Chapter 6 – Part 1 – I never thought I would become like this


Aaah this part wouldve come out in like February but many thanks to the guy who donated to me. That actually motivated me a lot over the weekend and I got a lot of this part done on Sunday. No ETA on the next part tho, getting closer and closer to midterm season.

Also happy (early) lunar new years to those who celebrate it!


Now then, I wonder if Cosmos is doing well?

Today is Friday and I told them that I have some business to attend to after the student council meeting in order to execute plan “Let Cosmos and Sun-chan walk home together”, and I went home straight away.

If you heard only that, you might think that I was focusing all my efforts on helping Cosmos, but that’s not the case. Tomorrow is Saturday, and Himawari will be facing her most crucial battle yet…… I also have a “Himawari and Sun-chan go see a movie together” plan.

The people in question said they would go like usual, but they had quite a lot of motivation.

Speaking of which, last week, I was also really enthusiastic too.

It hasn’t even passed a week since then, but it doesn’t feel like that.

It feels like an entire month has passed by. Just that feeling alone worries me.

Aah, right now I’m in my room. It’s time for the usual that, you know that.

Today I won’t think about those kinds of things. Changing the subject, what should I do next week?

Well, in the very, very unlikely event that Himawari decides to confess tomorrow and is successful, then this story can be over and my mental exhaustion will be greatly reduced. I’m hoping that peace and quiet will arrive, but the chances of that are very slim.

That’s why, I think that my worries won’t end next week.

……Speaking of which, Pansy said that something interesting would happen next Tuesday didn’t she.

At that time I made Pansy angry, so she was probably just saying whatever came to mind but… what’s with “Things will become interesting”?

Will Himawari and Cosmos find out about this love-square next week or something?

If that’s the case, it would be funny if my original objective was only 80% complete but, that won’t happen right?

Well honestly speaking, I don’t care about Himawari or Cosmos anymore.

They’re always going Sun-chan this, and Sun-chan that, only thinking of me as just a kind friend. Of course I would cool down after being treated like this.

Neither of them are aware of my feelings, and even if they did, they would probably grow cold and not mind it. Fuck!

I wish that either one of them, or even Pansy would just hurry up and go out with Sun-chan already.

And, I want to be freed from them. From this problem too. From Pansy too.

And encounter a lovely girl while I’m at it.

「Aaah, there’s no way a good girl will just fall into my hands like that! Someone who will love me unconditionally, a really beautiful girl with big breasts. An adult-like girl with a quiet personality would be good!」

While I was shouting, my phone’s ringtone sounded out.

『Is something the matter?』

「Not you! You flat, ugly girl!」

After reflexively screaming that out, I sent the exact same words in a text.

Jeez seriously, where is that girl watching me from?

She didn’t plant any listening devices or cameras in here did she?

Nah no way, there’s no way that girl would do something like that right?

Rather, if she did do that, I’d lose all my dignity. Okay, let’s stop thinking about that now.

「Huh?」

Just then, my phone rang out a second time. What is it? That Pansy, does she still need something?

Checking my phone thinking that, it turned out to be Cosmos instead of Pansy.

『Can we meet tomorrow?』

……This has to do with today. Something must’ve happened while they walked home right? There’s no mistake about it.

Don’t tell me, Cosmos, did she confess?

That girl has a girly side to her too huh.

Her tension would’ve been high while they were walking home, it’s not surprising for her to be caught up in the moment.

And then it was a total sinker or something!

Then after calming down, she messaged me. That’s likely enough.

The opposite is impossible. If she wasn’t rejected then instead of that short message, she would’ve definitely sent a message with more energy like “It went so well! Thanks! It’s seriously all thanks to you!” or something.

Jeez… I went out with Cosmos last Saturday, and I have to go out with her again this week too.

When I think that, I want to lament about why I am using up even my days off for the sake of someone else’s love life. However, I want to solve this problem as soon as possible, so being unable to refuse, I replied to her saying “I understand”.

***

The meeting place is the same as before. A place in front of the police office near the station.

This time I wasn’t so eager and went an hour early.

I went to the meeting place and made it there exactly on time. I am more or less still dressed stylishly though……

That Cosmos, last time she came half an hour early, but what about this time?

She’s a serious-type girl. She might have also come half an hour early this time too.

Well, that’s not my problem.

Now then, did Cosmos get here already?

I looked around at my surround…ings.

I looked… but, uwaa… That’s awful.

She’s got a completely exhausted face. As if she was trying to depict the state of her heart, she wore a pure white dress and had her shoulders hanging down. Then suddenly, her head dropped down and her prided long hair overlapped on itself, as if she was something that would fly out from a screen when you watch a certain video tape.1

In a different sense from usual, she’s gathering everyone’s attention.

This is, the figure of someone who got rejected…

I went and more or less thought of some comforting words to say, let’s somehow get through today using those.

「P-president Cosmos.」

I hesitated on whether or not to call out to her for a moment.

Saying bluntly, she’s scary. Dark Cosmos is in her own genre of scariness, but anyways she’s scary.

「H-hey……」

This wasn’t her usual bright “hey” full of spirit. Being all gloomy, as if she was watching the end of the world, it was a “hey” full of despair.

Don’t meet up with people in that state. It’s rude.

「Wh-what’s the matter?」

「Let’s not talk about that here. Let’s find somewhere else okay?」

「I-I understand.」

Hearing my reply, Cosmos led the way as we walked in that faithful state.2

I’m begging you, return back to normal already. I want you to feel like me as you walk like that.

***

Following faithful Cosmos, we headed to the cafe from before.

A completely plain cafe.

It’s a shop with a green mark logo with a woman wearing a crown and a star mark inside it that stands out.

For the time being, because I didn’t want to line up together with her, I asked Cosmos to go secure some seats, while I was in charge of buying and transporting the drinks. Fuu… It’s a little time for me to rest.

Afterwards, from the skilled hands of a shop employee, a carried a tray with the prepared drinks on it.

「….Uwao」

I’m speechless.

When it comes to Cosmos-san, then she’s drawing lines one after another in her notebook, still gloomy.

I could hear “Eliminate. Eliminate. Eliminate. Eliminate”. Where is Mikami-san I wonder?3

I have to go over there right now!? No way, I seriously don’t want to go though….

「Uhm… Are you feeling okay?」

「Aaah, I’m feeeling fineee.」

No matter how you look at it you’re not fine.

Peeking at her notebook, the lines were drawn through “I want to be together with Sun-chan”.

The notebook was filled with horizontal lines which could be said to represent Cosmos’ despair.

「And, what’s the matter?」

I asked her with a tinge of worry but, honestly, I have already guessed what happened.

Cosmos is heart-broken. No matter how you look at it, she’s heart-broken.

I could take advantage of her right now but, that feeling has already faded away so I won’t.

Well, since it’s her then other guys would seize this opportunity you know. Anyways, cheer up.

Enduring the gazes pouring in from my surroundings is painful no matter what.

「That’s… On Friday you see…….」

From here on Cosmos’ story about what happened after school on Friday starts. (※ Because I wasn’t there, please enjoy this monologue without my remarks this time. It seems like the setting is a park on the way home from school.)

***

「Thank you for today too! It was really delish!」

「I-is that so? If you enjoyed it, then that makes me happy too.」

「But, only eating your food makes me feel kinda guilty. Cosmos-san, is there anyway I can thank you?」

「I-it’s fine! You’ve helped me out enough, I’m already satisfied with that!」

「No but, I still feel sorry! Please let me thank you somehow!」

「I-is that so? Let’s see… Then how about…」

「Anythin’ is fine! Ah, but any unreasonable things are impossible okay?」

「Hahaha. What did you think I would request of you? I won’t ask you to do anything difficult.」

「Then don’t worry! What should I do?」

「Let’s see. Hmm… If you don’t want to do it you can refuse but……」

「Sure!」

「From here on out too, will you talk with me on the way home like this? When I talk with you, it’s really fun and… I feel happy.」

「Do ya mean, without Jouro?」

「O-of course it’s not a problem if Jouro-kun is there but, it would be nice if it was just… us, every once in awhile.」

「That’s fine with me! There’s stuff you don’t want Jouro to hear or something right! If that’s the case, we can go home with just the two of us every now and then! If it’s Jouro, then he’ll be understanding about it.」

「R-really!? Thank you……」

「No problem! But, are you really okay with something like that as thanks?」

「It’s enough! It’s the best thing for me.」

「Aight! ……Ah. That’s right. Cosmos-san.」

「W-what’s up?」

「Cosmos-san, do you have anyone you like?」

「Eh, oh, m- me!?」

「Ah, that reaction. You do don’t you.」

「W-what’s the matter so suddenly!?」

「No well, Jouro asked me the same question awhile ago.」

「I, I see. When you were talking to Jouro huh…… So that means, you also have someone you like?」

「Ah! If you say it like that it’s kinda embarassin’…… Well but… That’s right. Yes! I do!」

「U-uhm…… If it’s okay with you……is it okay if I hear about them?」

「Somehow when you ask like that it’s kinda embarrassing. But, this might be the best opportunity.」

「Best opportunity?」

「Yes! I’ve decided to tell you! No, I’ll definitely tell only you!」

「O-only me~」

「I, uh……」

「Y-yeah……」

 

「I like Sumireko Sanshokuin-san!」

「. . . . . . . . . . . Huh?」

「Sumireko Sanshokuin-san is a girl on the library committee! I have been in love with her since last year, but I haven’t been able to get closer to her so…… If you know of any good ways to get closer with her, I would like to receive some advice from you!」

「Sa-Sanshokuin-san……?」

「Yeah! Since you’re the student council president, you’d probably know what kind of personality would go best with Sanshokuin-san! That’s why, uhm…… If you don’t mind, I want you to help me out!」

「Y-you want me…… to help?」

「Yes! Ah…… Is it no good after all?」

「N-no! That’s not it! It’s fine actually! Just leave it to me!」

「Are you serious! Thank you very much! You’re a life-saver!」

***

…Sun-chan what the hell are you doing!? That’s not good! That’s the worst thing you could do!

That being the case, what a good way to dump her! That way is still preferable!

「You… knew about it didn’t you?」

Cosmos looked at me sharply.

Scary. Too scary… Dark Cosmos is also scary but, right now her voice sounds as if it was an abyss, so let’s name this Abyss Cosmos.

-Wait, this isn’t the place for that!

「I… knew…」

「Why… why didn’t you say anything?」

Cosmos began to cry while saying those words.

This is the first time I’ve seen Cosmos cry like this.

Because she was so tough no matter what happened, I thought she never cried.

「Can’t you… tell me the reason…?」

「Listen to the reason okay」

Cosmos’ unsteady, tragic aura attacked me all at once.

But, like usual I aimed to appeal to her emotions and put together my words.

「I understood how much you liked Sun-chan. Even then, Sun-chan liked a different girl… I couldn’t say it you know?」

These are my true feelings.

I did help her out but, Cosmos tried her very best and worked hard in her own way.

So then to prevent her from quitting after finding out Sun-chan liked another girl, I didn’t thoughtlessly say anything.

Even if he did have a girl that he liked, there was the possibility that he would look over his shoulders.4

「That’s the reason why you didn’t tell me? Seriously… is that all?」

「Eh?」

Cosmos’ suggestive words confused me. What is she saying? It’s the truth.

「I’ve already heard from Sun-chan you know. “When I was consulting Jouro, he said that it’s better to help out people you trust, and put in all your strength when tackling a problem. Whether it’s love or baseball, give it everything you’ve got” is what he said.」

Oi oi, what’s the meaning of this? Really? I don’t remember this.

「I-I never, said that!」

「Enough already, don’t lie to me anymore. Sun-chan told me this, “When Jouro compared my problems to baseball, he properly answered me”.」

Baseball? Huh, baseball? Is that… No way… Was it that time!?

 

「That’s… During a baseball match on the big stage, where one more hit would lose the game, and the other team’s 4 batter came out, what would be the best thing to do? Do you think it’s better to just give the batter the walk after all?」

「That’s right. If it was me then I probably would give the batter the walk… But, Sun-chan, you’re different right? Trustful and hard working. Always believing in yourself and your teammates. Never running away and always throwing the ball as hard as you can. That’s your way.」

「That’s right! That’s true after all! Thanks Jouro! I’m really happy you told me this!」

 

You’re mistaken Sun-chan! That’s not what I meant!

「That face, it seems have an idea about it.」

「Y-you’re wrong! That’s not what I……!」

「Enough. It seems like you’re not my ally… I’m disappointed.」

Oi oi wait a sec! It’s fine it you listen to me speak a little right!?

Why are you completely accepting what Sun-chan said to be the truth, and not listening to me!?

Until now, wasn’t I always supporting you!?

「Goodbye, insensitive, cruel, the worst, Jouro-kun.」

Saying that, Cosmos stood up and left the cafe.

This is the worst…… I can only say this is seriously the worst development…

…Wait a sec, I just noticed but, that Cosmos, she didn’t pay me back!

On top of misunderstanding me and verbally abusing me, I’m still left with the cost of the drinks. 勘違いされたうえに罵倒されて、 飲み物代まで俺持ちかよ。

「Haa… I can’t follow…… hm?」

Immediately after Cosmos left, while I was letting out a little bit of displeasure, my phone vibrated.

Jeez, who is sending me a message at this time?

If it’s not about something serious then…………It’s from Himawari.

『Can we meet tomorrow?』

From just that one line I could understand what happened.

This is more worse than the worst thing that can happen. It has sunk deeply in my mind.

***


Chapter 5 – Part 3 | Index | Chapter 6 – Part 2


TL notes

  1. I think this is a reference to this – Sadako Yamamura
  2. RAW: 貞〇状態 — I don’t get this part, since the other kanji is missing. Could be referring to her chastity, virtue, faith, or maybe some other word I have no fucking clue about.
  3. Teru Mikami, from Death Note
  4. And notice Cosmos/Himawari right next to him and then fall in love with them instead

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

    1. Uh, well reason 1 is that I’m slow at translating, 2. no one else is translating this series, and 3. the anime cuts a lot of details like any other adaptation. I’d love to translate this series faster, but my japanese and my time is limited.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started