Chapter 4 – Part 3 – The demise I wanted


Happy holidays everyone! Finals are finally over
smh wordpress somehow managed to upload this after C5-Pt1


If it’s something you want to do, do it. That’s my motto. That’s why I immediately changed what I was going to do.

The best time to ask was during phys. ed class in the afternoon. The boys were playing basketball and the girls were playing volleyball.

Currently, it’s self practice time.

Sun-chan was dribbling his basketball around, getting ready for a 3-pointer while he set his sights on the net.

I called out to him while he was close by.

「Hey, Mich- I mean, Sun-chan.」1

「Huh? What’s up Jouro?」

While saying that, he took a shot. As expected, he didn’t even look at me.

「Sun-chan, do you have anyone you like?」

「Uuoohhh! W-what are you asking me all of a sudden!?」

He lost his composure and missed the shot. I guess he couldn’t do it.

Well, he had to think of what I was saying suddenly, so it’s fine.

It’s pointless to try to deceive him with forced expressions. Sun-chan is that type of guy.

You have to be straightforward. That’s the best.

Sun-chan is an honest guy after all, once you see his reaction you will understand instantly.

His face quickly became red. That means he does like someone. There goes my second option.

「That reaction… So you do have someone you like. 」

「That judgement of yours… I think it’s crazy you know?」

「Who is it?」

「Ahh you asked it. Well, its fine though.」

「Is it a secret from me? If so then its fine.」

「No, it’s not a secret! Well, I haven’t told anyone either! You’re my best friend Jouro! If it’s you then its fine to tell you I think! No, I think I will definitely tell you!」

「Thanks, I’m happy.」

Well, as expected Sun-chan hasn’t told Cosmos or Himawari about the person he likes.

Those two are more or less doing their best, it’s probably best not to pour water over them right?

If the person Sun-chan liked turned out to be either Himawari or Cosmos then the possibility of this secret being leaked is very high but, if that’s the case then there’s no problem right?

「I’ve have barely talked to them but…」

Himawari-san is definitely dropped out now!

He said he hasn’t talked to them much after all. Himawari, unfortunately you and him have your “machine gun” talks every day.

So does that mean it’s Cosmos?

「Hmm. Then, are they a senpai or kouhai?」

「N-no, they’re in the same grade!」

Cosmos-san is also dropped out!

Seems like its a girl in the same grade. You’re a year above after all Cosmos. Thank you for your hard work.

Both of them are in a sinking ship. There’s no way the world moves that smoothly.

If the girl Sun-chan likes is a better girl than those two (in terms of personality) then that might be for the best.

「And so? Who is it?」

「I-I can’t say that here! Let’s go somewhere else for a bit.」

「Okay, I get it.」

Sun-chan stopped his practice short, and then I followed him outside.

「Alright. This place should be good! There’s no one here!」

We finally found a spot. A short distance away from the gymnasium, there was a spot with a big tree and a bench under it.

Sun-chan took a seat.

……………………………………………………………..Wait a minute.

A… bench…?

In that moment, all the my previous memories at a bench passed through my mind. It’s the worst pattern.

Oh no. This is bad. If I think back on what was said until now, who will appear? Only those 3 girls can appear.

The three of them all have flowers for a nickname.

Wait could it be? The person Sun-chan likes… No hold up, me. There’s no way.

「Ah, uhm… First off, can you sit down next to me?」

「S-sure… I understand.」

Following Sun-chan’s request, I sat down to his right. My feet were shaking.

But, even though I did as he asked, Sun-chan didn’t continue speaking.

Okay! O~ut! This is an o~ut!

Sun-chan’s gaze was swimming around, and he was fiddling around with his really short crew-cut hair. That feminine action does not suit your 18#cm tall body.

「You see… Uuu…!」

He started to say something and then went silent.

If that’s all you say then I won’t be able to say anything back.

「The truth is… I, do have someone I like but…」

I get it already. It’s me. It’s me isn’t it. You fell in love with me didn’t you?

That’s right. Sun-chan has two, so I its fine if I have two as well.2

「Whenever I think about that person, my chest feels like its in pain. Just meeting them every day makes me so happy! That’s why, even though its for my own selfishness, I make up various excuses to go look at their face through their classroom windows…」

What the heck are you saying Sun-chan? If it’s me then you see my face everyday right? We talk right?

It’s fine you know. I don’t mind that special fetish of yours, so shall we do this?

「I, I…」

Sun-chan’s face closed in. Slowly, but surely.

That’s definitely the face of a man in love. Noo~ My heart, is beating fast~

And then, once he was close enough for us to feel each other’s breaths, Sun-chan opened his eyes.

Sun-chan… If you go that far I’ll…

「I’m in love with Sumireko Sanshokuin-san!!」

……Ring~. It’s ringing. The entire thing is ringing.

The sound of a Buddhist bell is ringing throughout my head.

Why? Why did things end up like this?

Is there something wrong with me? Sure, my true personality is that but, my fake personality is a good guy isn’t he?

After all you see, even though the two of them like another guy, I’m kindly helping those two without asking for anything in return you know? Think about it calmly. What a tearjerker.

Even then, why do I have to suffer like this?

Did I do something bad? I won’t do anything bad anymore so please spare me.

…However, …yeah. Somehow, after thinking about it calmly I’m getting really excited.

Why wouldn’t I be? I’m supporting the girls who like this guy that’s in love with a different girl. This experience, you’ve never had it right?

Okay! Somehow I got motivated!

Oi Cosmos, Himawari, from here on out things are gonna get real!

I will also be thinking a lot about strategies you know. I hope you’ll be able to use them.

……Well, putting that aside, I’m sorry but I regrettably have to make an announcement to everyone here.

Unfortunately, due to various circumstances, the story will be ending here.

I also want to continue to tell you guys the rest if I could! But, you can’t do the impossible.

I’m really sorry…. But, I’ll tell you the ending another time.

Everyone…… Let’s meet again one day!

【The End】

 
 
 
 

Just kidding~! After【The End】, the story continues! That reunion with you guys came really quickly!

「It all started last year, when our baseball club went to the regional finals.」

You too Sun-chan!? I had a feeling it would be like this, but turns out it really was true!

Increase your repertoire to have more in terms of setting! You three, stop it with this script you all seem to love!

「At that time, I consoled the other frustrated members after that loss with a smile, but as expected I was extremely frustrated too. After all, I was the last one to bat, and my control was a little off. If only I had properly used a rosin bag3 at that time!!」

While looking straight ahead, Sun-chan told me his story.

By the way, “Rosen bag” is the name of the white sack near the feet of baseball pitchers.

It’s not an old person pack.4

「Yeah… I also saw you know…」

But in the first place, it was all thanks to Sun-chan that our baseball club even made it to the region finals.

Thinking of his failures instead of his achievements is very Sun-chan-esque.

No wait, putting that aside, this is strange.

Thinking about the developments after that, the sky’s Azure Dragon (Cosmos) from the east and the earth’s White Tiger (Himawari) from the west should definitely be there already.5

Why didn’t Sun-chan encounter those two?

「And then you see, after I left the waiting room, I couldn’t hold it in anymore and started to cry! But, I didn’t want anyone to see my miserable self so I left through the South exit which has the least amount of people!」

Do*emon, take out the time machine!!6

Quickly, so that Sun-chan can leave from the east or west exit, take out the time machineeeeee!

「And then you see, I met her by coincidence on my way home! …Sanshokuin-san that is.」

The South’s Vermillion Bird (Pansy), has descended. What the hell are you doing there!?

「And there she said this, “You were really cool. My heart was beating fast”. But then, at that time I was really rude and said “We didn’t win so there’s no point!” And then…」

Even though the sky and the earth were on standby, why did you go to the cursed princess? There’s no ocean there right?

「Then after, “Crying while being mad is something only a person who won’t give up would do. Also, you are a very kind person. You covered your own bitterness in your heart and acted like everything was fine with a smile in front of everyone else. That itself is enough evidence. That’s why it’s okay. You will win next time. After all, you are a very kind and strong person” is what she said! Jeez, Sanshokuin-san was seriously beautiful at that time!」

That girl, what is with her doing unnecessary stuff!?

What’s with those kind words? What happened to your usual wicked tongue!?

That’s not good you know. Go and change into that kind form! Behave like that more!

「And so, although I think this is pathetic, I’ve already said this much so I might as well go all the way! Jouro, will you help me get together with Sanshokuin-san!?」

Sun-chan opened his eyes wide and desperately looked over at me.

He only looked at me, but I could tell he was serious.

「I-is that a no?」

Sun-chan looked at me with wet, upturned eyes.

Looking at Sun-chan being uneasy like that, my chest was pierced.

「Sorry. That’s impossible.」

I told him that with a guilty feeling.

「Don’t say that, I’m begging you~. You know, if it’s you Jouro then I think you are friendly with Sanshokuin-san!」

「No, can’t do it.」

Looking at Sun-chan’s face, I thought about helping him, and whether or not it would be good to create a confession situation for him but, I refused.

I can’t do something as dangerous as helping out Cosmos and Himawari while also aiding Sun-chan with his love life.

The moment they find out, those dangerous air heads will mercilessly attack me won’t they.

Basically, that would be the end of me. Physically, mentally, and socially.

「I see… Then, then… Ah, can I ask you something?」

「What’s up?」

If it’s about love relationships then I can’t really answer but, well, it’s fine to just hear him out right?

「That’s… During a baseball match on the big stage, where one more hit would lose the game, and the other team’s 4 batter came out, what would be the best thing to do? Do you think it’s better to just give the batter the walk after all?」7

He’s talking about last year’s finals right? Well, that’s fine.

In any case, if it’s a question like this then I can definitely answer it.

「That’s right. If it was me then I probably would give the batter the walk… But, Sun-chan, you’re different right?」

The reason why I secretly admire Sun-chan. The reason why I sincerely wanted to help him.

It’s fine if I just let him know that.

「Trustful and hard working. Always believing in yourself and your teammates. Never running away and always throwing the ball as hard as you can8. That’s your way.」

「That’s right! That’s true after all! Thanks Jouro! I’m really happy you told me this!」

It seems like Sun-chan was satisfied with my words. He grabbed my hand and shook it up and down.

While I let him do as he liked, I was thinking about and entirely different thing.

Seriously… Every time something happens the situation just gets worse and worse…

***

Now then, Originally I just wanted to slack off but, it seems like I can’t do that.

Let’s forget about the shocking truth I heard during phys ed. class and deal with the situation at hand.

As soon as homeroom ended, I headed towards the student council room.

Standing in front of the student council room door, I knocked and heard a voice from inside say “Come in”.

I guess Cosmos is also confident that I’ll be the first one to come here.

Cosmos opened her notebook and started talking as soon as I entered the student council room.

「First things first, how to recover from what happened yesterday!」

Hum. Like Himawari, she has the decided to do the correct thing unlike usual. Well, Sun-chan is already not mad anymore but since Cosmos doesn’t know that, even in the case where he wasn’t angry, recovery is the best option.

That’s right Cosmos. Recovery is important. It really is. That’s right. Recoverー

「And so, it would be great if you would be so kind to secure lunch time with Sun-dono I would be so grateful!」

Don’t use polite talk like that too much. It makes you seem like an idiot.

To begin with, I don’t want to write “Reconciliation Methods” in your notebook.

Furthermore, you even asked so politely.

Apparently she won’t invite him herself, but she wants me to do it somehow.

「What about trying to invite him yourself?」

「That’s impossible you know!」

That’s stupid you know?

「But…」

「I’m begging you Jouro-kun! Come on, I even wrote it down here!」

Cosmos held out her notebook for me to see.

“Jouro-kun will go and invite Sun-chan” was written there.

If you acted more like how you talked, you wouldn’t die from a heart attack right? You’d be fine right?

「I understand… I’ll try to do something.」

「Thank you Jouro-kun! Yes! Now I’ll be able to eat lunch together with Sun-chan!」

If you do end up eating lunch together, it’ll all be thanks to Jouro-san.

***

Sun-chan arrived at the school gate and waved his hand around with a smile once he saw us. Because our pace was a little quick, we were already at the school gate.

「Good work, Sun-chan.」

「Yeah! Sorry Jouro!」

Because of the “Dispelling president Cosmos’ serious image” plan, Sun-chan came today as well.

Even though he was busy with his club, he spared some of his time. Sun-chan is really a good guy.

Still, Cosmos was a little timid and stood behind my back, hiding half her body.

I already told her that Sun-chan wasn’t angry, but it seems like she’s still worried about something.

「Sorry to you too Cosmos-san. Making you wait this long!」

「I-it’s fine! There was time to prepare after all!」

By the way, I would like it if you stopped touching my back with your fingers to send me morse code since you’re nervous.

「So, what are we doing today?」

Tsuーton-ton.9 “Hurry up and do something” is the message that came.

That tickles.

「Hmm let’s see. I do have an idea on what to do, but for now why don’t we walk and talk?」

「Sure! Let’s go!」

「First off, how does the two of you having lunch together during lunch break everyday from now on sound? President Cosmos did offer to make you lunch yesterday after all right?」

Tsuーton-to-ton. “This is a great success isn’t it” is the message that came.

Hasty.

「Eh, is that fine? The way I eat might be a problem, and I don’t want to bother Cosmos-san…」

「Not at all! My way of eating isn’t a bother to you is it? Or, if there is someone else you’d rather be with then, um…」

Cosmos revealed her uneasiness with her frail voice. *Bam* She hit my back with her forehead.

「Ah! If it’s about that then don’t worry, it’s fine! I don’t have anyone like that.」

「Then it’s decided right? Starting tomorrow, you two will eat together during lunch. And then everyone else will lose that strict image they have of president Cosmos.」

「I got it!」

「Aaah. I’ll try my best!」

「Okay then Cosmos-san, starting tomorrow please treat me well!」

「I may be an incompetent person but yes, please treat me well too.」

Tsuーdo-do-don-don! “Bravoo~ Bravo” is the message that came.

My back hurts.

I mean this literally, stop using your head for morse code.

But, I think it’s nice that the story is proceeding smoothly like this.

I even thought of lines to say in case Sun-chan was reluctant to do this.

Anyways, those two had great success with today’s plans but, a new double extra-large problem has turned up for me to deal with.


Chapter 4 – Part 2 | Index | Chapter 5 – Part 1


TL notes

  1. RAW says: ミッチー which I’m going to interpret as michael jordan being cut off, as thats the only basketball player i can think of
  2. Jouro please
  3. A Rosin Bag is a small canvas bag filled with rosin powder used by pitchers to improve their grip on the baseball
  4. He says: 老人パ ック = Roujin pack (old person pack), which sounds similar to Rosin bag = ロージンバ ッグ (ro-jin bagu)
  5. Basically the Azure dragon is a god that ruled the eastern heavens and the white tiger is a god that ruled over the western heavens. They’re both one of the 4 symbols of the chinese constellation: See this for more in terms of Japan
    The Vermillion Bird referenced in a few lines is also apart of this
  6. Reference to Doraemon’s time machine
  7. just fyi I dont know shit about baseball, but here batter walk, in japanese the phrase used for this can also mean shying away from something
  8. The “throwing the ball as hard as you can” phrase in japanese can also mean giving it one’s all
  9. I don’t know how to TL the sound effects used here.

Published by Necron

hi

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started