Chapter 5 – Part 3 – My tragedy is still shows no signs of ending



***

「Sun-chan, I’m looking forward to Saturday!」

「Yeah! I’m also looking forward to it too ya know!」

Staying true to what was said before, and even carrying out the plan as I entered the classroom, this girl, her senses are amazing.

Hmm? Taking a closer look, her gaze is looking towards me isn’t it?

『I request back-up』

Ahh, I see. You want me to liven up the conversation with Sun-chan and create a good mood here huh?

Fine then. I also want to hurry and get this matter over with, so I’ll help you out.

「What are you two talking about?」

「Good morning Jouro!」

「Oh Jouro! Mornin’! Well you see, I’m going to hang out with Himawari on Saturday right? We were just talking about that.」

「Heeeh. You guys kinda look like a couple before a date.」

「Eheheheー」

Seeming happy, Himawari scratched her head.

That gesture is somewhat child-like but, well, it’s still in the safe zone.

「What are ya saying? You and Himawari also go and hang out with each other right?」

「We haven’t been hanging out at all recently. Me and Himawari are already high school students. Going anywhere with just the two of us might create misunderstandings after all.」

That’s a lie, tee hee~! We went out together on Sunda~y.

「Oh, is that so?」

「Yeah. But, if it’s you and Himawari then walking around the city suits you two, and I think you guys are good together. Since Himawari is also my childhood friend, I want you to make her happy.」

What a sacrificial service. You better be thankful Himawari.

「O-oi oi」

「Juust kiddin’. It’s a joke, a joke.」

「I-is that so……」

But, I shouldn’t go overkill here, so let’s take it down a notch.

In the first place, I know who the girl Sun-chan likes is……

「Alright then, I’m gonna head to my seat.」

「Okay!」

「Aye aye sir~」

When I returned to my seat, Himawari told me “Thank you” through eye contact.

Well, it’s not necessary to reply back.

But Himawari, no matter how happy you are, Sun-chan’s got his eyes set on another girl.

***

Now then, it’s already lunch break huh?

What should I do about this? Since Sun-chan always eats lunch with Cosmos on the roof, I won’t be feeling a chain of guilt right now but… I’m still feeling troubled.

By the way, I always tell Cosmos to not come to my classroom.

If she encountered Himawari, it would be bothersome.

Up until yesterday I would go to the library but I’ve been banned from there now.

How inconvenient……

「Jouro-kun.」

While I was thinking about that absentmindedly, I heard a voice I would have never thought I would hear from behind me.

「Uwaa! Pa………Sanshokuin-san!?」

「Yes that’s me.」

「W-why are you here?」

「Because it’s lunch break you know.」

When I came back to reality, it seems like it’s now lunch break.1

No wait, I don’t care about that.

That’s besides the point, why did the person who banned me from going to the library come to my classroom!?

And at the worst timing too.

Himawari isn’t here, but Sun-chan still hasn’t left to go to the rooftop yet.

And then, he obviously looked over here and said this while he came towards us.

「U-uhm! Sanshokuin-san!」

「What’s the matter Ooga-kun?」

「U-uhm. Are you and Jouro close with each other?」

Of course he would ask that.

「Yeah we are~」

Hey stop it. Don’t just say your one-sided thoughts and nonchalantly pass it off as a mutual thing.

「I-I don’t think we’re that close though……」

「How cruel. Even though you did that already.」

When I tried to oppose her to the best of my ability, a staggering counter-attack came.

Can you stop hugging your own body and slightly shaking?

Seriously, that will only create misunderstandings.

T-that!? Jo-Jouro! What did you do!?」

「N-nothing at all! Right, Sanshokuin-san?」

Stop it Pansy. I’m begging you, don’t make things more complicated than they already are.

「Yes. I didn’t do anything~」

「Jo-Jouro!!」

Sun-chan grabbed my collars with all his might.

Thank god Himawari wasn’t here. That girl is eating with her friends in the cafeteria.

The moment she sees this situation, I will be dyed with blood.

Pansy, how are you able to find the right words to put me in difficult situations like this?

Is it that? Is this revenge? Is this revenge for what I did yesterday!?

「Correct.」

Ah, is that so…… Your ESPer ability is on the ball today as well huh?

Now then, what will I do? Unless I tell Sun-chan about the situation, I won’t be able to move from here right?

Of course I won’t. Anyways, the girl that he likes came over to me, who he thought had no connections with her, and what’s more, she went and said something she shouldn’t have.

How will this play out?

First, Cosmos will start wondering why Sun-chan isn’t coming and come here.

Then, after finishing her meal in the cafeteria, Himawari will come here.

And then, both of them will come over to me and Sun-chan.

When it comes to love, those two will be able to understand Sun-chan’s feelings very well for no reason.

After, only a scene of hell comes to mind. That’s what I think will happen.

This is bad. This is bad you know? This is extremely bad. This is the worst situation I’ve faced yet.

「Oi Jouro! Why are you not saying anything!」

「Uhm… That’s…」

「Say something please…… We… we’re best friends aren’t we?」

Holding onto my collars and looking down, Sun-chan was shaking.

Glancing at Pansy, she had an indifferent expression like always.

It was as if she was like a mannequin, sometimes blinking slightly while watching over the situation.

It’s your fault that things became like this! Do you understand that!?

「I wish you would return it quickly~」

Return what!? What are you saying so suddenly!?

「”Records of Insect Fables”」

「……Ah!」

I remembered about what she said.

That’s right. Last Wednesday, Pansy tricked me with that book, and I still haven’t returned it yet.

My school’s library has a one-week lending period. Today is Thursday, so it’s already been one day past the due date.

「By any chance, is that why you came to me? 」

Pansy nodded with just her neck.

This is a helping hand from Pansy! I see. If that’s the case then I can survive this situation!

「What? What are you saying? I tell me so that I understand too.」

「No well you see, last Wednesday I went to the library and borrowed a book. It’s past the book’s return date, so that’s why Sanshokuin-san came to tell me about that. Right, Sanshokuin-san?」

「That’s right.」

Whether or not my gaze full of emotion, as if I was saying “please, please forgive me already” with all my might, reached Pansy, with her indifferent expression she nodded twice in agreement.

Thank god. It seems like this girl doesn’t intend on making the circumstances any worse.

But, Sun-chan doesn’t seem to believe us as he alternated his eyes full of doubt between us.

And then, his gaze stopped on Pansy instead of me, and he raised a question while trembling nervously.

「Then, what is that?」

「That referred to not returning the book.」

「What about you guys being close?」

「I, don’t have many friends. I don’t usually see Jouro-kun, but when we do meet, he’s a good person who I can properly talk to~」

「Is, is that so…」

How dare you! Spitting out lies like that. I’m impressed.

「……Sorry about that Jouro.」

At last, it seems like Sun-chan also understood, and he let go of my collars.

「N-nah, it would’ve been better if I also properly explained the situation.」

「If you hand it to me, I will go return it~」

「Oh really? In that case……」

I rummaged through the inside of my desk, took out a book, and handed it to Pansy.

「Here. Sorry about this, I’ll remember to return it on time next time.」

「It’s fine~. Alright then.」

「W-wait, Sanshokuin-san!」

Wow. Sun-chan called out to stop Pansy.

Please stop it~ After this, please don’t let weird things happen~

「What’s the matter?」

「Uhm, you see…… Did you really come here today… just to only get back that book?」

「That’s wrong.」

Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!2

「Huh?」

「I saw Jouro-kun’s troubled face. And so, I came to check on him after being worried about it.」

Saying only that, Pansy left our classroom.

Don’t say lines that seem to have some hidden meanings when you leave! That’s extremely suggestive!

Aah, this is bad. Pansy is not here anymore, but Sun-chan is making an extremely baffled face.

I need to change the subject or else……

「D-don’t worry about it Sun-chan. That Sanshokuin-san, is a little weird you see……」

「O-oh.」

「Rather than that, I think you should hurry up and go or else you’ll keep President Cosmos waiting.」

「Oops, that’s right. This isn’t good! Alright then, see ya Jouro!」

Hearing that, Sun-chan left the classroom in a panic.

Phew…… I think I just barely managed to gloss over all that?

At any rate, that Pansy… In terms of her revenge, there were plenty of other ways to get it.

How is she able to pinpoint and understand what I hate better than I can?

……Huh? At this time my smartphone is vibrating….

“I am always thinking about you”

“Is that so?”

“Have you reflected?”

“I have reflected enough. I won’t do it again.”

“If that’s the case then I’ll forgive you~”

“Also…those cookies, were delicious.”

“Then I’ll make them again. Thank you for the praise. I am very happy~”

That last message to Pansy used up all my strength. I fell flat on my desk.

Damn, I’m so tired already……


Chapter 5 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 6 – Part 1


TL notes

  1. I don’t know why it says this again even though he said it was lunch break in the first line…
  2. He’s screaming.

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

    1. Is there something wrong with the post? Or are you referring to the story. Lmk if there’s any part that makes no sense, I’ll check it over.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started