, why do you want to talk!」

「Because I want to talk with you~」

「I don’t understand! It’s possible to say you enjoy it even though it’s a lie!」

「I, don’t lie.」

「Then use your feelings.」

「I, want a relationship with you where I don’t use my feelings.」

Haah~ Seriously, what is this girl thinking….

Talking with her isn’t a fun situation. She has a weird quirk, saying she wants to walk with me.

She’s a difficult to understand creature.

「Being with you makes me happy you know. But, I don’t like it when you’re only mean.」

「Which one of us is being mean here? Think a little more about your words and actions.」

「Even though I properly said that I’m thinking about you…」

「Ugh!」

There was a complaint in the middle of her uninterested words. It’s frustrating but, it’s as she said.

I wasn’t thinking about Sun-chan’s feelings.

The one who made me notice my mistake, is without a doubt this girl.

「…………」

I tried looking at Pansy while thinking of what would be good to say, and she stared back with just a blank look on her face.

But, it feels like there is some expectation in her eyes.

Shit. I get it. If saying it is good enough then I’ll say it.

「……Thank you, Pansy.」

「You’re welcome.」

Whether or not she was satisfied with my reply, Pansy let out a slightly livelier voice.

Well, putting that aside, the person that Sun-chan likes huh?… This is something that’s probably necessary to investigate.

Speaking of ideals, I like Himawari or Cosmos. There’s no runner-up. I like other girls with compromises.

The worst case is… No no, not good. If I think about it I will end up in a pattern where I think about only misfortune and sorrow.

Let’s stop thinking about it.

「Hey, Jouro-kun.」

「What is is?」

「Has this become the first time we’ve done group work together I wonder?」

「There’s no way it has!」

In the end, I said that over my should as I ran away so that the library was left behind me.

***


Chapter 4 – Part 1 | Index | Chapter 4 – Part 3


TL notes

  1. There’s a reference to 大逆転 (A movie called Trading Places), which google says its a movie about “Two callous millionaire brothers conspire to switch the fortunes of a snobbish investor and a wily street con artist, owing to a bet.” which is why I said reversal here.
  2. I’m not really sure how to express screaming sounds, but I thought that using “ahhhh” was awful so I used this instead. :shrug:
  3. She calls him a 小鉢 (kobachi) which means small bowl, but I’m not sure what it really means. An insult perhaps??
  4. Kojien – A japanese dictionary.

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started