Chapter 6 – Part 3 – I never thought I would become like this


Midterm season has arrived.


***

With still a little bit of time remaining for lunch break, Sun-chan returned to the classroom.

He must have finished eating lunch with Cosmos. While in a good mood, he headed towards me.

「Mann! As expected, Cosmos’ lunches are soo good!」

「Is that so. I’m happy for you……」

I don’t want to hear about Cosmos anymore for the time being though……

「……Hey Jouro?」

「What’s the matter?」

「Did something happen between you and Himawari and Cosmos?」

「Eh? No, nothing happened……」

「Liar. Just looking at your face is enough for me to understand. You didn’t talk with Himawari at all in the morning, and now when I was talking about Cosmos you face became gloomy.」

「Did it?」

「Yeah it did. You know……if anything happened you can talk to me about it.」

「Sun-chan……」

「Though it’s a little embarrassing to say this, I think of you as my closest friend. When you told me you wanted to be alone in the morning, of course I’d become concerned if you made a face like that.」

My eyes were involuntarily moved to tears. My best friend is such a nice guy isn’t he?

But, even so I can’t tell him the truth. Even if we argue about it, a promise is a promise.

While I was in pain from my feelings of guilt and hesitating to say something,

「Ah, Sun-chan do you have a minute?」

「Oh, what’s up Himawari?」

For just a second, Himawari focused her gaze on me, but she immediately looked away.

Well, since the two of us will resist till the very end, things like this will be common right?

「I don’t want to talk about it here. It’s about what we were talking about the other day you see.」

「Oh I see! I understand…… Alright then Jouro, sorry but I gotta go.」

「Ah… Okay.」

Sun-chan got up and separated from me.

While he did that, I thought Himawari would follow him but for some reason she was staring at me.

「……It’s, Jouro’s fault.」

Leaking that out in a small voice, Himawari left to go catch up to Sun-chan.

It’s my fault? Hell no it isn’t.

But, that was good timing.

I was quite troubled about what I should tell Sun-chan.

As far as that problem goes, I’ll praise you for your help.

***

As soon as classes ended, and since I didn’t have a real reason not to go, I headed towards the student council room.

After knocking on the door, I heard an uninterested voice say “Enter”.

Hearing that, I loudly flung the door to the student council room open and saw Cosmos dispassionately writing something down in her notebook. Of course, she didn’t look at me.

Well for now, since I don’t want to stand the whole time, I headed towards my seat and sat down.

「「……………………」」

The student council room was filled with silence. This continued on for another 5 minutes.

「……Here, take this.」

Using her slender hands, Cosmos took out some change from her lovely wallet and handed it to me.

This is for not paying for her drink the other day.

「I properly wrote down a reminder in my notebook, and this was just a convenient time.」

Cosmos held up her notebook with her right hand like she usually does and smiled, but there was no spirit behind it.

I mean, the matter with Sun-chan is still going on after all.

「This morning, I talked a bit with Himawari-san.」

When I accepted the change, Cosmos said that.

「And then, we decided on what we should do from now on.」

You really didn’t want to say that right? You’re biting down strongly on your lower lip, and you look like you’re about to cry right now.

「We’re going to help Sun-chan with his love life. So, you’re not needed anymore.」

After saying those words, Cosmos returned back to the usual Cosmos and the student council meeting started with no problems.

***

As I wished, peace and quiet came and Monday ended and it became Tuesday.

In the morning when I woke up and checked my phone, there was a message.

The sender was Pansy. I haven’t even seen the message yet, but I can already tell what it is about.

『Make sure you come today okay~?』

Tsk. I seriously don’t want to go to the library again, but there is the other day’s matter to deal with.

I have no choice, so I guess I’ll go.

***

As soon as it became lunch time, I headed to the library and opened the door with a lot of force.

And then Pansy, who was sitting at the reception desk, beckoned me to sit down in front of her.

With violent actions and movement, I followed her instructions and sat down in front of her.

「What do you want?」

「Ara, that’s a mean thing to say when you came here on your own~」

You’re the one who called me here though.」

「That’s true.」

Pansy turned her gaze downwards after letting out a breath.

However, that was only for a brief period, and she immediately looked back up at me.

「Things have become interesting haven’t they?」

「Huh?」

「Even though you gave it your all and went through great pains, all your hard work up until now has gone poof. Everything has become useless now right」

「Y-you……」

「Even though Akino-senpai and Hinata-san don’t want his wishes to come true, they want to be next to the person they like. So they have to support Ooga-kun. They are really pitiful people aren’t they~」

Hearing this really pissed me off. Why is she so good at making me mad like this.

The thing that happened the other day was my fault so I apologized but, this negates…no this brings you into the negatives.

You have the nerve to even think about saying these bad things.

「Enough……」

「But you see, Jouro-kun,」

The moment it seemed like I was about to scream out in anger, Pansy started talking, and I stopped.

「What is it?」

While playing around with her braids, Pansy kept her cold gaze away from me and moved only her mouth.

 

「Things will truly get interesting starting now~」

 

Hearing the sound of a door opening behind me, I looked over my shoulder in response and saw three visitors.

They were Sun-chan, Himawari, and Cosmos.

The three of them were all surprised, seeing me and Pansy together.

Especially Sun-chan. You could clearly see his anger as he glared at me.

Huhh!? Why did they come here?

During lunch time, no one comes to the library.

Every once in a while there would be someone who was looking for a book they want to borrow but, that happens at most once a week.

「Jouro… What’s the meaning of this?」

Fiercely stepping forward with his feet, Sun-chan was forming a fist with his hands. This is definitely an explosive situation.

「That’s…… Uh…」

「Jouro, I also want you to also explain too. Why are you and Pansy-chan together?」

「Uhm….. Uhhhhh……」

Of course things would be like this.

Those guys are probably thinking I’m meeting with Pansy in secret after seeing just the two of us here like this.

They might conclude that what I said about lunch time is my own time was all a lie, and that I’ve been secretly acting before them.

「So you’ve come to get closer to me Ooga-kun. Are the two of them here to help you out?」

「Sorry, Sanshokuin-san is it okay if you be quiet for a little bit?」

Pansy, you need to shut up!! Don’t you understand the situation!?

I’ve realized it now after all this, instead of the usual reading area, you had me sit down at the reception desk! All so that I wouldn’t be hidden!

「Correct.」

After hearing Pansy mutter that quietly, I felt really angry, but I didn’t have the time to show it.

Anyways, in front of my eyes there are three demigods1 standing with their eyes full of distrust.

「Hey Jouro-kun, would you care to tell us why you and Pansy-san are with each other?」

She said it in a gentle way, but her tone was not gentle at all. Cosmos is also serious.

「Jouro, you know about my feelings right? Was what you said when we had that conversation all a lie?」

Sun-chan, I have never lied to you, you’re just getting the wrong idea.

「Hey, Jouro. You said you were helping us out right? Then why are you here? Have you been deceiving us?」

「It’s just as Himawari-san says. I heard you were hiding yourself during lunch time since a while ago, but I never imagined that you would be here of all places. What have you been talking about with her huh?」

「Uh, uhhh……!」

「Don’t tell me you, are you going out with Sanshokuin-san!? Even though you knew all about my feelings…….」

You’re wrong! Why would I even do that! This is all just a misunderstanding! You’re all being weird aren’t you!?

The whole reason why I’ve come here in the first place is because of Cosmos and Himawari asking me for advice!

And also, me and Pansy aren’t going out with each other.

Pansy has told me that she likes me, but I don’t like her. To say it clearly, I hate her.

But even then, why are you guys criticizing me like this?

Why haven’t I been able to raise any objections this whole time?

「Jouro!」

「Jouro-kun!」

Cosmos’ and Himawari’s voices resounded in my head. The two of them intensely stared at me.

Why do I have to be looked at by eyes like those?

Up until now, I’ve always been helping you guys out you know?

Himawari, when you really messed up with your plans to get closer to Sun-chan, who do you think it was who helped gloss over your blunders?

Cosmos, when you were acting all shy and moved in a feverish haste, who do you think it was who was there to luckily follow up on your failures?

Can’t you think about it for a little bit? I have my own situation to deal with you know. Can you not even do something so simple?

「For me, I thought you were my rea~lly important childhood friend Jouro. Was it only me who thought that?」

「Me too. I was reassured when I thought of my cute kouhai helping me out as my ally.」

Change! Jouro! Switch! On!

 

「Don’t fuck with meeeeeeeee!!!!」

 

I’ve had enough. I don’t care anymore. I won’t think about what will happen after this.

If I don’t let these two idiots hear what I have to say, this feeling won’t go away.

I’m done acting all submissive now! もう、 猫かぷりは終わりだ!

「I was keeping quiet earlier, but an important childhood friend!? A cute kouhai!? Are you guys in any position to talk!? Just cut it out already!」

The three of them were surprised at my sudden change this time. Their eyes opened up about 10% more than usual.

「I never looked forward to whenever you guys were either foolishly laughing or acting all timidly! If you guys are going to come at me like this, then I’ll say what I want to say so prepare yourselves!」

You guys are treating me like I’m the bad guy as you please after all. If that’s the case then I will meet your expectations.

I’ll show you guys everything about my other self.

「Sun-chan is fine! He’s got his own understanding of the situation, and I can see why he would be angry right now. Aah, there’s no helping it. But, Himawari, Cosmos, you guys are different!」

The two of them shrunk back at the sight of my furious gaze.

Aaah!? Don’t think that I’ll forgive you if you act scared. C’mon you can do better than that.

「W-what……」

「What’s different about the two of us and Sun-chan?」

「Ha! You can’t even understand something as simple as that? I really pity you guys.」

With composure, I ridiculed them.

「When things are going good, you guys come and ask me to help you out. When things are going badly, you guys quickly throw me away as if I was nothing. When I was your “ally” I desperately tried to tell you the truth, but you wouldn’t even listen to me. You guys didn’t even consider my situation at all.」

In order to grant their wishes, I did many bothersome things that didn’t even benefit me.

Treating me like I’m a stick, treating me like I’m a traitor, I’ve seriously had enough!

「You guys dare to call me your important childhood friend or cute kouhai? Don’t make me laugh. That’s the funniest joke I’ve heard all week!」

The moment I said those words, Himawari and Cosmos were taken aback.

I hope that the two of them have finally realized what I meant.

「And with that, do you guys have any words to say to me after using me as you pleased? Did you guys really think we were like that? Tell me clearly. Tell me what you really think.」

「「……………」」

「Oi, Himawari, Cosmos.」

When I called out their names and glared at them, the two of them trembled while returning their own determined glares back.

But, the strength in their eyes was clearly weak.

「W-what do you want?」

That was Himawari. While being scared and panicked, she managed to somehow get out a reply.

With eyes full of fear from somewhere, Cosmos quietly waited for me to talk.

「I am not your guys’ important childhood friend or cute kouhai!」

I knew. I knew but I tried to desperately endure it. In order to not think about it.

It is hard for me to say the truth, since more importantly than anything else, saying it will lead to our relationships breaking. But, I’m at my limit. I can’t endure it any longer.

「I’m just……….just a convenient tool you you guys aren’t I?!」

「「……………」」

「With all of that in mine, you guys don’t have the right to criticize me!!」

After I straight out told them that, they were still in a state of shock so they did not say anything.

Ha! This much is appropriate for a situation where they should feel like “reflecting”.

………I’ve won! I’ve won against those two!

「O-oi, Jouro. I think that’s enough.」

While confused, Sun-chan came to stop me.

「Aah, I get it.」

Kukekekeke, how’s that Cosmos! Himawari!

Have you reflected on yourselves? It was effective right? Look at your pitiful selves! It’s my complete victory!

If things have come to this, then the misunderstandings from before should be resolved right?

In addition, Sun-chan should understand that me and Pansy don’t have a special relationship, and everything will be settled!

My real personality has been revealed but, in Sun-chan’s case, he’ll probably accept me with a smile right? There’s no doubt he’ll say something like “So you were this kind of guy huh” while laughing.

That’s one matter dealt with! Well after this, it will be awkward around Himawari and Cosmos, but I don’t care.

Saying what you want to say, feels so good!

No! It’s super refreshing! You better remember this Cosmos, Himawari!

People who get carried away will definitely be argued into speechlessness and end up in an unpleasant situation eventually. Just like how you two are right now!

「Even though you didn’t have any allies, you were splendid. Mr. White Elephant Jouro-kun.」

While holding Kenji Miyazawa’s book “Obbel and the Elephant2“, Pansy said that to me.

Ooh, I see, I see. Pansy also thinks so huh?

That’s right isn’t it? I’m not in the wrong here right?

「You’ve worked hard haven’t you. Between Hinata-san and Akino-senpai, you just wanted to make one of them happy. But the results of your efforts are just too cruel aren’t they~」

It’s exactly as she says! That’s right. My efforts were magnificent.

I had a lot of unpleasant thoughts the entire time! Yup. I said what I said earlier out of consideration ofーーーー

 

「Then, why did you tell me to go out with Ooga-kun I wonder?」

 

............uhm, Pansy-san?

Why did you choose those words?

Isn’t this where you become my ally?

You like me don’t you? Why would you do something like that to the person that you like?

The moment he heard Pansy’s words, Sun-chan pressed down on my shoulders with a lot of power.

「Jouro, what does she mean by that? You said you were helping out president Cosmos and Himawari earlier right?」

「Uh, well you see…..」

This is weird. How did things become like this?

It was suppose to end up like that right? The two girls would reflect on themselves and then apologize to me and then everything would be over right?

Right??

「Between Hinata-san and Akino-senpai, you said you would make one of them yours~」

I didn’t say thaaaaaaaat! I never said that to you!

I only said that in my head!

In that moment, the two girls who were in a state of speechlessness since earlier started to revive.

Uuuohhh! Furthermore, the two of them have blank looks on their faces! From behind them a black aura is spewing out into the room!

「Jouro-kun, you will explain everything right?」

「Jouro, I also want to hear what you have to say~」

「I-I don’t have those feelings anymore!」

「You said “anymore”. So that means you were thinking about it before?」

I’ve dug my own grave! What a terrible grave I’ve dug! It’s deep! This grave is deep!

It’s so deep that if you enter it you can’t even see out of it!3

「Don’t tell me, is the reason why you told me to go out with Sun-chan is so you can get those girls perhaps? That’s cruel~」

Pansyyyyyyy!!

As I screamed her name in my mind, Sun-chan’s eye’s opened wide and he raised his fist.

Heh. Watch closely Cosmos, Himawari.

People who get carried away will definitely,

「Gya-phun!」4

Be beaten hollow and end up in an unpleasant situation eventually. Just like me right now.

Yes. Sun-chan punched me with all of his strength.

As a result of that tremendous power, I was on the floor, unsightly trying to cower.

Sun-chan……..you’re a pitcher…….you should take care of your hands……….

「Aa…….. Ugh……..」

While I was like that, Sun-chan approached me with an extremely cool sound effect behind his steps.

Fuu. This much is enough to make me feel like “repenting”…..

「You scum bastard! Apologize to Cosmos-san and Himawari!」

「Buoghhh!」

As if there was no point in talking about it, he swung his fists down at me.

My face was swelling, and my prized stylish nose had been transformed into a bruised and ragged nose. I told you to take care of your hands…….

「Aa, aau–…… a……. aa………..」

Himawari and Cosmos were just staring at my pathetic figure while I was twitching on the floor.

「Jouro….. I’m shocked you know. You look like natto that has been boiled deep in the ocean.」

Is it okay if I think of that as an expression for a beautiful person? Even though it’s a little sticky?

「Me too. I didn’t think you were………. You seemed like a guy who cooked well with a taro sludge……」

Dirty! I’m dirty! That’s why it’s common to be sticky.5

「You should be….. No, you have no relation to the three of us anymore.」

「Ahbii………」

As if our friendship until now was all just a lie, Sun-chan lifted me up with a detached expression, and started to bring me out of the library in order to separate me from the rest of them.

「It’s unfortunate Jouro. I thought that we would be best friends forever you know.」

「I-I alzo…….. zhought deh zame……..」

「Is that so. Our friendship…… is already over though……」

Sun-chan’s words cut up my heart like a sickle used for decapitation.

Haa……… Everything is seriously over. It’s all over.

Himawari looked at me dumbfoundedly, Cosmos looked at me with eyes of pity, and Pansy looked at me with her usual indifferent gaze.

By the way Pansy, why would you make me go through this cruel thing if you told me you like me?

Was it actually just a lie when you told me you liked me?

「I wasn’t lying~」

While hearing those words from Pansy, Sun-chan carried me out of the library on his shoulder.

***

「See ya, the worst, hypocritical, garbage bastard Jouro.」

After carelessly throwing me into one of the stalls in the boys’ washroom and saying that, Sun-chan left me as I was.

And just like that, I lost everything.


Chapter 6 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 7 – Part 1


TL notes

  1. RAW: 修羅 – Shura —- Jisho gives the following, there are multiple definitions, but I’m using the one that makes the most sense.
  2. A book about a greedy capitalist exploiting a friendly white elephant
  3. In this sentence there is the following kanji: 墓児, unfortunately I’m not getting any results of what they mean together, and I don’t get the connection between them separately. I swear I’m not typing the wrong kanji either. So, this sentence is kinda made up as a result. orz
  4. Gyaphun in this case is a sound effect, but it can also be a verb (when combined with some other stuff e.g. the lines above and below this dialogue line) which means 1.to be beaten hollow or 2.to be argued into silence. The joke(?) here is that earlier in this part Jouro said the same sentence in his head using definition 2 when he made Himawari and Cosmos speechless, but in this case he’s using definition 1 since hes being beat by Sun-chan.
  5. I dont know what the fuck they are talking about with all this vegetable shit, but i swear thats whats written guys trust

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started