Chapter 5 – Part 1 – My tragedy is still showing no signs of ending


Wanted to get the entirety of chap 5 out since it’s shorter than the rest, but not enough time. Again, happy holidays!


After returning home and entering my room, my heart felt relieved.

Some alone time at last. Was alone time always something so wonderful?

But, I can’t spend this time at ease. Bearing in mind the heavy-grade problem I learned about today, I have to think about various things otherwise…

Himawari and Cosmos’s matter…… That’s fine for now right?

Rather than that, Sun-chan’s matter.

I can’t believe it…… Why would Sun-chan like Pansy of all people……

First of all, let me once again explain the situation in an easy to understand way.

『Cosmos, Himawari → (like) → Sun-chan → (likes) → Pansy → (likes) → Me』

Unexpectedly, the two groups have combined together, but this has created an overwhelming despair

What dreadful one way traffic. I want to change these vectors except for mine by all means.

Furthermore, I can’t tell Cosmos or Himawari about the person Sun-chan likes.

Or maybe I should say I don’t want to tell them. Instead, I want to erase it from my memories.

But, reality is uncertain and if I want【The End】to come at the timing I want, then I need to think up a solution.

From good plans to bad plans, I need to think of everything while also thinking about their implementations.

Outcome one: Himawari or Cosmos goes out with Sun-chan.

There are two plans, plan A and plan B, that can make this a reality.

Plan A is to move Sun-chan’s heart by getting him to notice Himawari or Cosmos’ good points.

I want to make Sun-chan think “Aah, rather than Pansy, she is a more pleasant girl isn’t she” for one of them. That would be the best case.

But, this is difficult. Once Sun-chan decides on something, he’s stubborn and won’t give up.

He’s the type to rush in recklessly. Charging in earnestly.

Therefore, rejected.

Plan B is Sun-chan getting rejected by Pansy. If this happens, then the following applies. During the down in his up and downs, Sun-chan is unusally frail. Because he liked Pansy, he’ll feel depressed and that time is the best time to invade his heart. In other words, after Pansy rejects him very harshly, if Himawari or Cosmos swoop in and use affectionate words then he will easily fall right?

But, this is also difficult. Sun-chan isn’t going to confess to Pansy after all.

As you just saw from today’s affairs, it doesn’t seem like Sun-chan will confess to her.

At any rate, he basically has no experience talking to her.

Therefore, rejected.

Outcome Two: Sun-chan and Pansy go out with each other.

Impossible. I can’t even imagine this. ありえないな。 どう考えてもありえない。

After all, it’s that Pansy you know? That ill-natured girl doesn’t seem like she would go out with a guy like Sun-chan at all. More than anything, I can’t believe that that girl told me she likes me.

I’ve been thinking this after dealing with her recently but, that girl is also quite stubborn. She’s the self-determining type who doesn’t give up.

She even has a extremely good sixth sense for troublesome things. She might even be an ESPer1.

She understood everything the moment I talked about Sun-chan’s matter, and there no doubt she can be worse than the most horrible thing I can imagine.

Therefore, rejected.

Outcome three: I go out with Himawari or Cosmos.

Nope. This is also a no go. Actually, this is the one that will definitely not happen.

In the first place, there’s a fundamental problem that isn’t resolved at all.

If I date one of them, then there’s still one left and I will inevitably end up cooperating with them.

Rather, it seems like they would say something like “You’ve become happy so now help me out more”.

I don’t want to have a drawn out war, so I have no plans on doing that.

For the sake of my mental health, I want to solve this problem within one month.

Therefore, rejected.

Outcome four: Me and Pansy go out with each other.

Therefore, rejected.

I don’t even feel the need to think about this o… who is this? Who is sending messages at this time of day…

『I want you to properly think about it~』

Like I said, don’t just calmly appear during my alone time!

『Calm down. I only heard from the 4th one~』

I can’t calm down! Good grief, I don’t have any relief items.

「Haa……」

I turned my phone off.

Jeez, should I just turn my phone off whenever I’m at home?

Now then, putting that aside, everything was “therefore, rejected” in the end.

It can’t be solved like this. Nothing can solve this problem.

What do I do? What would be the best thing to do?

I think about all the plans I thought up until now again in my head.

Think of the least risky, reliable, plan that has a peaceful ending.

……I guess it can’t be helped. If I compare it to the other plans, that plan seems to be safe so let’s go with it.

In any case, that ESPer is a problem. As soon as she sees my face, she’ll realize something is up.

If that’s the case then I’ll just say it now. だったらこっちから言ってしまえ。

That’s right. My choice is “Outcome two”.

***

No matter how much you don’t want to do it…… If you decide to do it, do it. That’s my motto.

During the next day’s lunch break, I opened the door to the eternally gloomy feeling library, and already, Pansy was on standby in the reading space.

「Hello Jouro-kun. I baked cookies today, so let’s eat them together~」

While I sat down on a chair, Pansy took out and presented a drawstring bag containing cookies in high spirits.

Why did you make and bring these cookies? Well, whatever.

Today, I have that to be concerned about, so I have no time for fun and games.

「Pansy. I have something to say.」

In response to my words, Pansy pouted. Suddenly, she forced a cookie on me just like that.

「The cookies come first~」

「I」

「Cookies~」

Pushing a cookie strongly against my mouth, Pansy appealed to me to eat.

Because I didn’t have the time to waste on quarreling here, I grabbed the cookie from Pansy’s hands and took a bite. I ate it quickly, so that it was impossible for a “say aah~” situation to happen.

「Is it delicious?」

You, go out with Sun-chan.」

In response to Pansy’s quesiton, I said that.

In that moment, Pansy’s eyes became slightly sharper.

「No way.」

「No, go out with him.」

「You’re being pushy, don’t you think?」

「I’m being pushy.」

「How did it end up with this?」

「Figure it out.」

「When you asked Ooga-kun about the person he liked, it ended up being me right? Then, stupid you thought about what would be good to do. One, “Hinata-san or Akino-senpai goes out with Ooga-kun”; Two, “I go out with Ooga-kun”; Three, “Jouro-kun goes out with Hinata-san or Akino-senpai”; Four, “I go out with Jouro-kun”. Out of those four outcomes, the simpleton you figured I would find out about your plan regardless and decided to pick outcome two, and now you’re trying to get me and Ooga-kun to go out with each other right? Out of all those choices, me going out with you would be the the most delightful~」

「I didn’t need you to say what you understood up until there in detail! ……But, well that’s how it is!」

「No way. Definitely no way.」

Pansy indifferently refused my words while using a tone in the key of B2.

「Isn’t it fine? Sun-chan is a good guy. I can guarantee it.」

「The person I like, the person that I always think of wanting to be together with… is only the person in front of my eyes right now.」

Bringing her face closer to me, Pansy said that with trembling lips.

Different from Cosmos and Himawari, a gentle scent and her powerful eyes seemed to capture my heart, and unconsciously made my heart flutter.

「………Rejected. Go out with Sun-chan. It’ll be fine. It’ll go smoothly.」

Not good…… In order to avoid that moment, I may have said too much.

Oh well, I cant be worried about every little thing. Let’s just keep going like this.

「I won’t go~」

「Go.」

「Give it up… please!いい加減にして三三ちようだい!」

「Ugh!」

I instinctively shrunk back from the strongest words Pansy has ever said until now.

Crazyy… As expected, maybe I went too far…?

「……That was too insensitive.」

「…I understand.」

「Why would you say those cruel words? Even though, you know my feelings……」

This is her usual cold speech.

However that cold nature seemed to express Pansy’s feelings, making my feelings of guilt grow too much.

「If the person you liked told you to go date someone else, it would hurt your feelings right?」

「…………………」

「You won’t say anything?」

What should I say? I don’t feel like dating Pansy at all.

Since that’s the case, I was thinking it would be better if she went out with Sun-chan.

「So you won’t say anything. What a cruel person. Inconsiderately doing as you please. Not even thinking about me.」

It’s frustrating but it’s as she says. I didn’t think about Pansy’s feelings in the slightest.

「Even though I wanted to eat cookies and talk together, we were unable to do that.」

「…That’s, true.」

I somehow managed to squeeze out only those words. I… don’t deserve compassion.

「You don’t have to come here for awhile.」

While strongly tying the string of the cookie bag, Pansy slammed me with that declaration.

Of course it would end up like this. Well, it’s my bad. No matter how you look at it, it’s my fault.

「Goodbye to you, the worst, unkind, and rude Jouro-kun」

After glancing at me coldly, Pansy left the library with a fiercer pace than ever before.

While the door slammed shut with a bang, I unconsciously held my head in my hands. バタンというドアが閉まる音と同時に、 俺は思わず頭を抱えてしまった。

Aah~ I really made her mad huh…..

But, I never thought she would get that angry.

I really underestimated her feelings……

Wait, what’s this? My smartphone is vibrating but… It’s Pansy though?

『Come again starting on next week’s Tuesday okay?』

Are you mad or are you not mad, which is it?

In the first place, why Tuesday and not Monday?

『Things will probably get interesting during that time. And… Just a little delightful too~』

……What do you mean things will get interesting? And also what will be delightful?

Are you actually not angry?

『That’s a secret. Of course, I am really mad you know?』

Even though you’re mad, a ridiculous conversation came.

『I understand. And also… Sorry.』

That last message was from me. For the first time, I sent Pansy a message.

However, I didn’t get a response from Pansy.

I didn’t expect anything from the beginning, but I felt lonely after not receiving any replies.

Reply back when you feel like it, Pansy.

***


Chapter 4 – Part 3 | Index | Chapter 5 – Part 2


TL notes

  1. ESPers – people who have extrasensory perception, aka 6th sense
  2. Music term

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started